Continental WinterContact TS 860

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 860
87%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
83%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
90%

Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

Toyota Auris

Those are really premium tires. I had GoodYear before.. i mean they weren't bad or anything but with Continental the whole driving in rain and snow felt more safe! Would recommend!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz 250D (1991)

WHAT A TYRE!! I couldn't think of better winter tyre atm... Had Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 before that were good for aprox. 3000 miles, and after that they basically became hard plastic (all in same winter that I bought them and installed them on car)... Got TS860 because my friend recommended them for winter 2017/2018... As I have really really really really steep hill to my house, where even 4x4 car with moderate tyres struggle on even a little wet road, just imagine what my 30 years old Mercedes with rwd and without traction control feels like... On that hill I am not only able to go without any wheelspin on wet road (which i found impossible with any tyre before) but I can come to full stop at any point and start driving again like it is totally dry road, just mindblowing... Sometimes I feel that they even have better grip on wet road than ecocontact6 have on dry road in summer... I only had 1 chance to drive on snow and ice, as it doesn't snow in my area, and they performed fantastic... This set is at end of their life after cca 25-30k km (15-18k miles), maybe half mm until "minimum depth" mark, so I am going to buy new set in few days...

Until Continental launches new tyre to replace TS860 I won't think of trying other winter tyre... I can't even think how can winter tyre be improved over this

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 14 Spirited miles

Citroën C4

Not much snow in my area and not many steep hills or bad off camber bends, but many roads will not be salted or ploughed. Always lots of rain and a fair bit of frost and ice.

Great on cold wet roads below 10 C, especially deep puddles. I was willing to trade some snow and ice performance for these characteristics.

Very good on dry roads, chippings, frost and snow.

Good on sheet ice, if they did slip they tended to catch again within an inch or 2. I found it best to drive with my foot off the throttle and use gears to set my speed.

Comfort is very good, although the tyres do thrum a bit and the sidewalls are a bit flexible, tyre flex is especially noticeable with a loaded car and my car is light.

Tyres are on their third and probably last season as I always bin tyres way ahead of the legal limit, which will be about 20000 miles, which for me is about 1/3 less than most tyres.
Unless something way better is introduced I will most probably get these again, but I might change to 16 inch rims and/or XL rated versions.

HTH




Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Opel Vectra C 2.0T

Substituted some old Pirelli Snow Sport 210, which were nice for the snow but not good tyres overall. The change was very noticeable. These tyres perform well enaough in the dry. Only when braking very hard the high treadpattern limits the grip. I guess they would improve on this as they wear.
Feedback is just fair in the dry too. Comfort is average. On the bright side, they are quiet and rolling resistance seems to be moderate.
In the wet the tyre is very good. As good as any summer tyree as far as I could test it. Very ressitant to aquaplaning and grippy on every surface.
Snow performance is better than any other tyre I have tried. Grip is good enough to drive normally, just being moderate. Traction is good even on a loaded FWD car going up steep slopes. I never got stuck or had significant wheelspin, and I had the chance to drive several times on hard conditions. Just Great.
Wear has been low for 11.000Km
Overall the tyre is very good, I would go for them again anytime. It's a pity ther is no size of this for my new car.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i30

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 118d

probably the best snow tires I had. They replaced a Michelin Alpin5. This tires are better than Michelin on snow and ice. Very comfy and low noise on road, even on motorway.
I recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Fiat LINEA T JET

I have a Fiat Linea T-Jet car, a 120-horsepower 206 Newton meter torque. On average, I drive 10 km a day, 20 km highway 20km highway. Over 80 Km / h the Conti is very, very loud. On the ice and on the ice soon lose the grip! Aquaplaning should only be expected at higher speeds. It behaves fairly well in rain and dry roads. Flat road and city for cars with lower power and torque, or ESP and torque-controlled cars. The 2003 Semperit SportGrip and the 2008 Dunlop Winter Sport D 3 are better on snowy and bumpy roads and quieter! Wear-resistant, after 10,000 km of running, 7mm of the first driven, 7.7mm rear tire. I thought better, I expected the right from the world famous Continental brand! Could the Conti 860 S have to be bought? If you have someone's experience, please write it.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Fiat LINEA T JET

Ich habe einen Fiat Linea T-Jet, ein 120 Newtonmeter hohes Drehmoment. Im Durchschnitt fahre ich 10 km pro Tag, 20 km Autobahn 20 km Autobahn. Über 80 km / h ist der Conti sehr, sehr laut. Auf dem Eis und auf dem Eis verlieren Sie bald den Griff! Aquaplaning sollte nur bei höheren Geschwindigkeiten erwartet werden. Bei Regen und trockenen Straßen verhält es sich ziemlich gut. Flache Straße und Stadt für Fahrzeuge mit geringerer Leistung und Drehmoment oder ESP- und drehmomentgesteuerte Fahrzeuge. Der 2003 Semperit SportGrip und der 2008 Dunlop Wintersport D 3 sind auf verschneiten und holprigen Straßen besser und ruhiger! Verschleißfest, nach 10.000 km Fahrt, 7 mm des ersten angetriebenen 7,7 mm-Hinterreifens. Ich dachte besser, ich habe das Recht von der weltbekannten Marke Continental erwartet! Könnte der Conti 860 S gekauft werden? Wenn Sie Erfahrung haben, schreiben Sie es bitte.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Fiat LINEA T JET

J'ai une voiture Fiat Linea T-Jet, un couple de 120 Newton-mètre de 120 chevaux. En moyenne, je conduis 10 km par jour, 20 km par 20 km. À plus de 80 km / h, le Conti est très très bruyant. Sur la glace et sur la glace bientôt perdre la poignée! L'aquaplanage ne devrait être prévu qu'à des vitesses plus élevées. Il se comporte assez bien par temps pluvieux et sec. Route et ville plates pour voitures à puissance et couple réduits, ou voitures ESP et à couple contrôlé. Le Semperit SportGrip 2003 et le Dunlop Winter Sport D 3 2008 sont meilleurs sur les routes enneigées et cahoteuses et plus calmes! Résistant à l'usure, après 10 000 km de course, 7 mm du premier pneu arrière entraîné, de 7,7 mm. Je pensais mieux, j'attendais le droit de la célèbre marque Continental! Peut-on acheter le Conti 860 S? Si vous avez l'expérience de quelqu'un, écrivez-le s'il vous plaît.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,427 Average miles

Opel Meriva B 1.4 LPG

I purchased a set of these as new in 2017 (production year 2017 also). Summer tyre is Bridgestone ER300. Comparing to this summer tyre - very quiet tyre, I was astonished - and still am. This is the least noisy winter tyre ever, furthermore it is more quiet then many summer tyres I owned in the past. Big plus. This is their second season. Another big plus - they are visibly more fuel efficient than the said Bridgestones. Wow.

Second of all - I bought these because I was always changing tyres late on, and getting back to summer tyres at first signs of spring. Why? Because of inadequate wet/dry handling of winter tyres. Now these tyres are perfect on wet and dry roads, grip is perfect in all of such conditions, just as the reviews I've read said. Nice.

Unfortunately snow and ice grip is not that good comparing to other winter tyres I have owned. Not that they are not predictable - they simply lack the grip that I had with some other brands. I can definetely feel the car, and a hard stop or corner is predictable. TC off in high snow-mud is a must. Still the tyre is solid in such conditions.

Wear seems to be on the faster side - a tradeoff for wet/dry conditions. Currently on second season front is around 5,0-5,5mm, rear 6,0-6,5mm. I think that at the end of the winter I'll hit them at 4 and 5,5mm respectively. For the third season I'll change frontrear and finish them off during the spring/summer. The tyres I think are good for 30000-40000km in winter and then maybe 10000km as summer finish.

First season they have been definetely better then in the second season. Small skidding has been now observed on wet roads. Still something that is not unexpected, but I guess that with age the tyres will have to behave worse. Seems that the compound hardened - my impression.

All in all a great winter tyre especially if most of Your winter is on wet/dry roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.