Continental WinterContact TS 860

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 860
86%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
95%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
83%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
89%

Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 4
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Audi A6 2.0 TDI

My first winter tire and I'd say I have mixed feelings about them. The pros are they give nice feedback in spite of winter tires making steering feel lackadaisical but it was still tolerable, very nice dry grip even during spring which makes it feel almost like a summer tire, moderate rolling resistance and they are super comfortable. You can kind of drive them sporty and spirited but the understeer gets present at certain corners and tire squeal might occur at even lower speeds but it is rare. Braking is progressive and excellent. Ice grip definitely a joke and snow grip is above average as they seem to be made for western European climate and not Baltic States climate but this can be solved with lower pressure. These tires love low pressures so keep them around 29-35 PSI. Above 15°C temperature outside they feel lackluster but below that they function just fine so a very good tire if you consider dry grip, glue-like wet grip, some snow grip if you live where weather can be bipolar and often damp without changing tires until for summer as it appears these tires seem to last long tread life wise as I still have 5.7mm left. By admission I'd like to point out that yes, Continentals have a tendency to tramline as the notorious rumours suggest. I'd like to highlight comfort as these have very soft sidewalls as well as they roll quietly and give the car the characteristics of dampers being on par with air dampers(may help to soften up stiff cars as well for some gain in comfort) however for my style of driving these do not suit me so avoid these if you want a winter tire that offers fun so consider Blizzaks or Winter Maxx as WinterContacts of this model do not suit my driving style although I may be incorrect and should try the S versions of that tire which might satisfy my enthusiast needs but I fear the softness is the mantra of Continental.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

BMW 318D

Bought a set of 4 continentals for my first car. Unfortunately as a student I didn't have much to go for and had to drive these all year round for 2 years. But, as a winter tire it was very good, I recommend these to anyone I can. In the winter these performed so well in the snow, it can dig you out of even the worst situations. Cant say much about ice. Dry performance during spring conditions can be comparable to premium summer tires. In short, you just cant go wrong with these.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

BMW E90

A safe and comfortable tire. Best on wet and unbelievably quiet! slightly worse in a bend at higher temperatures. I highly recommend!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

Toyota Auris

Those are really premium tires. I had GoodYear before.. i mean they weren't bad or anything but with Continental the whole driving in rain and snow felt more safe! Would recommend!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz 250D (1991)

WHAT A TYRE!! I couldn't think of better winter tyre atm... Had Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 before that were good for aprox. 3000 miles, and after that they basically became hard plastic (all in same winter that I bought them and installed them on car)... Got TS860 because my friend recommended them for winter 2017/2018... As I have really really really really steep hill to my house, where even 4x4 car with moderate tyres struggle on even a little wet road, just imagine what my 30 years old Mercedes with rwd and without traction control feels like... On that hill I am not only able to go without any wheelspin on wet road (which i found impossible with any tyre before) but I can come to full stop at any point and start driving again like it is totally dry road, just mindblowing... Sometimes I feel that they even have better grip on wet road than ecocontact6 have on dry road in summer... I only had 1 chance to drive on snow and ice, as it doesn't snow in my area, and they performed fantastic... This set is at end of their life after cca 25-30k km (15-18k miles), maybe half mm until "minimum depth" mark, so I am going to buy new set in few days...

Until Continental launches new tyre to replace TS860 I won't think of trying other winter tyre... I can't even think how can winter tyre be improved over this

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 14 Spirited miles

Citroën C4

Not much snow in my area and not many steep hills or bad off camber bends, but many roads will not be salted or ploughed. Always lots of rain and a fair bit of frost and ice.

Great on cold wet roads below 10 C, especially deep puddles. I was willing to trade some snow and ice performance for these characteristics.

Very good on dry roads, chippings, frost and snow.

Good on sheet ice, if they did slip they tended to catch again within an inch or 2. I found it best to drive with my foot off the throttle and use gears to set my speed.

Comfort is very good, although the tyres do thrum a bit and the sidewalls are a bit flexible, tyre flex is especially noticeable with a loaded car and my car is light.

Tyres are on their third and probably last season as I always bin tyres way ahead of the legal limit, which will be about 20000 miles, which for me is about 1/3 less than most tyres.
Unless something way better is introduced I will most probably get these again, but I might change to 16 inch rims and/or XL rated versions.

HTH




Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Opel Vectra C 2.0T

Substituted some old Pirelli Snow Sport 210, which were nice for the snow but not good tyres overall. The change was very noticeable. These tyres perform well enaough in the dry. Only when braking very hard the high treadpattern limits the grip. I guess they would improve on this as they wear.
Feedback is just fair in the dry too. Comfort is average. On the bright side, they are quiet and rolling resistance seems to be moderate.
In the wet the tyre is very good. As good as any summer tyree as far as I could test it. Very ressitant to aquaplaning and grippy on every surface.
Snow performance is better than any other tyre I have tried. Grip is good enough to drive normally, just being moderate. Traction is good even on a loaded FWD car going up steep slopes. I never got stuck or had significant wheelspin, and I had the chance to drive several times on hard conditions. Just Great.
Wear has been low for 11.000Km
Overall the tyre is very good, I would go for them again anytime. It's a pity ther is no size of this for my new car.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i30

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 118d

probably the best snow tires I had. They replaced a Michelin Alpin5. This tires are better than Michelin on snow and ice. Very comfy and low noise on road, even on motorway.
I recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Fiat LINEA T JET

I have a Fiat Linea T-Jet car, a 120-horsepower 206 Newton meter torque. On average, I drive 10 km a day, 20 km highway 20km highway. Over 80 Km / h the Conti is very, very loud. On the ice and on the ice soon lose the grip! Aquaplaning should only be expected at higher speeds. It behaves fairly well in rain and dry roads. Flat road and city for cars with lower power and torque, or ESP and torque-controlled cars. The 2003 Semperit SportGrip and the 2008 Dunlop Winter Sport D 3 are better on snowy and bumpy roads and quieter! Wear-resistant, after 10,000 km of running, 7mm of the first driven, 7.7mm rear tire. I thought better, I expected the right from the world famous Continental brand! Could the Conti 860 S have to be bought? If you have someone's experience, please write it.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.