Michelin CrossClimate SUV

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Michelin CrossClimate SUV
72%[average]
Dry Grip
82%
Wet Grip
80%
Road Feedback
72%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
62%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
72%

Michelin CrossClimate SUV Reviews

98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Toyota RAV4

2 years, 25k miles and 4 skiing trips to the Alps later, these tyres are still going strong. Grip and performance in all weathers has been excellent and have to be careful not to be overly confident in the snow, especially when braking as was caught out once! They are comfortable and quiet on the Autoroutes of France and more than cope with the back roads of Wales. They will get you anywhere in the snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-R
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Caravelle

It's the comfort that is lacking, quite rough and drones at continental motorway speeds. I have the 103 XL and I think the dampers seem to 'fight' with the side wall. I have tried putting in an extra pound psi which is better but not sure I would buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-H
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

Mercedes Benz GL450

Bad on gravel roads, blown 3 times in 2 months.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-19-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Porsche Cayenne 3.0 Diesel

I don't feel compelled to often voice my views unless something is really bad....this is a first and I'd like to offer up my thoughts on the Excellent Cross Climate - they really are as good (11 out of 10) as other before me say. I've had them for just over 1000 miles now and the difference they've made is outstanding.

I replaced 4 Pirelli Scorpions All Season Verdes (N0 rated) that weren't fitted for long before I knew id made the wrong choice (see my other review on these). These Michelins are a world apart. I was sceptical as they're fairly new, a v shaped tread pattern and not Porsche rated - but they should be! Grip in all weathers is the best I've experienced, even spirited driving and gives me confidence in the cars ability to perform as it should. Hard braking no longer activates the ABS in dry, they really do 'stick' even in hotter weather. You can feel with your hand the difference in compounds to touch, the Michelin is softer and stickier moulding to the surface as the claim and the Pirellis hard and unforgiving.

The ride is quiet and noticeably softer but best of all its got rid of the tram lining, severe vibration, and awful balance issues I had with the Scorpions. Even after 1000 miles and several alignments there was some funny wear patterns emerging on them.

I would absolutely recommend these to anyone looking for a good all season tyre with a summer bias for UK weather. Although not tested in the snow and ice yet I'm sure they'd get me home safe.

One point to note is that the tread depth from new is a little under 7mm and with such a soft compound and heavy car I wonder if it will go the distance...having said that I don't really care I would just keep buying them,at such a good price point to - they're that good. I'd also be interested to see how the tread holds up to as I have seen reports and pictures of chunks of tread missing on higher mileage tyres that have maybe been used on rougher roads in Europe.

I'm extremely pleased with them, and would highly recommend them as the best All Season Tyre for the UK especially AWD and 4WD vehicles that do 90% on road. I wouldn't be surprised if we see them more as OEM fitment in the future.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Lexus RX 450h

They are excellent if you mostly drive in mixed weather with occasional snowy days. They will not break in the same manner as pure snow tyres but they will get you home and mobile in snowy weather. If you drive carefully as we all should after a sudden snowfall, they are excellent. Used with success on a Lexus RX which is all-wheel drive but not a Landrover but was far better than a Range Rover with Summer Tyres in the snow. Tyres are critical to car performance, pity the car manufacturers don't educate the public that your V8 turbo diesel Range isn't going anywhere if you have the wrong tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Audi 1.8T Quattro

Replaced the standard Continentals on my Audi A6 Allroad with these - and wow what a transformation! The car is significantly quieter on the road, and handles well. Very very reassuring in the wet, and they are still quiet in the wet. Not had chance to try them on snow yet, but this is where they are supposed to excel. Got these to ensure I had good safety all year round, but have to say they are just great tyres!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai ix35

Have driven approx 12000 miles on Crossclimate 225/60 R17 tyres , on Hyundai ix35 4WD .
Very little visible wear, despite living in the country and French mountains, and driving fast though the bends on a lot of winding roads .
As I approach the limit and the drift sets in , the car remains balanced and controllable, with only minor understeer both in the dry and wet .
These are very well-mannered all round tyres, even in driving snow in the Alps .

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai ix35

Ich habe auf Crossclimate 225/60 R17 Reifen auf dem Hyundai ix35 4WD ca. 12000 Meilen gefahren.
Sehr wenig sichtbare Abnutzung, obwohl ich auf dem Land und in den französischen Bergen lebe und schnell durch die Kurven auf vielen kurvigen Straßen fahre.
Wenn ich das Limit erreiche und die Drift einsetzt, bleibt das Auto ausgewogen und kontrollierbar, mit nur geringer Untersteuerung sowohl im Trockenen als auch im Nassen.
Das sind sehr gute Allroundreifen, auch im Schnee in den Alpen.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai ix35

Avoir roulé environ 12 000 miles avec des pneus Crossclimate 225/60 R17, sur Hyundai ix35 4WD.
Très peu d'usure visible, bien que vivant à la campagne et dans les montagnes françaises, et conduisant vite malgré les virages sur de nombreuses routes sinueuses.
À l'approche de la limite et de la dérive, la voiture reste équilibrée et contrôlable, avec un sous-virage mineur tant sur le sec que sur le mouillé.
Ce sont des pneus tout terrain très bien faits, même en conduisant la neige dans les Alpes.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Average miles

Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4

Very good tyre in wet road and in light snow. I hadn't the opportunity to drive it in heavy snow. The consumption was increased by 0.5 l/100km in the first 3000 km. Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55/18). I recommend it for areas with frequent light snowfall.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.