Michelin CrossClimate SUV

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Michelin CrossClimate SUV
79%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
75%
Wear
74%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
79%

Michelin CrossClimate SUV Reviews

96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic

Based on your tests I got the Crossclimate SUV on my Mercedes GLK 220d 4matic. Drove 2 winters and 2 summers, thru snow, slush, wet, dry, scorching heat you name it. Outstanding performance in all conditions. And the biggest surprise was how comfortable they are. My wife noticed that immediately, said it felt like I did something to upgrade the suspension. They are also very quiet. In fact more quiet and comfortable than the Goodyear Efficient Grip I used as summer and Nokian WR3 SUV for winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 12,000 Average miles

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI

A supremely quiet tyre with strong grip off the line and in all conditions. Always in control and decent feedback through the steering. After 2 years and 12k miles they still have 3mm of tread left given mostly city stop start conditions. The best tyre I’ve ever had. Better than the Pirelli Scorpion Verde and the Goodyear Eagle F1 3 I had previously on the Touareg. Would highly recommend. Gutted they don’t make it in 275/40 R21 for the new XC90

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-W
62%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Grandland X Ultimate

I’m very conflicted on these tyres. I’ve been driving with all seasons on my cars for the past 6 years (as I live in the Scottish Highlands), of a variety of brands and the Crossclimate SUV’s are exceptionally effective in every weather they encountered but are let down by two flaws. Firstly they are biblically firm riding! Going from Vredestein Quatrac Pro‘s to the Crossclimate’s made the ride feel like it was reinforced with concrete. Adding extra pressure to the tyres did nothing to change it. Finally the lifespan wasn’t great. They lasted 9200 miles before they wore to the tread markers. This was disappointing as the previous Quatrac’s and Pirelli Scorpion all seasons both lasted over 12k before needing replacement. Driving capability is great, comfort and lifespan are below par.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-19-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15 Average miles

Audi Q3

Excellent tyre on audi q3 quattro. Will buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 200 Average miles

Subaru Outback

Just switched to the Michelin CC SUV from Bridgestone Dueler H/P summer tyres. However during this short period already, I am surprised by how much more comfort the CC SUV provide compared to the Bridgestones. The noise level is lower than before (which was already quite low) and I have the feeling that the CC SUV do absorb a little more bumps etc from the roads. The handling is yet a little bit more indirect compared to the Bridgestones, meaning slightly more space on the steering wheel. That feels less connected to the road, but not in an alarming or uncomfortable manner. However I expect this to improve once the tyres have seen more kilometers. I read somewhere else that they require some distance to fully grow their performance. So far I am happy with my choice and do not regret it. Yes they are expensive, but that should be marginalised once they last as long as promised.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Toyota RAV4

2 years, 25k miles and 4 skiing trips to the Alps later, these tyres are still going strong. Grip and performance in all weathers has been excellent and have to be careful not to be overly confident in the snow, especially when braking as was caught out once! They are comfortable and quiet on the Autoroutes of France and more than cope with the back roads of Wales. They will get you anywhere in the snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-R
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Caravelle

It's the comfort that is lacking, quite rough and drones at continental motorway speeds. I have the 103 XL and I think the dampers seem to 'fight' with the side wall. I have tried putting in an extra pound psi which is better but not sure I would buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-H
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

Mercedes Benz GL450

Bad on gravel roads, blown 3 times in 2 months.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-19-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Porsche Cayenne 3.0 Diesel

I don't feel compelled to often voice my views unless something is really bad....this is a first and I'd like to offer up my thoughts on the Excellent Cross Climate - they really are as good (11 out of 10) as other before me say. I've had them for just over 1000 miles now and the difference they've made is outstanding.

I replaced 4 Pirelli Scorpions All Season Verdes (N0 rated) that weren't fitted for long before I knew id made the wrong choice (see my other review on these). These Michelins are a world apart. I was sceptical as they're fairly new, a v shaped tread pattern and not Porsche rated - but they should be! Grip in all weathers is the best I've experienced, even spirited driving and gives me confidence in the cars ability to perform as it should. Hard braking no longer activates the ABS in dry, they really do 'stick' even in hotter weather. You can feel with your hand the difference in compounds to touch, the Michelin is softer and stickier moulding to the surface as the claim and the Pirellis hard and unforgiving.

The ride is quiet and noticeably softer but best of all its got rid of the tram lining, severe vibration, and awful balance issues I had with the Scorpions. Even after 1000 miles and several alignments there was some funny wear patterns emerging on them.

I would absolutely recommend these to anyone looking for a good all season tyre with a summer bias for UK weather. Although not tested in the snow and ice yet I'm sure they'd get me home safe.

One point to note is that the tread depth from new is a little under 7mm and with such a soft compound and heavy car I wonder if it will go the distance...having said that I don't really care I would just keep buying them,at such a good price point to - they're that good. I'd also be interested to see how the tread holds up to as I have seen reports and pictures of chunks of tread missing on higher mileage tyres that have maybe been used on rougher roads in Europe.

I'm extremely pleased with them, and would highly recommend them as the best All Season Tyre for the UK especially AWD and 4WD vehicles that do 90% on road. I wouldn't be surprised if we see them more as OEM fitment in the future.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Lexus RX 450h

They are excellent if you mostly drive in mixed weather with occasional snowy days. They will not break in the same manner as pure snow tyres but they will get you home and mobile in snowy weather. If you drive carefully as we all should after a sudden snowfall, they are excellent. Used with success on a Lexus RX which is all-wheel drive but not a Landrover but was far better than a Range Rover with Summer Tyres in the snow. Tyres are critical to car performance, pity the car manufacturers don't educate the public that your V8 turbo diesel Range isn't going anywhere if you have the wrong tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.