Uniroyal RainSport 2

The Uniroyal RainSport 2 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Uniroyal RainSport 2
81%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
82%

Uniroyal RainSport 2 Reviews (4)

77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Volvo S40 1.6d

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Fabia vRS

Excellent all-round tyre, but soft side walls always make the tyres look under-inflated.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170

Great tyres from the start and wet grip is excellent. However as they are a directional tyre once you are down to about 5mm they step on the outside and the road noise is appalling. This happened on more than one set on both from and rear. The performance was not effected but the noise I would liken to having a wheel bearing go. I would only recommend these tyres to those of us unfortunate enough to be deaf.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Toyota Celica GT4

This is my second review of these tyres as I've now had two sets and driven 3 years with them. In my first review I was very pleased with them, but now having lost 2 tyres to potholes, and one tyre wall to rub up along a kerb, I can confirm that the sidewall is just too soft and I can confirm they are quite noisey.
Fantastic in the wet, really good in the dry, but at the price of them they are just too expensive to loose to an average pothole on a dark wet night.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp)

320hp front wheel drive an they was amazing , wet grip no problem ,dry grip no problem,snow i just drove over it like it was raining people where stuck and i wad doing 50 mph up hill ,a little bit soft just put a few more psi in the tyer an its all good , had pilot sport 3 on b4 an they where only better in high speed corneing , very good tyer for sports car

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volvo 850 T5 Estate

Overall a good tyre, nothing remarkable about it but gives confidence in the wet. Only driven for 2000 miles so far, small amount of understeer in the dry but track true in the wet. Dry performance is not their forte, slight vagueness on the limit and lack of feel. They seem to get worse as they get hotter. However I am really unable to fault them in the wet. I would not hesitate in buying them again. Having said that I would prefer Contisports if I had the extra money.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Citro├źn C5

Went aquaplaning last year, didn't like it at all. Bought these, problem never came back. Must be something in it! They seem as positive and durable as any of the big makes, but I think they wear a bit quicker than the Michelins.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 28,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

I mounted these tyres on a Honda Accord 2.4, to replace a set of Bridgestones that were probably the original mount. I immediately noticed an increase in road noise which is the main reason I now wan to replace them.

England is a rainy country and I drive between 10 and 15 K/year on mostly motorways and some country roads,including regular holiday trips to France both in very cold weather and very hot weather. I specifically wanted good tyres for the rainy English weather and on that front, the RainSport 2 have delivered beoynd expectations. They are fabulous in those conditions. Mini-ponds are simply not felt at all, you see them, instinctively grip the steering wheel that little bit harder, and... nothing happens at all. Perfect.

On the dry they are good, decent tyres that feel safe enough.

I do not rate their feedback highly. They feel soft and compared to the Bridgestones I had before them more input is needed on the steering wheel to go straight, they are "vague". In a bend the car doe not feel "on rails" as it did with the previous tyres, and I'm talking about dry conditions here. This is despite Kwik Fit having upgraded me to reinforced sidewalls because they did not have exactly the model I had ordered in stock (I got 94 when I had ordered 91).

I also have to mention that one of them broke with a loud bang, quite strangely, several seconds AFTER driving over a pothole (I live in one of the worst roads for potholes in an outrageously expensive London borough, and wonder what they do with the record breaking council tax they take, because the only other road this bad that I know is in the French Alps, and it REALLY gets cold there at 4000 to 5000 feet. But London??? The tyre did not blow up completely but had a huge bulge in its "reinforced" sidewall and was beyond repair. It was almost new and immediately replaced with the same. I was surprised and disappointed that it died so easily. The pothole was vicious but not the worst I've seen by far.

I have driven approximately 28 K miles on these tyres over 2 years. The front pair are close to the legal limit and will be replaced this week, the rear pair still have a lot of life in them. My car is a front wheel drive with 190 BHP, and I drive it reasonably with the occasional bit of pleasant acceleration which I enjoy, but while always keeping an eye on fuel consumption.

I want more feel and less noise! I have ordered a pair of Michelin Pilot Sport 3 which I'll have in a couple of days. When the rear pair reaches the end of its legal existence I'll also witch that to the Michelin, based on reviews and past experience with other Michelins (and provided that the front pair lives up to their reputation).

The Uniroyal have made me feel safe, but they're not quite good enough, and noise has always been too much... yes it also depends on road surface, they are much more silent on the smoothest French motorways but on many stretches of UK motorways they are a nightmare. Not everywhere, but it happens in too many places. So I cannot recommend them, especially at their fairly high price point, and I hope I am happier with the Michelins.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 300 Average miles

BMW 3 series

pretty disappoint about the noise which make people crazy,
already check everywhere and search on the internet, there are a lot of complaint about the noise as well,
i will never buy it again, actually i am thingking about to throw it away right now,

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Average miles

Renault Laguna 3

to soft sidewall! it's good in the rain but many other tyres perform the same!
I will never buy this tyre again. it's not bad if you like soft sidewall, but i don't!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.