Uniroyal RainSport 2

The Uniroyal RainSport 2 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Uniroyal RainSport 2
81%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
82%

Uniroyal RainSport 2 Reviews

0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Mazda Mx5 2008

I got rainsport 2 fitted to my wife's mx5 after she complained that the car felt as though it was sliding on bends in the wet. I took car for a run in the wet and the car was a death trap the Mazda dealer had fitted nexen tyres to car they were okay in the dry but deadly in the wet. I went straight to the garage and got rainsport 2 fitted this completely changed the car awesome tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Corsa

These tyres are a great all rounder used them in snow/ice and track days they have great grip in dry but found they over heat when pushed in the dry. The grip in the wet is amazing nearly as much as in the dry. I found the side walls to be a bit soft and at times felt as though the tyres would be pulled off of the rims. Due to the soft compound these tyres did wear quickly.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 38,000 Easy Going miles

Lexus GS450h

Replaced the manufacturer's recommended tyres with these after good reviews and sporty appearance. Not cheap! Road noise, especially at motorway speeds, excessive.
Wear rate unacceptable for a semi-premium tyre. Will not buy again.
Currently have Nexen 6000 front tyres which are quieter, look good and are wearing much more slowly.
Michelin on the back - too soon to report.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10 Average miles

Toyota 2006 Avalon

They were fitted to the car when we bought it, rears were near new and the fronts were about half worn. Grip in the wet is fine, dry grip is OK but not as good as I'd expect from a high performance summer tyre, the sidewalls are soft so the ride is comfortable but the handling a bit imprecise compared with other high performance summer tyres. The tyres can be a bit noisy on some road surfaces but not too bad.
After about 10k miles of mostly motorway / autobahn driving the fronts are worn out, and whilst the rears still have about 4-5mm of tread, the LH rear is making a horrible noise and vibration at 4-50 mph, and again from 70-90 mph. Wheels bearings, wheel, brakes, suspension etc all in good condition so it has to be from the tyre.
Looking at other tyres to replace these.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Renault twingo

Well, they are a little bit noisy and maybe uncomfortable. I bought them in the begining of the summer drought and I thought: "aghhh, what a mistake"... And then the rain fell... And I fell in love with this tyre.
The way Uniroyal Rainsport 2 performed in wet conditions was absolutely breathtaking. I have never experienced anything like that. Gave me so much confidence that I waited for the rain to fall just to take my Twingo133 for a ride, it grips like hell and you just enjoy cruising and speeding around as the water sprays from V-shape lines behind you.

Downsides? There are some, but I forgive them all.
Anyway, let me mention it: on dry and hot conditions, the tyre turns slowly, as the "side-wall" is a bit soft. It is strange in the begining as the car dives in a corner with a milisecond delay, but it's not a problem once you get used on it.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-40-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen fox

There's nothing worse than having to do an emergency stop or manuovre in the wet. But with these tyres, the only problem will be other cars not being able to stop behind you.

Handle very, very well in damp to very wet weather, the car handles almost like the road is dry. I do like to push to the limit from time to time, and sometimes I can't reach the limit of these.

I have used these on a vw polo and vw fox, and will always buy these again as I value wet weather confidence over outright dry weather performance.

Fitted all 4 tyres from new and still loads of tread left so far after around 21000 miles and over nearly 3 years.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Renault Clio 182

Had an almost new set of these on the front when I purchased my car, after a 18 months and 20 k miles they finally need replacing. Had no issues in the wet or dry so will give the Rainsport 3s a go for sure!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-16-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 31,068 Average miles

Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi

I bought this tyres 4 years ago. They are 215/55ZR16 93W. Grip of this tyres is excellent. This tyres are looking very narrowly. I won't buy them again because there is RainSport 3 tyre a newer model.
Everyone who drive VW Sharan 2001-09 on 16 wheel buy XL tyres. I have made a mistake buying standard tyres instead XL. I will replace them with RainSport 3 XL

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20 Average miles

Ford Focus ST170

great tyres on my st170!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Volvo v70 D5

I've got around 19K miles out of my last set of these on a fairly heavy Volvo V70 diesel which I use for towing and some fairly lively driving when not towing. Am up to 16K on the second set which are now nearing the end of their life.

Interestingly my mum has the same car but only managed about 12k miles even with her plodding around - 4 wheel alignment has hopefully now increased.

So, in terms of wear, on a well set up car the wear is good (must swap around i.e. front / back) but if set up is wrong the wear can be excessive.

Great tyre though.

Now to see what the RS3s are like

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.