Nokian WRG2

The Nokian WRG2 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WRG2
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
83%
Comfort
85%
Buy Again
88%

Nokian WRG2 Reviews (4)

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

After last years winter started in much the same way as the 2009 winter did I decided to buy a set of these for the Corolla estate.
14" versions are pretty good value and I opted for the WRG2 based on reviews and the fact that Nokian are primarily a winter tyre specialist.
They are sensational compared to the Pirelli 4 season tyres that they replaced.
In fairness to the all season P2500s they are not a dedicated winter tyre but the Nokian WRG2 leave them standing literally.
Slush and snow are dealt with with aplomb, Hardpack snow is similarly dealt with.
I cannot answer how they wear as they weren't on for long enough to significantly wear.
In short I can wholeheartedly recommend these tyre as great winter tyres.
I will buy them again without any hesitation.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz CLK200

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Renault Vel Satis

Was quite surprised how good these tyres are. Quiet, comfortable with good response. very good on snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 0
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Legacy

Well, I've reviewed these already but just wanted to update. I had these on my twin turbo legacy estate car last winter during all the snow and in fact they're still on now. I've probably covered about 20,000 miles altogether including my previous excursions to italy through the alps. They are probably at or just below the 4mm tread line now, but leaving them on all summer hasn't helped that given my spirited driving style. Had I taken them off in april I would have got another winter out of them (totalling 4). They are still suitable for use but not in snow.

Grip in summer is not quite as good as I'm used to (Goodyear Eagle F1s, vredestein ultrac sassentas), but still very acceptable considering it's a winter tyre first and foremost.

Winter performance last winter was exceptional as expected. Of course the AWD on the legacy helps, but these tyres are just so good. I went up to haytor in 12" of snow and thick fog (which later cleard) and had no issues whatsoever.

I also ventured into a sloping field with some friends, a towrope and a snowboard and proceeded to tow them around in 5-6" of snow. Some were concerned that the car would get stuck in the field, but no, it didn't even spin the wheels.


Stopping in snow/ice is also great, although I did notice a slight degradation in this area since last year due to the lower tread, but from new and once worn-in these are brilliant at stopping and starting even on sheet ice. Seriously they are that good!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-V
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Mazda 3 Series

tire wore out quickly

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 50 Average miles

Volvo V70 D5 AWD

great witer tire, treadwear is simply too hi for a tire in this price range

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-15-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Audi TT

For the positively balmy south of England these tyres were perfect for winter. They provided confidence in fresh and frozen snow and good braking performance in ice. I was happily able to drive about on roads that heavy delivery lorries were slipping all over.

Equally, they have been great in frosty mornings, dry roads and warm (only tested up to 10°C).

They are very quiet but quite firm, giving a more crashy ride. The edge of grip in warm dry conditions isn't going to win you any races, but it's clear and safe to discover.

I will be putting them into storage until next winter now though.

Summary: An all-round capable tyre, perfect for (southern at least) English winters

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Average miles

Fiat Marea Weekend JTD 105

It has very good grip on dry and wet roads. The performance on snow is good but it has a tendency to loose grip when cornering on snow or slush. The noise level is very acceptable.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.