Nokian WRG2

The Nokian WRG2 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WRG2
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
83%
Comfort
85%
Buy Again
88%

Nokian WRG2 Reviews (3)

81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

Renault megane

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 118d

I bought these for my wife's BMW 118D. On the one day it snowed last year they gripped as though they were velcro and the snow was a white woolly cardigan. However, the wet grip is not good. When temperatures are above seven degrees in the rain the traction control light flashes like a strobe. The car understeers and brakes poorly enough to make buttocks clench and oh christ handles be snatched. It's as though Diesel is raining from the sky. Needless to say, we're switching to some summer tyres before I get a call from my wife to say she's woken up in a tree. In summary, these are great tyres if the temp is below 7 degrees and you have to travel through regular snow. But they don't perform well enough during the summer to leave them on all year.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

I have had these tyres on my Toyota verso for two years and would not consider anything else.
My priority with regard to my choice was to fit a specialist winter tyre which I could have fitted all year. I live in a remote rural location and travel on both country roads and motorway including the notorious A9 in the north of Scotland. These tyres were the answer to my problem, giving me the assurance and confidence that I needed. I don't cover a big mileage in the year, but for me the peace of mind is definitely worth it as I rely on being able to travel in all weathers.
My husband, sister, brother in law and neighbours are also now using the tyres. Living in the north of scotland, they travel up the Cairngorm Mountains in ski season with them, passing everyone who is snowbound on the way up/down!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

Purchased these last year to replace the Vredestein tyres that were fitted so I had something to compare them to. As today is the first snow we have had it has been the first time trying them out in anger so to speak. However, I did notice in wet / damp conditions that if you were tight cornering they broke away quite easy, not something I would have expected and it was a slight concern. However, in the snow, all I can say is poor, yes I was moving but all over the road as the wheels were spinning and the car slipped from side to side. With the Vredestein yes the tyres spun but usually kept you tracking straight and would only move you off the line if it hit hard packed snow or ice. And several times the car drifted in corners, yes it may have been ice but there was no sign of it anywhere else.
Last year with Vredesteins fitted you could pull into the fast lane which had not been cleared of sow and the car would actually accelerate, ok with wheel spin but that is the level of confidence those tyres gave you. These, just spin.
All in all in my opinion an overpriced tyre that is only marginally better than the standard tyres the car comes with. No, I would not purchase these again as I will go back to the Vredestein

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Average miles

Toyota Prius III

Great, great tyre and most important it's much cheaper then its rivals. The only downsize for this tyre is that is kinda noisy and nothing else. Great on wet and dry roads, perfect on snow. Would definitely recomend!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz CLK200

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Ford Focus

The tire was a great performer in all conditions. The only problem was that the tread only lasted less than 40, 000 kms. I would not buy these tires gain. I drive a 2006 Ford Focus Wagon and live on Vancouver Island, BC Canada.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-16-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra SRi CDTi 1.9 150

I've just changed back to my Winter Nokian WR G2 tyres ready for the colder spell. I was reminded when I got them out, that they had barely worn on the rears, but the fronts had about 5.5mm left. Baring in mind that they start off with 10mm, and I've only had them a year, I think that they wear a little fast. I do accelerate and brake quite a bit for roundabouts, have a windy, hilly route and I suppose driving faster than most doesn't help, but I'm less than impressed with only getting 2 winters out if them, especially when most people say that they get 4 winters, or 20,000 miles. So I made sure that they were swapped over, so that I can replace all 4 at once, after getting the most out of them. Saying that, my summer tyres (F1 Assymetrical 2's) are similar, but wear at a slightly better and closer rate. Plus in the summer I tend to drive faster and have more fun.

I agree with an earlier comment, they do have great grip on snow, good in the dry and ok in the wet. I live on an incline (probably about 5%), and there were taxis and other cars struggling to get up, me too a couple of years ago. But since I've had my Nokians I've never had any problems climbing hills, let alone my road. My only only real issue with them is the tendency to loose grip when cornering on snow or slush, or sometimes when its raining. Saying that, sweeping bends etc are ok, its roundabouts where you turn tighter that are the main problem, and it's not like I'm taking the roundabout too fast either.

I have noticed that Nokian have released some improved models, namely the WR A3 & WR D3, I'll read the reviews on here next summer and if they have better turning ability I'll try to find another brand that do. Afterall, its great getting up hills but whats the point if you struggle to turn, you'll just get stuck somewhere else. That defeats the point of winter tyres. Afterall, I don't want to get stuck, thats why I bought winter tyres in the first place.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport

Brilliant! Bought 4 of these in October 2011 only got to test them on one night roads were like glass around half one in the morning I'm still gob smacked how they performed I was doing 100km a hour roads felt bone dry anyone living in the uk or Ireland should forget about summer tyres and go for winter ones I'll never buy summer tyres again il make another review in 2012 to see how they wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport

Brilliant!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.