Nokian WRG2

The Nokian WRG2 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WRG2
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
83%
Comfort
85%
Buy Again
88%

Nokian WRG2 Reviews (2)

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 3.0 automat

Just amazing tyres! Never had so much grip on my meny alfas, specially wet grip, it is unbelieveble!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto

I drive a Volvo XC60 AWD on mostly country roads. I fitted a set on my front wheels at 30K miles and there is still 4.5mm of tread on them at 70k: so for wear I cannot fault them. This compared to rear tyres fitted 12 months later (Pirelli) that now have 3.9mm of tread left.

I have felt very comfortable and confident driving on these over three winters and I can only say that the only 'fault' that I find with them is that they feel 'loose' when the weather is warm (+20oC).

I intend to fit four new Nokian tyres this autumn.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-R
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 106,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Outback

I have had these tires on my car since the fall of 2009. There is nothing that I havent accomplished while using them. I have competed in Rally Cross, aggresive driving, winter drifting, hauling my boat. They are now worn out at 38k kms and are on the wear bars, and when on a hiking trip 2 weeks ago the car still climbed a goat path on one of the local mountains. (mind you if I knew the shape they were in I wouldnt have) but it felt like the tires had lots of tread! I cant say enough about these tires and have recommended them to my friends and 5 of them put them on thier cars. I did give them a low rating for lasting but I have to admit I am positive that the issue is my driving style, not the tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Renault Vel Satis

Was really a perfect choice, helped in many occasions. I certainly recommend these tyres to all who don't want to compromise on performance yet still have limited budget. If the successor (WRA3) wouldn't appear I would definitely bought them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 24,233 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery 3

I'm not sure if I'm happy, to be honest. I had Pirelli Scorpion Ice & Snow which seemed to be all right until they had about 25% tread left on them and they felt useless. Right now I have 24,233 miles, or 38,999 kms on mine (I thought I had more, but when I looked through the invoices only 39k kms). I've rotated every 10K kms, and done my best to keep them at the recommended Land Rover pressure of 33 psi fronts, and 42 psi rears. This week coming back from a quick trip to Watertown NY, I hit a pretty bad snow storm and had difficulty in staying running straight through to the boarder. I expected better from these tires after Nokian's hype. If I didn't have a full sized spare that was unused I don't know if I would buy another set.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-60-18-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Insignia CDTI 160

These tyres are the best winter tyres I have used. I work in Ski centres so good winter tyres are essential. Suffice to say I am now on my third set. It's also good to know that the people in Finland and Norway make this their tyre of choice!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-65-17-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp

those from nokian company stated that all season tires are wr g2. Frankly to say these tires are for those who have a tight budget or are too greedy to themselves. Honestly I am one of them since I bought these tires. The dumbest thing is to go with winter tires in summer and vice versa.
I have a row of wheels with summer tires only have a row of summer and winter wheels only. I finally awoke. these all weather tires are not very good but acceptable on any of the seasons. conclusion is that if you want winter tires, winter and buy only the best. if you take your summer summer only. You will save money and time and also you realize that you have three summers and 3 winters.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 39,146 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery 3

Purchased to replace Pirelli's Scorpion Ice & Snow which came with the vehicle. Found the tyres fantastic all year around, especially in the spring our rainy season. They wear a little faster than the Pirelli's but are quieter, and do better all year around.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-60-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Opel Corsa C

On the action was one of the cheapest tires but demonstrated good. Although driven by small car has never failed him. Excellent grip on the trodden snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 95,000 Average miles

Subaru Outback

They are really a good all year tire. Great in snow and ice and rain. Got 95,000 km out of first set. Little noisy towards the end of their life. I live wear the temperature ranges from -30C to + 30C

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.