Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
75%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (8)

87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Honda S2000

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 621 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

For my 2017 Mazda MX-5 RF, I decided to purchase 4 new Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres. Unlike other ND Mazda MX-5 owners, I stayed with the original size, 205/45 R17, but in 88W specification. The original Bridgestone Potenza S001 tyres were showing pronounced wear, at 28000 kilometres, or 17400 miles. The tyres ranged from 3.4 millimetres of tread, down to 2.8 millimetres on one tyre, even with regular tyre rotations. Extrapolating the wear from brand new, I could''ve achieved 40000 km, or 25000 miles in total tyre life. As the puncture risk was increasingly higher, this motivated me in my purchase. The other reason was wheelspin from a standing start in the dry, without serious provocation.

The roadholding and grip are first rate. As you drive hard, the tyre is very progressive, towards its VERY high limits. When it does break away, it does so progressively. Oversteer is certainly still available, but its limit is higher than on the S001 tyres. The steering still loads up nicely in cornering. The turn in response is direct, too. Whilst it's not quite as sharp in turn in response as the Bridgestone Potenza S001, it's still very good. The feedback through the steering wheel, and the front and rear ends remains second to none - and it does so with better impact harshness absorption. The tyres' 'rolling comfort' - the ability to absorb small bumps - is WAY superior to the Potenza S001 tyres. Whilst this is most likely due to the stiffer sidewalls of the S001, which contribute to their slightly sharper turn in, the reality is more harshness, with no increase in handling and driving involvement - and less comfort.

Road and tyre NVH -Noise, Vibration and Harshness - is improved. Whilst the MX-5 can never be mistaken for a Lexus in terms of refinement, the improvement in this area is undeniable.

It's only early days in terms of determining wear, but I will certainly post updates as to how the tyre is going.

Here in Australia, the price for each tyre, for this size, at least, is between $235 to $245 dollars. I paid $235 each, with a 4 wheel alignment completed at $70. The alignment wasn't out by much, by only a millimetre. Personally, I think this is good value for money, considering the tyre and its attributes.

Thus far, would I buy them again? I'd have to say a resounding 'Yes'.

Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

SEAT 1.4 TSI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
25%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 350 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0 MIVEC (MAN)

very dissapointing the car now feels unstable at high speed turn in is very poor with no feel floating sensation from steering not what i expected from Michelin ps4 sport can only compare these to cheap budget tyres certainly no better . poor

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

BMW 130i M

Fitted these 225/40 R18 all round, replacing the runflats (Goodyear nct5) shortly after buying the car. Anything was an improvement on those, which were harsh! The runflats were also surprisingly (on many an occasion..) low on grip, very eager to break traction at the rear which was kinda fun but sadly also the front, understeering like crazy at times, which was disappointing on a RWD car..
The Michelins offered a HUGE increase in grip - in the dry but most notably in the wet when there really was an astonishing level of grip. Very confidence inspiring, enabling controlled high speed cornering and hard braking in dry and wet conditions. Which brings me to the only negative.
I don't often drive slow, but the wear rate has been simply appalling. The 12000 miles I have covered applies to the fronts which are finished, but the rears were gone after 5000! I then changed the rears for 235/40 R18 and they have fared slightly better and were noticeably grippier again on this car - they did 7000miles but now need changing again.
I should just slow down I guess but I expected more from Michelin, who are supposedly known to be more durable if you believe their advertising. But driving style has no doubt been a big factor, so YMMV.
I haven't had any other (non-rft) on this car so perhaps it just eats tyres? The runflats weren't on long enough to appraise the wear rate, as I got rid as soon as possible (the rears were near dead when I got it so I took the opportunity to put 4 real tyres on. Plus, my fitter would not fit non-runflat to one axle with runflats still on the other, probably for the best as the handling , I had to agree, would be interesting.
Even with the wear issue I may still buy another set as they really were excellent otherwise, but right now I'm changing these for Pirelli PZero PZ4.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

Subaru Legacy 2.0GT Spec B

I am coming from usibg Neuton NT5000 (was good) to Bridgestone RE003 (had better grip) to this. And it feels like a totally different car. Grip is phenomenal from stand still to taking corners. Braking has improved a lot too. Can't speak for the wear as I have only had it for less than 1000km. Will update this review aa the tyre ages.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 2,500 Spirited miles

Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI

Very good Tire but pretty noisy especially at speeds around 120-150. Noise really makes me think of changing tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 17,709 Average miles

Peugeot 208 XY 1.6 HDI

I fit the PS4 in my Peugeot 208 ehdi, and the previous tyre set is PS3. PS4 is actually better than PS3, however about the wear level, the improved strength is not enough. One PS4 set can let me drive at 28500 km. The noisy of PS4 will be louder after half tyre life. Therefore, I don't want to buy this again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-
34%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz SLK 350

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.