Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
75%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (7)

99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,500 Spirited miles

Audi S3

SUPERB ! I fitted a full set of these @15k miles to replace the tired O.E. Pirelli P Zeros on my 2018 Audi S3. It would have been difficult to imagine better traction on an already brilliant car but the PS4's have improved the traction, ride quality and steering by some margin. At £ 111.00 each they were money very well spent.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 1,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Toledo

For my my car this tyres are not good, previously had for 6 years 70000miles Dunlop SP sport max and I can say that Michelin tires on 215 40 17 are worse tires I ever had , I've been back to the garage 2 times for them to double check that they're fitted right... Very loud , very vibrant , unresponsive, unpredictable ,worse fuel consumption by over 10 miles per gallon . 100 miles behind Dunlop performance. I've always brought Michelin for quality but now I am very disappointed

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Toyota 86 GT

Fantastic wet grip, did a track day in heavy rain and they were performing better than most semi slick tyres do in wet. Dry grip is similarly good I can't see a road tyre being any better than this, comfort and noise level is surprisingly good and fuel economy doesn't suffer, can't comment on longevity as I used these tyres on track however they do perform fairly well on track

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

I found those tires on a discount, and for 250£ I couuldn’t have made a better choice.
The only drawback so far is road feedback. MX5 is known for pure driving pleasure, and those Michelins don’t match that „feeling”. In other department those tires are flawless.
I highly recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 100 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate

I've replaced the old Pilot Sport 3s in the front with the Pilot Sport 4 after doing a really lengthy research on what tires to choose. I wanted a good balance between road noise - fuel efficiency - handling. There are quieter tires or more fuel efficent, but PS4 seems the best compromise. I've installed them 10 days ago and I drove mostly in the city, but also on the motorway in the heavy rain. initialy conclusion: I'm impressed; going hard in roundabouts - no understeer AT ALL! On the motorway, full of water, driving at 70 mph, no issues, no loss of control - the old, worn PS3s were a bit scarry in the rain at high speeds.
Comfort wise... There is no comfort on low profile tires...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 45 Spirited miles

Hyundai Sonata GLS V6

I live in regional Queensland, Australia. These tyres were fitted two years ago replacing Pilot Sport 3's. My initial reaction was that they were not as good as the 3's but after about 500km I changed my view and have found them to be quite superior. They are quiet, comfortable, grip extremely well and are very good under acceleration and braking in both wet and dry conditions. I achieved about 42,000km with the 3's whereas the 4's are right now on 73,000km. I would have achieved 75,000km had I bothered with a wheel alignment at 70,000km. It is important to note that my driving changed from mostly around town with the 3's to mostly on the open road at 80-100kmh so less accelerating, braking and cornering. I also actively reduced my cornering speeds (most of the time). I am very careful with inflation pressures, balance and wheel alignments (except as commented above). As the tyres became well worn they did become less comfortable and noticeably noisier; also tended to "tramline" which I find happens with all tyres that I've used, especially with front wheel drive. Surprisingly I have found the dry grip still excellent with wet grip only slightly diminished. Braking is unchanged but acceleration definitely needs a gentler throttle; it is quite easy despite traction control to provoke wheelspin. Overall I am absolutely impressed and am having a new set fitted in two days time (together with a wheel alignment of course).

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 1.8T sport

The grip and the steering feedback are absolutely nothing short of amazing. The car just glues onto the road no matter the weather conditions. It is the best tyre I have ever fitted to any of my cars.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,800 Spirited miles

Holden SSV Sports Wagon

Fitted the pilot sport 4's a year ago on an SSV SPORTS WAGON and covered 12,500k's on Australian Roads thus far ... Handling in both wet an dry conditions has been exceptional with 100% feedback and comfort, especially impressed with stability in straight high end speed ...
... not the cheapest tyre, thus comes the Negative, maybe about 3-5000ks of life left! Still comfortable but noisy! ...Had a beta run from the Pilot Sport 3's... Bridgestone tyres never came close to the qualities of PS3 an PS4 except for slightly longer life.
Happy n Safe Cruzin

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Audi 3.2 A3

Good tyres, impressed with how they stick

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Comfort 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

BMW 435d

Early days as I've only had these on for a few trips, replacing Bridgestone S001 RFT tyres, and I certainly don't push my tyres enough to know where the limits are. However, turn in seems quite good.
However, on the Comfort front, these tyres are noticeably quieter than the Bridgestone S001 RFT tyres. These I changed away from with ~5mm left on them, as they had a definite drone even at low speed (~25mph) let alone on National Speed Limited roads.
I've also measured the cabin noise over the same sections of road at 30 and 60 mph and can see the improvement compared to previous.
They also take rough roads and sleeping policemen in their stride, absorbing sharp edges well.
All of this is perhaps unsurprising as they did replace RunFlats of course.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.