Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
79%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (6)

67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 370Z

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 285-35-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 31,600 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 280

I had two sets - one on Seat Leon ST Cupra 280 (235/40 R18), second on BMW 130i (205/50 R17 front, 225/45 R17 rear). Very good tyres, however softer sidewall in comparison with PS2 - I had to keep slightly higher tyre pressures, especially on BMW sizes, otherwise I was loosing a lot of steering feel. Very well balanced tyres. Very good dry & wet performance and still quite comfortable with low noise levels. Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

BMW Z4

I replaced my factory fitted Bridgestone Potenza RE 050 runflat tires on my E89 Z4 with Michelin PS4's. Amazing tires in every conditions. I was most amazed by the wet grip and wet handling. The dry grip and dry hadling was excellent too, even in cold conditions. Very comfortable and quiet for a sporty tire. Would highly recommend these tires for daily driving and spirited driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Mazda RX8

This was my first set of Michelin PS4. Amazing in dry but overhelming in wet. Wasn't expecting such grip in wet and even standing water from such plain tread. Did few track days on them and response was "a OK" for civil tyre. Also grip was acceptable. I can not say anything about handling at the limit becouse I couldn't find an exact line where tire lost grip at those few laps but it warned if someting was about to happen. Overall really good tire for daily use and occasional tracking. Not too hard but hey, better than nothing. :)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,500 Spirited miles

Audi S3

SUPERB ! I fitted a full set of these @15k miles to replace the tired O.E. Pirelli P Zeros on my 2018 Audi S3. It would have been difficult to imagine better traction on an already brilliant car but the PS4's have improved the traction, ride quality and steering by some margin. At £ 111.00 each they were money very well spent.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 1,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Toledo

For my my car this tyres are not good, previously had for 6 years 70000miles Dunlop SP sport max and I can say that Michelin tires on 215 40 17 are worse tires I ever had , I've been back to the garage 2 times for them to double check that they're fitted right... Very loud , very vibrant , unresponsive, unpredictable ,worse fuel consumption by over 10 miles per gallon . 100 miles behind Dunlop performance. I've always brought Michelin for quality but now I am very disappointed

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Toyota 86 GT

Fantastic wet grip, did a track day in heavy rain and they were performing better than most semi slick tyres do in wet. Dry grip is similarly good I can't see a road tyre being any better than this, comfort and noise level is surprisingly good and fuel economy doesn't suffer, can't comment on longevity as I used these tyres on track however they do perform fairly well on track

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

I found those tires on a discount, and for 250£ I couuldn’t have made a better choice.
The only drawback so far is road feedback. MX5 is known for pure driving pleasure, and those Michelins don’t match that „feeling”. In other department those tires are flawless.
I highly recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 100 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate

I've replaced the old Pilot Sport 3s in the front with the Pilot Sport 4 after doing a really lengthy research on what tires to choose. I wanted a good balance between road noise - fuel efficiency - handling. There are quieter tires or more fuel efficent, but PS4 seems the best compromise. I've installed them 10 days ago and I drove mostly in the city, but also on the motorway in the heavy rain. initialy conclusion: I'm impressed; going hard in roundabouts - no understeer AT ALL! On the motorway, full of water, driving at 70 mph, no issues, no loss of control - the old, worn PS3s were a bit scarry in the rain at high speeds.
Comfort wise... There is no comfort on low profile tires...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.