Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
79%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (5)

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Skoda Octavia estate

I got Michelins on my Skoda Octavia FL 2.0TSI 190bhp MY2019. So far, so good. Grip on all surfaces and conditions is very good. I do not have any sport ambitions, but during searching tires for my car, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 had the best reviews. I am fully satisfied with these tires. Good performance, feedback and comfort. For me the best.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus mk2

Had these on the car for just under 10k miles, replacing the Dunlop sport maxx rt2 on all four corners. Initially I was very disappointed with the noise, but things now seem to have calmed down, but still quite a bit noisier than the Dunlops at 70mph. I also find the comfort to be worse than the Dunlops, the tyres crash over bumps and I get a lot more suspension noise than before. I have also had two punctures (one complete failure) and a slow puncture in the first two months of ownership, perhaps it was bad luck, but I cant help but feel they are good at picking up screws lol. Wear seems average, I'd say I'm more than half way through on the fronts at 10k. The Dunlops lasted 35k, with life still left on the rear. Handling etc fantastic and overall better than the Dunlops. They are very progressive so you feel safe when chucking the car around. Grip off the line is phenomenal and way better than the Dunlops (this includes the wet). For aquaplaning, I'd say they are very good, but definitely fall short compared to the Dunlop, which felt incredibly secure. If you want a quieter and more comfortable drive, I'd go for the Dunlop. If performance is high on your list (or you have a performance car) go for the Michelin.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6 Spirited miles

Audi A3

It's the best tyre I've ever owned in that size! It just grips either on wet or dry conditions, and dispite being a "55" side wall it does not "give in" when under stress, it's an amazing tyre, recommend to everyone!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS250

Only dome 2000 miles or so of driving so far but I can honestly say I wish I'd put them on my car sooner. I came from swearing by apollo tyres for a long time, but decided midrange just wasn't cutting it anymore. The wet grip levels are insane on the PS4 compared to other tyres of driven on and dry grip is equally as good. The only downside I can think of is the progression of the grip level. The michelin will grip well beyond what you think the limit is, but will just let go when it gets to the true limit of the tyre. Its either lots of grip or not much grip. Would recommend to anyone. Ill report back in a few months when I've racked up some more miles!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Audi S3

Totally transformed my car for the better ! It is like a different car. One of the best mods ive done to a car !

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Sylphy 1.8

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai Coupe 2.0L

I owned Michelin pilot sport 4 for a year by now and i really like the tyres, i had hankook Evo 12 before, Michelin's were more comfortable, exceptional wet performance, Great wet braking, dry braking too it feels like it stops instantly from 30mph. The dry handling is really good but it lacks feedback and you may find your self understeering like it happened to me on a mountain road and i've even got off the road with two tyres, it happened just once when i finally got the chance to test it's limits but let me tell you before you try, you don't get enough feedback from the tyres to know they're limits from the beginning, it takes time to get used to them, the wear after a little over 10k miles is quite dissapointing considering it's Michelin, i expected them to wear a little bit less. My next tyres may be continental premium contact 6 since i saw on tyre Reviews they got more feedback but slightly sacrifices confort and i really don't think that the ps4 has the longevity advantage over continental anymore. Ps4 are great tyres, if you want something confortable and safe for everyday driving they're excelent just keep in mind to learn them with time when you first push them, becouse the lack of feedback may put you in danger.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R

Great tyre for the road. Hard driving leads the tyre to struggle after a short amount of time. In the wet this tyre is simply the best I have tried!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Spirited miles

Honda Accord iVtec Type S saloon

Expensive tyre, but I'm very disappointed, there is no any feedback, they don't put the power to the road well, very soft sidewalls, doesn't respond well when you turn in. In high speed very wobbly, like floaty,not stable at high speed build insecure in high speed. I will never buy again michelin. Very expensive too MPS4S also have soft sidewalls.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Spirited miles

BMW F30 320D

Excellent all round summer tyre. A little noisier than PS4S I had before on 19s, but these on 18s are nearly as good, but since PS4S weren't available in 18s, went with PS4 and not really disappointed. I expect less life out of them as they seem fairly soft, but already very impressed by performance, especially braking.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.