Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
84%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
86%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (4)

86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

Really impressed with these tyres. Very good all round performance and very comfortable. Really good grip in dry and wet. Would buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Audi A3 2.0T Sporkback

Seem to be the perfect balance between good grip in the dry while also gripping in the wet. They are a bit noisy, as you'd expect from tyres with good friction.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Audi A6 2.0 TDI

Would have got 225/50/16 variant but couldn't find it however I really have wanted this tire model because I have heard many praises and they have blown my mind away. Pilot Sport 4 has tremendous grip in both dry and wet and has eliminated understeer by a ton which really surprised me as on ocassion I manage to oversteer it but still neutral handling along with my brembo brake pads it made the car stop much faster which means you have to make sure in emergency situations that you do not get rear-ended since braking power is immense. Nonetheless these tires suit heavier cars such as my nearly 2 ton car due to the way the setup feels. Prefers high pressure as the sidewalls are in my opinion slightly pliable - needs stiffness which in turn = higher PSI however switching to Bilstein B6 dampers I could reduce the pressures a little bit to gain more grip while retaining handling. Must be obligatory to run between 35-40 PSI! Quiet, confidence inspiring and aggressive. AWD cars already put power on hard and these tires definitely liven up the car in any conditions. Best in its class but sadly whilst giving slightly better steering feel and more precision in yaw changes I feel like it robbed some of that road feedback so you have to keep guessing where the wheels are but it still feels like the grip is infinite which is fantastic! Surprised the wear is decent despite tons of spirited driving I still have 4mm of tread left however I can feel it progressively losing wet grip and slight tramlining may appear on some road conditions but progression in this tire has been the main topic. Comfort is so-so although in the beginning it was fairly harsh but overtime in the break-in period the tire just glides whilst sticking on the road like glue; the low rolling resistance is sublime and feels reasonably comfortable, you wouldn't guess it was a performance tire until you wring out its legs. I'll be upgrading my wheels to 19 inches next year and will be buying these again however in PS4s version as the road feedback would definitely make this tire utterly compete with semi-slicks despite it already being near that level or Re71rs for more precision.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

Do note that the PS4 I got is the ST (silence-tuned) version, which apparently is made specifically for South East Asia region. It has ST indicated of left side of tyre sticker label before it was removed. Coming from Pirelli P7 the PS4 is in different league. Obviously P7 is designed for much higher mileage and additional run-flat features when compared to PS4, but other than that PS4 is simply better in almost every other aspects ... better dry grip and even better wet grip ( i drive almost like P7 speed in dry with PS4 on wet), WAY quieter, better bump absorption and more linear behavior at limit (P7 would just "snap" into understeer). Maybe another major drawback against P7 is the lack of feedback, which there really isn't much to offer from PS4 at softer pressures (e.g. 30psi at front on my FWD Jetta). PS4 ride is also more comfortable than PremiumContact 6 which was discovered when I sat in my friend's car, but cannot comment on performance difference between these 2.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Skoda Octavia estate

I got Michelins on my Skoda Octavia FL 2.0TSI 190bhp MY2019. So far, so good. Grip on all surfaces and conditions is very good. I do not have any sport ambitions, but during searching tires for my car, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 had the best reviews. I am fully satisfied with these tires. Good performance, feedback and comfort. For me the best.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus mk2

Had these on the car for just under 10k miles, replacing the Dunlop sport maxx rt2 on all four corners. Initially I was very disappointed with the noise, but things now seem to have calmed down, but still quite a bit noisier than the Dunlops at 70mph. I also find the comfort to be worse than the Dunlops, the tyres crash over bumps and I get a lot more suspension noise than before. I have also had two punctures (one complete failure) and a slow puncture in the first two months of ownership, perhaps it was bad luck, but I cant help but feel they are good at picking up screws lol. Wear seems average, I'd say I'm more than half way through on the fronts at 10k. The Dunlops lasted 35k, with life still left on the rear. Handling etc fantastic and overall better than the Dunlops. They are very progressive so you feel safe when chucking the car around. Grip off the line is phenomenal and way better than the Dunlops (this includes the wet). For aquaplaning, I'd say they are very good, but definitely fall short compared to the Dunlop, which felt incredibly secure. If you want a quieter and more comfortable drive, I'd go for the Dunlop. If performance is high on your list (or you have a performance car) go for the Michelin.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6 Spirited miles

Audi A3

It's the best tyre I've ever owned in that size! It just grips either on wet or dry conditions, and dispite being a "55" side wall it does not "give in" when under stress, it's an amazing tyre, recommend to everyone!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS250

Only dome 2000 miles or so of driving so far but I can honestly say I wish I'd put them on my car sooner. I came from swearing by apollo tyres for a long time, but decided midrange just wasn't cutting it anymore. The wet grip levels are insane on the PS4 compared to other tyres of driven on and dry grip is equally as good. The only downside I can think of is the progression of the grip level. The michelin will grip well beyond what you think the limit is, but will just let go when it gets to the true limit of the tyre. Its either lots of grip or not much grip. Would recommend to anyone. Ill report back in a few months when I've racked up some more miles!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Audi S3

Totally transformed my car for the better ! It is like a different car. One of the best mods ive done to a car !

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Sylphy 1.8

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.