Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
75%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (4)

82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen T Roc

After a lot of (late night) research, I finally chose to replace the OEM Bridgestone Potenza S001 on my almost new car, after only 11,000 Kms ( 7,300 miles.) For me, as a regular daily driver, the Bridgestones were simply too hard, and performance orientated. And, with a profile ratio of 40, impossibly noisy. The Michelins are simply far more compatible with this medium powered car (only 190 bhp,) which is simply not a Sports car, yet VW seem to be fitting anything that they can get their hands on with a 93Y rating - except Michelins. Nevertheless the Michelins are very sporting, especially if you pump them up to beyond the normal VW stated pressures. It is hard to imagine how you could realistically exploit the limits of these Michelins in a 4 wheel-drive T-Roc on the road in the dry. As far as comfort is concerned, they are streets ahead of the Bridgestones, at the same pressure. Disappointingly the PS4’s are only a bit quieter, but we are talking about tyres with an aspect ratio of 40 on a small car. Always specify smaller wheels! It’s too early to predict how long they will last, especially with my moderate driving style. Price wise, here in Spain, they are no more expensive than their immediate competitors, not least of all due to local Michelin manufacturing plants. These are probably the best tyres for my car right now, even if it had a lot more power.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen T Roc

After a lot of (late night) research, I finally chose to replace the OEM Bridgestone Potenza S001 on my almost new car, after only 11,000 Kms ( 7,300 miles.) For me, as a regular daily driver, the Bridgestones were simply too hard, and performance orientated. And, with a profile ratio of 40, impossibly noisy. The Michelins are simply far more compatible with this medium powered car (only 190 bhp,) which is simply not a Sports car, yet VW seem to be fitting anything that they can get their hands on with a 93Y rating - except Michelins. Nevertheless the Michelins are very sporting, especially if you pump them up to beyond the normal VW stated pressures. It is hard to imagine how you could realistically exploit the limits of these Michelins in a 4 wheel-drive T-Roc on the road in the dry. As far as comfort is concerned, they are streets ahead of the Bridgestones, at the same pressure. Disappointingly the PS4’s are only a bit quieter, but we are talking about tyres with an aspect ratio of 40 on a small car. Always specify smaller wheels! It’s too early to predict how long they will last, especially with my moderate driving style. Price wise, here in Spain, they are no more expensive than their immediate competitors, not least of all due to local Michelin manufacturing plants. These are probably the best tyres for my car right now, even if it had a lot more power.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW M135i

These came on the M135i I bought instead of the original Pilot Super Sports. I've found them generally very good. In the summer they just about handle the power of the car. Any slides are predictable with good communication and progression. In the wet I found them a little bit less secure, and a bit more spikey than I had expected. In light snow they also coped surprisingly well considering the car. Wear has been good and comfort much better than I expected.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-18-W
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps

Extremely noisy tyre, good wet grip though, wear quickly won't buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20 Spirited miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

VW Golf MK6 205/55/16 "They were ridden on 19-9-2020, I have done about 2000km on motorways and mountain roads, in dry and wet, in dry they are very good in my opinion, very incisive, with a very high grip, very progressive, but the surprise comes in the wet they have seemed incredible to me, giving extra security even when driving lightly, not a bad reaction, you can go fast in the wet

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz W212 e400

I change these rear tyres 2 months ago, and tested to drive 3000km. While those front tyres 9 months ago and drive 12000km. And maximum speed I use around 230km/h. And average speed 180 km/h for 9 hours. This is one of the best tyre in my opinion. Sticky on dry road and still good on wet road. For 9 hours, their handling characteristic didn't change. Road feedback very well. A little bit tramlining on bad roads. Comfort surprisingly good. No noise or little noise below 150km/h. Not much rim edge protection from these tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

BMW 123d

These tyres are really impressive, better than Adrenalin RE003 in terms of performance, handling, comfort and price. Dry and wet grip is impressive, never had any oversteer moment. Last a long time, the grove might not be aggressive as some wannabe performance tyres, but they will just work on the dry and wet condition.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Average miles

Mercedes Benz W212 E350CGI

Excellent tyres, for the first 500km was noisy. Now, after 4000km I can say ,the ballance :grip, noise, comfort is brilliant. Wear is acceptable, road feedback very good. Grip limits are very high and predictable. Definitely buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

NC MX5 with upgraded Coilovers - moderate valving, springs 6kg front, 4.5kg rear. Standard sways and unchanged bushings. These are a massive upgrade over typical low-wear OEMs. These and the Bridgestone RE003's are known as the value upgrades in Australia. I bought these as daily drivers after driving the exact same size on a turbo mini and being impressed by the plush grip. And they deliver, with good grip and feel in all conditions. But... I bought used Federal 595 RSRs on spare rims and ran them as a daily for a few months. A little harder in the side wall of course, but now the Michelins feel squirrelly in hard, road corners! I am yet to mess with pressures, going mainly for 38 all round.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

I bought the PS4 to replace the former PS3 and Bridgestone Potenza combo I had before when buying the car. Whilst they perform a lot better grip whise than the tires mentioned above, the sidewall is a bit soft for me. I drive a sporty hatchback and it doesn't give me the same amount of feedback or confidence the PS3 predecessor and Bridgestone potenza's gave me in the dry. That being said, as a daily tire it's great. It's just not a tire I feel overly confident in when doing laps on a race track. (I've bought semi slicks on seperate wheels in meanwhile for track use). I'd recommend them for someone that looks for a grippy tire, that performs as a great allrounder. If you prioritize road feedback and turn in confidence more then just go on your merry way and buy the continental premiumcontact 6 or goodyear eagle F1 assymetric 5.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.