Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
75%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (2)

84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

So i use my tires on my daily mx5 NC, it heavy modified and before covid i used it daily for work. On the weekends nice fast drives and 4 times per year track driving or autocross. What do I think off it? I think its the best tire ever owned. Let me explain why: The dry handling is great, loads of grip and when over the limit very controllable. When sliding or drifting the tires does not kill you all of a sudden. Its always keeps in form no surprises In the wet its a extension of the dry, you can pretty much still race around without any TCS or abs moments because the tires have so much grip understeer only comes when driving crazy speeds and heavy rain is also fine. Since i use them on a MX5 with a weight of 1 ton, aquaplaning is always an option because of the wide tires + low weight. Braking is amazing, and you feel save. Driving on the highway in rain and having to brake hard breaks no sweat. They do wear faster then budget tires, but i drive way faster then other people so getting 15.000 miles+ out of a set that also did circuit driving is pretty good. The price? Yes they are expensive, but it's the only connection to the road and its makes the car so much better. Even tho a set on a MX5 225/45/17 costs between €500/600 i still think its not that expensive if you know what the tires can give you in fun, safety and life. 10/10 would buy again. Are you focused on more track driving? Get the cup2s i have them on the MX5 now for track driving and daily driving, in the winter they can get slippery but above 10 degrees celcius its fine. Also even tho its a semi, it still does good in the rain. Just be alert., and don't drive like a maniac. Cheers!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS265

The tyre comfortable and has an OK level of dry grip. It's is a perfect fit for a fast tourer or a car that mostly drives the highways. However when i took my Megane RS out of the city for a ride i found the tyres very limiting as the temperature was getting higher. I put them on in July and when I was swapping them for winters in November the fronts were already nearly dead. I swapped them with the rear set for the next season, but after a month i my rear axle started drifting badly. So after 10 months I'm buying a new set. Note: The retailer i bought the PS4 from made a mistake as I ordered the PS4S originally, but as tyres were already on the car when I found out i decided to give them a shot. And they proved not to be a good fit for an aggressive driving style.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,400 Spirited miles

Ford fiesta st

Very good summer tire but they have a problem and it's that after mid life they lose many properties. I will probably not buy them again because that and because they are very expensive. I will try the new goodyear supersport.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Audi RS3 8V

This is the second RS3 I’ve owned, and up until now I’ve kept to the stock Pirelli Zeros. The stock tyres were fine, but had a habit of tramlining white lines, which I grew to find annoying. Time for a change! I wanted a summer tyre that performed well in the wet (hey, this is the UK), so after reading lots of reviews, thought I’d give the Sports a go. The bad bits first: they do wear faster, and they do make more road noise, especially on hard surfaces (like the patches of concrete on the motorway). They are also notably squarer and wider than the Pirelli for the same tyre size (I have 255/30 on all four wheels), so if you are running tight clearances on the Pirellis, you’ll likely be rubbing with the Sports. I’d also say that the performance degrades faster in the cold than the Pirellis too. Not a problem for me, as I tend to swap to winters though. So, the good bits: no more tramlining. And the wet performance is much better than the Pirelli: feels very stable in standing water. The grip on hard corners is also better, and I thought the tendency to bump-steer was reduced. The feel between the two tyres is actually pretty different. I’d say, when unloaded (such as in a straight line) in general the Pirelli feels more stable at speed. However, this is more of a “feel” thing, as when I have actually pushed the car hard, the Sports feel like they are more controlled, and the breakaway point is more predictable. Note: try running the Sports at the higher tyre inflation values. For me, the low values just feel vague and floaty, whereas the higher ones feel more precise.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI

Got them for new on my Golf 6 GTI which is a tuned Stage 2 FWD Hothatch. They handle the power amazingly, dry and wet, really surprised with the wet grip. Pilot Sport 4S were not available in the 18s when I got these, but these are amazing in the performance department. Comfort is what you would expect, is fine overall nothing to complain about considering the setup. Wheelspin is very little on ideal conditions, really puts the power down and in the wet as well, they just fly. Wear could be better but considering the spirited driving I've done, is not too bad. Ran them for two season, but sold them These tires are real good for their price point, definitely above the competition in this price range. Keen to try the 4S now as I upgraded to 19s for the summer, but might not happen as I've got them with Hankook Ventus V12 Evo2, 6 tires, so might take a while to go through all of them. Gonna run them and see how they behave.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

Initially I had a shortlist of 3 tyres. Those were pretty much the go-to usual suspects for smaller diameter wheels. They were the PS4's obviously,continental premium contact 6 and Goodyear eagle F1 asymmetric 5. I would have been happy with any to be fair, but what swung it was the price funnily enough, as Michelin seem to always be the most expensive. At the time of buying there was a cash back offer for buying 2 or 4 at a time, I got 4 and had 50 pounds refunded and this took the price to around 35 pounds cheaper than the next tyre. Watching a number of you tube video reviews a couple mentioned the PS4's were ironically the least 'sporty' of the three tyres given its naming, which slightly put me off the Michelin. As a result when the price suprise came about I had to think of a possible way of mitigating this possible issue. Having never had these tyres on before, this was effectively a guess. I decided to go with an XL load rating like I do with my winter tyres, which generally works well. The result is what can best described as a firm ride. I've not played around with tyre pressures as yet, so there what ever the tyre fitter put in, they didn't throw the pressure sensors off, so won't be far off. They generally go for 30psi and they should be 32, so it could get worse! It is really noticeable on motorways and as a result I think the adaptive suspension will never be used while these are on(it ruins the ride quality on the softest tyres without give back much in increased handling). The upside of this possibility is the turn-in they have,the civic has reasonably fast steering and this tyre doesn't detract from that. The grip these have in the dry are fantastic frankly, I can't say too much on the braking side due to the well below par pagid pads that are in at the moment (new OEM Honda's going back in), but what I can throw at them is impressive. Once the brakes are sorted I think these will be really impressive. I can't comment on wet weather performance, but reviews are placing them high up there. If it's at the same level as the dry performance then these will be a special tyre. On the relatively short mileage I've done on these I've already come to a conclusion they will be going back on for sure, only with the standard side wall strength hoping it doesn't affect turn-in too much. Excellent tyre for sure.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Honda S2000

Moderate grip in dry setting and same with wet. There's a lot of understeer because of how soft the sidewalls are which also dull the feeling of the steering and response. For a sport tire this is truly rubbish quality made in Vietnam by a big brand. Wear is OK and comfort is not better. To simply put it, good for the price but not a sport tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Lexus IS350

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C320 cdi

Grip itself is awesome on both dry and wet surfaces. However sidewals are so weak, at higher speeds in the corner you could feel the tire moving and the whole car would "dance". That wasn't the case with my Continental TS860 winter tyres, which were superior when it comes to high speed cornering. I'm comparing it to this tyre because it was the only tyre I drove with that car, beside EcoContact5 which I immediately replaced with Michelin because Eco on rain is like they're made from plastic. It may behave better on lighter cars. Mine was around 1700kg.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 2.8T V6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.