Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
84%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
86%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews (2)

30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Audi TT 2.0 Quattro

I had Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyres prior to purchasing a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and the two don't even compare. I used to be able to throw my car around roundabouts and country roads in both wet and dry weather without a single worry but since I got the Michelin tyres I have had to calm my driving style drastically! I barely dare to overtake now when the roads are dry let alone when they are wet because these tyres just don't grip very well at all and has sent me fishtailing on a few occasions. My fuel consumption has gone down by around 100 miles per full tank with these tyres too which is dreadful considering I've been forced to slow my driving down. I bought the Pilot Sport 4s because of the reviews and a few people recommending them to me (one of which was a fellow TT quattro owner) but I can only say that I've been nothing other than disappointed with these. I will never buy another set of Michelin tyres after the experience I've had with these, thats for certain, and they aren't exactly cheap either! Complete waste of money!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C300

It is great tyre overall .... good on both wet and dry conditions ... great at cornering .... No aquaplaning on wet roads ... slow wearing ..... and comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Honda Jazz

The best tyres ever fitted to my car! Cons: - slightly increased noise after long life, but still much acceptable. - I think it is a soft compound with stiffer frames.. so a more "sporty" but compensated with soft rubber which wears. Look for thicker sidewall if possible. Maybe that's it? Pros.. a lot. Basically tyres that suits how I drive. - Precise driving experience. Endless grip at dry / damp / wet. Incredibly little aquaplaning. I once drove all the way on 500km rainy motorway and it didn't differ with dry up to 140 kph. Don't know if it handles more as my car simply at its max. - Aesthetically pleasing tyres - High confidence booster to attack curvy or winding roads at higher speeds, even at wet with lighter cars like mine. - Feeling of safe everywhere (but not on a pile of nails!) Price is of course higher than some others, hence I did not mention if it is pros or cons. the only thing is: you get (some more) what you pay for with Michelin PS4.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Audi S3

These are the 1st premium summer tyres I've run on my S3, so I haven't really got much to compare them to on that car. However on my mapped Yeti 170tdi 4x4 I've run factory fit Dunlop SP01 (OK) Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance (never again) then Continental Sportcontact 5s which were great & PremiumContact 6 which are absolutely ace tyres on that car. So for the S3 I didn't know whether to go PS4 or PC6, but after forum research & also because the PS4 are a newer design I went with the Michelin. Great wet grip & dry grip but having now refitted my winter Vredestein Wintrac Pros on the S3 what surprised me was the ride quality, quietness & steering feel are all slightly improved on the Wintrac Pros over the PS4, but I didn't notice the reverse when the PS4 went on new. So whether that's slight performance degrading already on the PS4 despite hardly any wear I'm not sure, I certainly wasn't expecting that. Dynamically they're good but subjectively only OK & I just put that down to the S3's general inertness, but the Wintrac Pros are definitely subjectively better than the PS4. Maybe I should have fitted the PremiumContact 6 instead.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Jaguar S Type 2.7D

Nice tyre no problems with grip or handling on my Jaguar S type but not long lasting for me on the rear. Worn out rears in under 7000 miles so not happy. Fronts with plenty wear left but I may only see 10,000 from them. Only fitted them at the end of May 2020 and cost me £125.00 a corner.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

MINI Cooper S

By a long way, the best road tyre that I've ever used. Just give so much confidence in all conditions, and brilliant in the wet. Not sure I'd buy any other road tyre. They replaced some excellent Falkens, but a different level. Cost a fair bit, but well worth the money (especially when Michelin do the odd offer). Tyre wear has been excellent so far, no concerns here.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 101 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

The tyres worked fine till peak summer period. As soon as the temps dropped below 30'C/85'F, the grip was piss poor. I read numerous reviews before buying and spent a fortune to acquire these. Horrible grip in winters. We don't see rains/snow in winters here so my review is based on the performance of these tyres on dry winter roads. My tiny 1.5L honda civic turbo spins like crazy from 20km/hr to 150km/hr.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 8 Spirited miles

Volkswagen EOS

The EOS is a powerful FWD and unfairly i was asking too much of the Kumhos which spun in the wet every time. I needed more grip in the Australian summer down pours. So all arrows where pointing to PS4. Now i can't spin the front end even if i tried!!! The grip in wet and dry is Phenomenal for this mid size very light sports car.They are quiet and very comfortable. Just a little understeer in a loverly long turn under a bridge but never feels out of control.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen T Roc

After a lot of (late night) research, I finally chose to replace the OEM Bridgestone Potenza S001 on my almost new car, after only 11,000 Kms ( 7,300 miles.) For me, as a regular daily driver, the Bridgestones were simply too hard, and performance orientated. And, with a profile ratio of 40, impossibly noisy. The Michelins are simply far more compatible with this medium powered car (only 190 bhp,) which is simply not a Sports car, yet VW seem to be fitting anything that they can get their hands on with a 93Y rating - except Michelins. Nevertheless the Michelins are very sporting, especially if you pump them up to beyond the normal VW stated pressures. It is hard to imagine how you could realistically exploit the limits of these Michelins in a 4 wheel-drive T-Roc on the road in the dry. As far as comfort is concerned, they are streets ahead of the Bridgestones, at the same pressure. Disappointingly the PS4’s are only a bit quieter, but we are talking about tyres with an aspect ratio of 40 on a small car. Always specify smaller wheels! It’s too early to predict how long they will last, especially with my moderate driving style. Price wise, here in Spain, they are no more expensive than their immediate competitors, not least of all due to local Michelin manufacturing plants. These are probably the best tyres for my car right now, even if it had a lot more power.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.