Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
79%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Renault Megane RS265

Best all-rounder (at its price point), or especially if you can get a good deal on them, wherever you may reside. 100% no regrets. Could use a stiffer side wall, then it will be absolutely perfect. but the PS4S exists for that, but it cost quite abit more, perhaps, too much for the slight gain, so we are back to: PS4 as the best all-rounder, by-default tyre to go for. There are quieter tyres out there but it probably would not provide as good a combination of both Wet and Dry grip. Have also tried made in Europe and Asia version of this Tyre. The Asian (Thailand for my case) one gets heated/soften more easily. other than that not much difference. I thought it might wear faster as a result, but it lasted just as long as the last Eastern Europe PS4 I had too.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio RS200

Great tyre for allround daily driving. I´ve used them on dry track, where I they tend to overheat easily if you´re pushing hard, but they´re a great allround package. On the wet, they´re fantastic, very predictable and an with an impressive amount of grip. If you don´t want to go into much hassle, these tyres will be perfect for an allround use.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI

I’ve had these tires for 2 years+. From what I can see dry grip is great and you can sense what the car will do and what the tires are doing in the wet the feel of the car goes down a bit but it is still good enough. Comfort is not the best especially in town but outside on motorways it gets much better without too much sound bumps is probably the thing that make it uncomfortable. With the miles I’ve covered I think they hold up good enough.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
26%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A250 AMG Sport

Thx but never again, goodyear asymetric is miles ahead.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

BMW 120d

Too much understeer, doesnt like high temperature in track.you dont have a lot of information from steering when turning fast

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

So i use my tires on my daily mx5 NC, it heavy modified and before covid i used it daily for work. On the weekends nice fast drives and 4 times per year track driving or autocross. What do I think off it? I think its the best tire ever owned. Let me explain why: The dry handling is great, loads of grip and when over the limit very controllable. When sliding or drifting the tires does not kill you all of a sudden. Its always keeps in form no surprises In the wet its a extension of the dry, you can pretty much still race around without any TCS or abs moments because the tires have so much grip understeer only comes when driving crazy speeds and heavy rain is also fine. Since i use them on a MX5 with a weight of 1 ton, aquaplaning is always an option because of the wide tires + low weight. Braking is amazing, and you feel save. Driving on the highway in rain and having to brake hard breaks no sweat. They do wear faster then budget tires, but i drive way faster then other people so getting 15.000 miles+ out of a set that also did circuit driving is pretty good. The price? Yes they are expensive, but it's the only connection to the road and its makes the car so much better. Even tho a set on a MX5 225/45/17 costs between €500/600 i still think its not that expensive if you know what the tires can give you in fun, safety and life. 10/10 would buy again. Are you focused on more track driving? Get the cup2s i have them on the MX5 now for track driving and daily driving, in the winter they can get slippery but above 10 degrees celcius its fine. Also even tho its a semi, it still does good in the rain. Just be alert., and don't drive like a maniac. Cheers!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS265

The tyre comfortable and has an OK level of dry grip. It's is a perfect fit for a fast tourer or a car that mostly drives the highways. However when i took my Megane RS out of the city for a ride i found the tyres very limiting as the temperature was getting higher. I put them on in July and when I was swapping them for winters in November the fronts were already nearly dead. I swapped them with the rear set for the next season, but after a month i my rear axle started drifting badly. So after 10 months I'm buying a new set. Note: The retailer i bought the PS4 from made a mistake as I ordered the PS4S originally, but as tyres were already on the car when I found out i decided to give them a shot. And they proved not to be a good fit for an aggressive driving style.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,400 Spirited miles

Ford fiesta st

Very good summer tire but they have a problem and it's that after mid life they lose many properties. I will probably not buy them again because that and because they are very expensive. I will try the new goodyear supersport.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Audi RS3 8V

This is the second RS3 I’ve owned, and up until now I’ve kept to the stock Pirelli Zeros. The stock tyres were fine, but had a habit of tramlining white lines, which I grew to find annoying. Time for a change! I wanted a summer tyre that performed well in the wet (hey, this is the UK), so after reading lots of reviews, thought I’d give the Sports a go. The bad bits first: they do wear faster, and they do make more road noise, especially on hard surfaces (like the patches of concrete on the motorway). They are also notably squarer and wider than the Pirelli for the same tyre size (I have 255/30 on all four wheels), so if you are running tight clearances on the Pirellis, you’ll likely be rubbing with the Sports. I’d also say that the performance degrades faster in the cold than the Pirellis too. Not a problem for me, as I tend to swap to winters though. So, the good bits: no more tramlining. And the wet performance is much better than the Pirelli: feels very stable in standing water. The grip on hard corners is also better, and I thought the tendency to bump-steer was reduced. The feel between the two tyres is actually pretty different. I’d say, when unloaded (such as in a straight line) in general the Pirelli feels more stable at speed. However, this is more of a “feel” thing, as when I have actually pushed the car hard, the Sports feel like they are more controlled, and the breakaway point is more predictable. Note: try running the Sports at the higher tyre inflation values. For me, the low values just feel vague and floaty, whereas the higher ones feel more precise.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI

Got them for new on my Golf 6 GTI which is a tuned Stage 2 FWD Hothatch. They handle the power amazingly, dry and wet, really surprised with the wet grip. Pilot Sport 4S were not available in the 18s when I got these, but these are amazing in the performance department. Comfort is what you would expect, is fine overall nothing to complain about considering the setup. Wheelspin is very little on ideal conditions, really puts the power down and in the wet as well, they just fly. Wear could be better but considering the spirited driving I've done, is not too bad. Ran them for two season, but sold them These tires are real good for their price point, definitely above the competition in this price range. Keen to try the 4S now as I upgraded to 19s for the summer, but might not happen as I've got them with Hankook Ventus V12 Evo2, 6 tires, so might take a while to go through all of them. Gonna run them and see how they behave.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.