Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
75%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,500 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

This is a follow up review as I've now put some miles on this set. My initial opinion on dry grip remains the same, very impressive. The one slight downside I've found is this tyre doesn't give a great impression on initial turn in, it hard to pin down, but it just doesn't feel sporty for want of a better word. Once the first input has been put in it's clear there's lots of grip to be had. I opted for an XL rating to take any potential floating feeling out of the tyre (relatively soft side wall/construction had been mentioned in reviews) and these tyres certainly don't suffer from that sensation you can get with say cheaper winter tyres or my experience with Uniroyal rainsports. The downside is the really harsh ride quality (I mentioned in my previous review about it effectively ruling out using the adaptive suspension) Performance in the wet is equally excellent, depending on the amount of water there is. ESP kicks in far less than the OEM primacy 3 the car came with and the axel tramp this car can suffer with is also greatly reduced. Where this tyre does fall down to a degree is clearing standing water. If you catch a puddle with even a slight amount of lock on the car will lift and step out quite rapidly. Straight line wet aquaplaning is less of an issue, but still not the best(the Rainsport has this covered). As far as wear goes I've done 4.5k miles and the fronts have lost between 1.5 to 2mm, rears have minimal wear as you would expect on a front wheel drive car. My overall opinion of the PS4 is it's a great tyre that just needs some sportiness dialed into it to make it come alive a bit more when pushing on.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

After driving for a full year, I need to say that it is the best overall tyre I have ever tried. The grip is unparalleled and unique. The comfort is well above average and the feeling of absloute safety in dry and wet conditions is what makes the big difference. I hope they last. I will definitely buy them again regardless of the price. They cost me almost 120€ more than my second option but for 4 years it is about 30€ more per year. So safety first.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Holden Clubsport R8 (2001)

i have owened a vxr8- holden commadore ve for 10 years. always put on top range tyres. i haveonabboonable /m never experianced such wet traction and also dry tractio with these michelin tyers. now with mods at 450hp this caar is behaving like a proper vehicle.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Average miles

Fiat Abarth Grande Punto

Amazing performance/grip in a car with 400NM and 270HP with no TCS

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Average miles

Volvo XC90 T8 Inscription

The car came originally fitted with Michelin Latitude Sport 3, Tried Continental PremiumContact 6 & SportContct 5 & Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance SUV, totaled over 90,000 kilometers. Comfort/ride quality wise, These Pilot Sport 4 tires are the most comfortable under the same tire pressure/road condition, possibly due to softest sidewall among all the models. PC6s are a bit firmer, Goodyear feels a bit "bouncy", LS3s and CSC5s are total disaster. Noise wise, Goodyears are the most quiet and low pitch, PS4s and LS3s is a bit louder, CSC5s and PC6s are very noisy and higher pitch. Wet grip and dry grip among all of them are sufficient for everyday use, Goodyear do provide lower dry grip when driven hard, but with this 2.3ton SUV, I'd say it's not that noticeable. Handling wise, softer tires do lean a bit more, and feel a bit sluggish turning in to corners, but in my case it's absolutely worth it for the comfort, and I'm usually running lower pressure at 34psi rather than the recommended 38psi. Wear wise, most of them worn out between 25,000~30,000km, CSC5 and Goodyears were changed before they worn out due to complicated reasons. Might do an end of life review about these PS4s to share how they ages and the wear situation, I'll be pretty satisfied if they last over 25,000km due to softer compound, sightly low tire pressure and heavy weight of the car.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Renault Megane RS265

Best all-rounder (at its price point), or especially if you can get a good deal on them, wherever you may reside. 100% no regrets. Could use a stiffer side wall, then it will be absolutely perfect. but the PS4S exists for that, but it cost quite abit more, perhaps, too much for the slight gain, so we are back to: PS4 as the best all-rounder, by-default tyre to go for. There are quieter tyres out there but it probably would not provide as good a combination of both Wet and Dry grip. Have also tried made in Europe and Asia version of this Tyre. The Asian (Thailand for my case) one gets heated/soften more easily. other than that not much difference. I thought it might wear faster as a result, but it lasted just as long as the last Eastern Europe PS4 I had too.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio RS200

Great tyre for allround daily driving. I´ve used them on dry track, where I they tend to overheat easily if you´re pushing hard, but they´re a great allround package. On the wet, they´re fantastic, very predictable and an with an impressive amount of grip. If you don´t want to go into much hassle, these tyres will be perfect for an allround use.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI

I’ve had these tires for 2 years+. From what I can see dry grip is great and you can sense what the car will do and what the tires are doing in the wet the feel of the car goes down a bit but it is still good enough. Comfort is not the best especially in town but outside on motorways it gets much better without too much sound bumps is probably the thing that make it uncomfortable. With the miles I’ve covered I think they hold up good enough.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
26%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A250 AMG Sport

Thx but never again, goodyear asymetric is miles ahead.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

BMW 120d

Too much understeer, doesnt like high temperature in track.you dont have a lot of information from steering when turning fast

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.