Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
83%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
75%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
79%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen e Golf

My comments are for the ZR (XL) version, used on my 2018 e-golf. These are the first set of replacement tyres I've bought and a huge step up from the energy saver original tyres. The benefits have been huge, and the icing on the cake is the efficiency has not dropped on the "C' rated PS4. The lateral G on roundabouts feels very high and compatible to track day tyres on previous cars. Its still possible to break traction on damp roads with electric car power delivery, but in general the tyre limits are above what I'm going to get upto on the public road. can't comment on wear yet, but noise & comfort are what i expect from Michelin.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H 1.7 CDTI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus

I write this review with mixed feelings, maybe all the prizes got me a little too hypped. Fact is, I've driven this tyres for 10 thousand KM including some good 50 track day laps and now it's time to say goodbye (they are gone despite my belief that they shouId've lasted longer). I've never felt so confident whenever breaking or also when driving on wet roads, you just knew whatever was going on the road, but this amount of feedback would naturally lead to a caveat... feeling each and every pothole (and, believe me, there are plenty of them in Sao Paulo) makes cruising around boring and painful. The most disappointing thing about it was the grip. Don't get me wrong, It had plenty but, I expected much more from them and up until now I still can't believe in the amount of wheeI spin that a 115 hp car could get on these tyres without that much effort. Good tyres, but now I'm testing something else.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

MINI Cooper S

The tyre is a bit weird. The car might have good handling but it feels like there is no connection between the driver and the road. Its just like neutral…

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 17,400 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 GH 2.5

After 2 seasons and 28000km it is not UHP tyre. Around 10000km wet grip decreased to 70%, around 20000km dry grip decreased to about 70% and soften sidewalls. They are at the end of life altough my car is not sportscar - Mazda 6 GH 2.5 (2007). I will not buy this expensive tyres again and will look for some Goodyear - apparently Assymetric 5 or Supersport.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Hyundai i30

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW 135i

These tyres wear quickly if you are constantly pulling, 6 months and I am at 2mm. I may go back to PSSs as they seem to be more hard wearing.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-18-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Honda FRV

These are by far the best tyres I’ve ever used. For years I have used mid range energy saving tyres from the likes of Dunlop and Goodyear but became frustrated with loosing traction in even slightly damp conditions pulling out of junctions and onto roundabouts etc. Even under light/medium throttle the front wheels would spin up. It’s just a 2.2 diesel but quite torquey. With the PS4 fitted it has transformed the car, over the past 18 months since I had these I have never lost traction the same way as before. I’ve noticed no change to fuel economy either despite these being rated lower. I’m about 10000 miles into these now, the rears still look new with the fronts still looking like they’re good for at least another 10K. They inspire more confidence in handling rain or shine and I’d never go back to using other mid range tyres again. Don’t think if you drive an average car like mine then it’s not worth it . All cars, performance or not can benefit greatly from these tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,500 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

This is a follow up review as I've now put some miles on this set. My initial opinion on dry grip remains the same, very impressive. The one slight downside I've found is this tyre doesn't give a great impression on initial turn in, it hard to pin down, but it just doesn't feel sporty for want of a better word. Once the first input has been put in it's clear there's lots of grip to be had. I opted for an XL rating to take any potential floating feeling out of the tyre (relatively soft side wall/construction had been mentioned in reviews) and these tyres certainly don't suffer from that sensation you can get with say cheaper winter tyres or my experience with Uniroyal rainsports. The downside is the really harsh ride quality (I mentioned in my previous review about it effectively ruling out using the adaptive suspension) Performance in the wet is equally excellent, depending on the amount of water there is. ESP kicks in far less than the OEM primacy 3 the car came with and the axel tramp this car can suffer with is also greatly reduced. Where this tyre does fall down to a degree is clearing standing water. If you catch a puddle with even a slight amount of lock on the car will lift and step out quite rapidly. Straight line wet aquaplaning is less of an issue, but still not the best(the Rainsport has this covered). As far as wear goes I've done 4.5k miles and the fronts have lost between 1.5 to 2mm, rears have minimal wear as you would expect on a front wheel drive car. My overall opinion of the PS4 is it's a great tyre that just needs some sportiness dialed into it to make it come alive a bit more when pushing on.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

After driving for a full year, I need to say that it is the best overall tyre I have ever tried. The grip is unparalleled and unique. The comfort is well above average and the feeling of absloute safety in dry and wet conditions is what makes the big difference. I hope they last. I will definitely buy them again regardless of the price. They cost me almost 120€ more than my second option but for 4 years it is about 30€ more per year. So safety first.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.