Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4
84%[average]
Dry Grip
92%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
86%
Wear
76%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI

Got them for new on my Golf 6 GTI which is a tuned Stage 2 FWD Hothatch. They handle the power amazingly, dry and wet, really surprised with the wet grip. Pilot Sport 4S were not available in the 18s when I got these, but these are amazing in the performance department. Comfort is what you would expect, is fine overall nothing to complain about considering the setup. Wheelspin is very little on ideal conditions, really puts the power down and in the wet as well, they just fly. Wear could be better but considering the spirited driving I've done, is not too bad. Ran them for two season, but sold them These tires are real good for their price point, definitely above the competition in this price range. Keen to try the 4S now as I upgraded to 19s for the summer, but might not happen as I've got them with Hankook Ventus V12 Evo2, 6 tires, so might take a while to go through all of them. Gonna run them and see how they behave.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

Initially I had a shortlist of 3 tyres. Those were pretty much the go-to usual suspects for smaller diameter wheels. They were the PS4's obviously,continental premium contact 6 and Goodyear eagle F1 asymmetric 5. I would have been happy with any to be fair, but what swung it was the price funnily enough, as Michelin seem to always be the most expensive. At the time of buying there was a cash back offer for buying 2 or 4 at a time, I got 4 and had 50 pounds refunded and this took the price to around 35 pounds cheaper than the next tyre. Watching a number of you tube video reviews a couple mentioned the PS4's were ironically the least 'sporty' of the three tyres given its naming, which slightly put me off the Michelin. As a result when the price suprise came about I had to think of a possible way of mitigating this possible issue. Having never had these tyres on before, this was effectively a guess. I decided to go with an XL load rating like I do with my winter tyres, which generally works well. The result is what can best described as a firm ride. I've not played around with tyre pressures as yet, so there what ever the tyre fitter put in, they didn't throw the pressure sensors off, so won't be far off. They generally go for 30psi and they should be 32, so it could get worse! It is really noticeable on motorways and as a result I think the adaptive suspension will never be used while these are on(it ruins the ride quality on the softest tyres without give back much in increased handling). The upside of this possibility is the turn-in they have,the civic has reasonably fast steering and this tyre doesn't detract from that. The grip these have in the dry are fantastic frankly, I can't say too much on the braking side due to the well below par pagid pads that are in at the moment (new OEM Honda's going back in), but what I can throw at them is impressive. Once the brakes are sorted I think these will be really impressive. I can't comment on wet weather performance, but reviews are placing them high up there. If it's at the same level as the dry performance then these will be a special tyre. On the relatively short mileage I've done on these I've already come to a conclusion they will be going back on for sure, only with the standard side wall strength hoping it doesn't affect turn-in too much. Excellent tyre for sure.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Honda S2000

Moderate grip in dry setting and same with wet. There's a lot of understeer because of how soft the sidewalls are which also dull the feeling of the steering and response. For a sport tire this is truly rubbish quality made in Vietnam by a big brand. Wear is OK and comfort is not better. To simply put it, good for the price but not a sport tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Lexus IS350

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C320 cdi

Grip itself is awesome on both dry and wet surfaces. However sidewals are so weak, at higher speeds in the corner you could feel the tire moving and the whole car would "dance". That wasn't the case with my Continental TS860 winter tyres, which were superior when it comes to high speed cornering. I'm comparing it to this tyre because it was the only tyre I drove with that car, beside EcoContact5 which I immediately replaced with Michelin because Eco on rain is like they're made from plastic. It may behave better on lighter cars. Mine was around 1700kg.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 2.8T V6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volkswagen polo gti 1.8t

The PilotSport 4 tyres on my Stage 2 Polo GTI 1.8T are amazing. Just so you get an understanding this is a car that weighs 1234kg-ish but has 260bhp and 452nm of torque, The wheelspin is ridiculous... These tyres are a massive saviour, I tested a few different tyres and even though these may not last aslong as most average tyres since they do wear out slightly faster than your average bridgestones they definitely perform above and beyond your expectations, The small 215 width was not enough for the car but once its moving those pilotsports keep you on track and keep your car going exactly where you point it. Understeering was rare even if slightly speeding on roundabouts. So far nothing can compete with these tyres in my opinion, They lasted about 8000 miles (Unsure of the exact mileage when they was fitted) and then needed replacing

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Audi TT 2.0 Quattro

I had Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyres prior to purchasing a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and the two don't even compare. I used to be able to throw my car around roundabouts and country roads in both wet and dry weather without a single worry but since I got the Michelin tyres I have had to calm my driving style drastically! I barely dare to overtake now when the roads are dry let alone when they are wet because these tyres just don't grip very well at all and has sent me fishtailing on a few occasions. My fuel consumption has gone down by around 100 miles per full tank with these tyres too which is dreadful considering I've been forced to slow my driving down. I bought the Pilot Sport 4s because of the reviews and a few people recommending them to me (one of which was a fellow TT quattro owner) but I can only say that I've been nothing other than disappointed with these. I will never buy another set of Michelin tyres after the experience I've had with these, thats for certain, and they aren't exactly cheap either! Complete waste of money!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C300

It is great tyre overall .... good on both wet and dry conditions ... great at cornering .... No aquaplaning on wet roads ... slow wearing ..... and comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Honda Jazz

The best tyres ever fitted to my car! Cons: - slightly increased noise after long life, but still much acceptable. - I think it is a soft compound with stiffer frames.. so a more "sporty" but compensated with soft rubber which wears. Look for thicker sidewall if possible. Maybe that's it? Pros.. a lot. Basically tyres that suits how I drive. - Precise driving experience. Endless grip at dry / damp / wet. Incredibly little aquaplaning. I once drove all the way on 500km rainy motorway and it didn't differ with dry up to 140 kph. Don't know if it handles more as my car simply at its max. - Aesthetically pleasing tyres - High confidence booster to attack curvy or winding roads at higher speeds, even at wet with lighter cars like mine. - Feeling of safe everywhere (but not on a pile of nails!) Price is of course higher than some others, hence I did not mention if it is pros or cons. the only thing is: you get (some more) what you pay for with Michelin PS4.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.