Continental Sport Contact 6

The Continental Sport Contact 6 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 6
82%[average]
Dry Grip
93%
Wet Grip
92%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
59%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
72%

Continental Sport Contact 6 Reviews (3)

84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Fiat Punto 1.9 JTD

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16

I have been using the sc6 from the sc5 sp.
The main thing i noticed from the sc6 is that it has a more balanced feel from the steering wheel compared to the sc5.
The sc5 tends to lock the steering at 10 and 2 o'clock; the sc6 turns in any direction without the added weight.
Noise is noticeably lower too from the sc5.
The main reason that is holding me back from purchasing the sc6 again is the immature tyre wear.
I have had the tyres for about 8 months now and it's almost kaput.
Nonetheless, it's a great tyre for daily driving, comfortably or when that extra precision is needed when the roads opens up.
Cheers..

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,747 Spirited miles

BMW E46 M3

These were fitted on my rears, I also have the same tyres on the front, but at size 235/35/19Y.

I changed to these from Pilot Supersports that the car came with. Really impressive grip regardless of tread depth or weather conditions.

Notably, the grip in the wet is leagues ahead of the MPSS, and quickly launching off the line at a junction to join a gap no longer resulted in DSC anchoring in on the power delivery.

The wear rate may be better than the CSC5, but they're still nowhere near Michelin levels of wear. The CSC6 is a softer tyre after all. I have to say the wear pattern is very nice and gradual. Overall a great tyre at a great price.

Handling is simply outstanding, especially sharp turn in during wet weather. At the wear markers on the front, the sharpness of the front end never let go.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-30-19-W
65%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 932 Average miles

BMW 520d Tourer

I have used these tires for 1500 km (932 miles?), and I gives it the highest score except in one - Comfort. As more warm the tire becomes, as more noisy it is. Over approx 135 km/h it seems much noisy when the tire-surface become warm. First I thought it were me and my "head" :-) but I talked til Conti, which confirmed what I hear inside the car. I'm not sure I will buy the tire again, but the problem is, that there is nog tire in 2045-40-19 from the Premium Contact 6 which I would have bought. I bought the Sport Contact 6 instead.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 150 Spirited miles

Jaguar F Type

I took a set of Pirelli Zero's off to fit these. The Pirellis were just about as bad as it gets in both the wet and dry.

The Continental Sport 6 have now been on for 2 days and today is the first dry day.

In the wet these tyres are stunning. Feedback is perfect, grip is better than the Pirelli's were in the dry. Where the Pirelli's lacked stability the Sport 6 is rock steady on all surfaces with lots of feedback.

The real revelation was today though. First dry day and a chance to see just how good these tyres are. Grip is astonishing and even when they do start to let go they still give you enough feedback to keep feeding the throttle in.

Comfort is on a par with the Pirelli's but the F Type is firm anyway.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG

I replaced the Sport Contact 5P on my C63 which were close to the wear indicators resulting in wheel spin at the lights and even when changing gears. Had high hopes with new tyres opting for the Sport Contact 6 for all round performance, comfort and mainly wet grip using tyre tests as a guide. After 500 miles or so my opinion is that the grip has given me more confidence although switching from wearing tyres one should expect that anyway, but definitely good levels of grip. With so much torque in the car its hard to judge on wet grip but still more confident and braking is good. Another important factor for me was the comfort and these did feel more comfortable although I could have wished for less road noise from the tyres. Then there is the question of wear that so many reviewers have cited. Although after only a few miles I cannot comment on this apart from the fact it LOOKS like it will wear fast as there seems to be less depth to the tread than say a Goodyear tyre (I have purchased Goodyear Eagle F1AS2 for four cars). Am sure Continental mentioned there is less tread depth also but cannot confirm at this point. Overall a good tyre for fast cars.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-30-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

Honda Civic Type R

Great tyre for driving and handling with supreme confidence in it but... oh boy the wear !!!
I don't drive or brake like a racer but at less than 6000 miles all 4 need replacing as tread just about legal !

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Easy Going miles

BMW 330 Ci Sport

They tyres give superb performance in wet and dry, however there is a trade off. They have won out in less than 6000miles or gentle driving which makes them very poor value. Back to Assymetric 3's for me, as they grip nearly as well but wear much better. (Managed 20,000 miles on a set of those with rotation)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW E92 M3 V8

Best tyre I've ever used. Quiet and comfortable but still good sporty handling.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,500 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E250 CDI

Having put a new set of Continental sport 6 tyres on my Mercedes Cabriolet E250 I was pleased with the handling especially in the wet. After 6500 miles the rears need replacing. This is an absolute joke!
At £200 a tyre I will not be buying Continental again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.