Continental Sport Contact 6

The Continental Sport Contact 6 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 6
78%[average]
Dry Grip
92%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
86%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
54%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
66%

Continental Sport Contact 6 Reviews

80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)

The SC6 came stock on my 2016 Leon ST Cupra and I was very pleased by its performance. Especially the wet grip was fabulous. Dry grip is fine as well but not as good as for example Michelin PS2 which I had on the car before. After 2 Laps on the Nordschleife the grip got noticeably weaker. The Conti shines with overall performance and comfort which is very quiet and subtle. Many people say the SC6 wears down very quick but I can't second that, they did 2 seasons of summer just like every other tire I had before and after.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG

Very comfortable - Poor performance Before using the tyres, I was told Continental Sport Contact 6's are not premium tyres, I now agree with the statement. The tyres dry grip was sufficient, progressive and there was sufficient road feedback to communicate when the tyre was at the limit. However compared to a PS4, PS4s, Potenza S007, there is less grip and much less feedback. The tyre sidewall feels overly soft and the tyre moves around too much under load. The treadblock feels very soft and wobbly compared to a PS4 or even a Dunlop SportMaxx RT2, this makes it hard to precisely place the car on track or spirited driving. The tyre is very comfortable and quiet for a 'sport' tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-19-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

This is my 2nd set of Continental CSC6. Totally love the amount of grip these tyres provide and Honda OE these tyres for a good reason on the FK8R. The steering feels so precise and spot on during dry. However, these tyres lasted way shorter than any other tyres that I've ever used.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-30-20-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R

Fantastic tyre in the dry, yet to find the limit In corners and gives strong confident braking. Okay in the summer wet >7c but understeers and slides in winter wet

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST250

First experience with the Contis, switching from the Nankang NS-2 which I though where a really good fit for my Focus ST250. Having moved from the Nankangs to the Contis, I am extremely impressed by the dry grip so far. Same roads I usually push my car saw the Contis lose grip later or at all. Can't talk about wet grip and neither can I say anything about the wear, have had them for about 5-6000 KM so far and can't really say the wear is that bad. We'll see though, as they have rather poor wear rating which I'm fine with if it means mega levels of grip. Feedback is very good, better than the Nankangs I'd say, but all of this might also be due to the fact that they're brand new and being compared to mid life rubber. Comfort is ax expected, I drive on 235/40/r18 and they perform as expected, can't fault them. On par with the Nankangs, I'd say, though I don't look at comfort all that much as I drive on generally good roads. I shoould also say the Nankangs were used with dodgy shock absorbers which caused massive uneven wear on the tyre width, not length(not related to geometry). Contis have been on the car at the same time with new shocks and all 4 corners geometry, so there's that, and are nitrous filled instead of air. Buy again? If they're good for 2 summers they are a definite buy again tyre. I do around 20K km/summer.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

Audi Q5

Dry grip is great, comparable with Michelin LS3 SUV. Wet is so so tho, had ABS on and aquaplane at 60km turning right when it was a month old , never happened on F1A3 SUV doing the same turn, nor LS3. Wear on this is horrendous , much worse than the above 2 sets I had. Its quieter than the other 2, which was the initial reason of purchase, but the wear is so bad its just not worth it.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-20-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,400 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

To date, this is the only tire I have had on my Civic Type R, so I don't have a good way to compare it to others. The dry grip is outstanding, though, and you can push the tire into corners, and braking without any hesitation. For acceleration, they are fine, but the FWD platform would limit any car, so it's not the tire's fault. The wet grip is down quite a bit vs. dry grip, which is to be expected, but I don't drive the same way when it is cold and wet. Comfort is quite good, and tire noise is acceptable for the limited sound deadening found in my car. If the tires were free, I would never feel the need to switch, but I had to rotate the tires at 4200 miles, as I would likely have barely made it to 6K on the front tires. I do live on a big hill with some nice turns, which makes all of my tires last a bit less than for the average person.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8 Easy Going miles

BMW 640d

The major issue with these tyres is wear. I am not driving very fast, I ve done almost 12.000km and tyres need to be changed.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-30-20-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 330d M Sport

In the dry these tyres have huge levels of grip. The front end in particular had levels of turn in and a lot less under steer than on previous tyres. Traction is good but for me the front end dynamics were excellent. The grip and steering really were transformed. Braking is very good. However. In the wet, rather disappointing. They really have struggled with traction and getting the power down far worse than I was expecting. Braking is still good, however handling wise it isn’t confidence inspiring considering the relatively poor traction. The back end is quite snappy, traction appears to go quite suddenly. In fact they feel the same in this regard to much cheaper tyres, I wouldn’t know the difference which was a let down considering the dry grip. I’m not expecting much as temperatures cool as we go into autumn. Wear, I do drive hard but the front edges are already starting to scrub and that’s only around 3k miles in. I’m expecting poor wear as others have experienced. To summarise, warm dry grip is excellent, steering response, handling, brilliant. Wet weather, not particularly confidence inspiring and poorer than was expected considering the dry performance.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,500 Average miles

Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16

7,500 miles and need to be replaced. I drive fairly conservatively-a GLC AMG 63. I will get different tires for sure.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.