Dunlop Winter Sport 5

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop Winter Sport 5
83%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
86%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
82%

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews (3)

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 700 Spirited miles

Volvo XC70 D5

The quality of this tyre (load factor 101) matches that the Conti Winter Contact TS830 P. Driven on Volvo XC70 D5 AWD manual, on A54 (Congleton-Buxton, on ice), A537 and A53 (sludge, wet snow) and A57 Snake Pass (1 1/2" dry snow). I could do 45 mph w/o any slipping and sliding. Road noise is limited. Fuel economy good.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-V
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Easy Going miles

BMW 325d M Sport

I bought these tires for my BMW e90, I did not had the chance to drive in snow with them but on dry and wet roads they have good grip. The problem is I need to keep them overinflated otherwise the steering response is mushy and too soft . For this reason the comfort is reduced. It seems they hold well and probably will last 30 000 km.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 100 Spirited miles

BMW 330xi

I fitted 4 tyres on my car 2 days ago and I'm very impressed! The temperature now in Varna, Bulgaria is between -5 and 0 deg. C and I have lots of grip in any condition - Dry, Wet, Snow, even on ice they stopped the car in 2-3 TIMES shorter distance comparing the Lassa Snoways Era, that I hade till now. I can't compare them with other UHP tyres, as I have no experiense with the present models of any other top-brand, but I'm absolutely happy with the choise I made! I strongly recommend them to anybody driving spirited in any conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Spirited miles

Audi 1.8T Quattro

I bought these as the successor to Dunlop WinterSport4 which I had been very happy with before, especially with wet grip and good feel in wet/poor conditions. Living and driving around Scotland I use the WinterSport as an all-season tyre. The 5's have improved in all areas and especially in dry handling which was a slight letdown with the 4's. Performance now tails off above around 12 degrees ambient, compared to around 7 degrees with the 4's. At high speed in summer the tyres can get a little 'floaty', but for me this is an acceptable compromise to the excellent grip in cold wet conditions. Sidewalls also seem stronger as the 4's were prone to nicks. Wear is similar if not a little better; got around 22/23K from the 4's when on all year and around 24K for the 5's. All in all a great winter tyre with acceptable all-year round performance for those of us in more Northern areas.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen MkVI Golf GT TDi

Not a bad tyre, but i am a little dissapointed with them, becouse sidewalls are just too soft when temperature outside gets above 5 degrese celsius, and the ride becomes unstable in corners, car is allover the place... This is only minus i found after 25.000km with this tyres, but its big enough minus that i wont buy them again. They will last over 50.000km i think.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 335i

Great tyre. Last winter had dunlop winter sport 4d, and these are even better.
Very good winter tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

SEAT Toledo

The grip these tyres have on ice is really astonishing. I did not expect that, switching from old Michelin Alpin that I used in previous winters. The first snow test I had with them was on a 80 km mountain course, with slopes and tight turns, on a 5 to 10 cm layer of snow. I never had the impression that I am about to get stuck or loose control. They felt excellent in both snow and slush. They are less noisier than the old ones, making not much of a difference from summer tyres. I'll stick with Dunlop from now on without any fear. I don't expect them to last more than 50000 km, but they seem firmer than the summer BluResponse which wore down to almost half from spring to winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H
75%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf

Driven 2k miles , most of this in dry. But now here are rainy and snowy days, and for now this tyres are great. And when the temperature goes down the tyre gets better and better .

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Jaguar X Type Estate 2.0D

Recently bought these to replace some worn out Falken Eurowinter 439, these were ok, but felt more like an all season than a winter tyre.

So first impressions of the Dunlops, I did a few hundred gentle miles to get them scrubbed in so they are now ready for action. It's only just started getting cold and they are noticeably getting better the colder it gets (like all winter tyres)

The warmish October and November haven't given me any concerns, they work just fine. Only done about 2000 miles so far so no discernible wear.

They are fairly noisy (the Falkens were very quiet)and sound like a landrover with military tyres fitted. At around 60-70 mph they hum like a shot wheel bearing. No biggie though, I just turn the radio up!

I will report back after some more extensive usage when the Daily Fail 'worst winter in 50 years' hits us

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Jaguar X Type 2.5 AWD SPORT

Had the dunlop winter sport 4d last year and were great! Changed car so changed tyres, the car was on pirelli p6000 summer tyres, put the winter sport 5 on and the car is tranformed, better ride, more grip and is so much better to drive although there is slightly less feedback but probably due to size difference. Driven on black ice/ frosty roads and was like tarmac, no slipping or spinning. Heavy water and floods didn't feel any aqua planing unlike the pirellis. Basically an all round excellent tyre and if they're like the predecessor they will be excellent in snow!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.