Dunlop Winter Sport 5

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop Winter Sport 5
83%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
86%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
82%

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews (2)

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Volkswagen GTi Mk6

Bought a set of 4 winter Dunlop's in 2017, mounted them on MK6 golf. First impressions were OK, low Tyre noise, good grip in wet and dry. Comfortable if they would not have a huge issue. After a few miles on highway, I noticed that there are some vibrations cumming through steering wheel at higher speeds. I suspected the wheels (bought them used) and change them for new ones, but problem remained. Went back to dealer who made measurements on machine and reported that two of them (tyres) had defects in tread pattern (humps of some sort), two were suppose to be OK. Waited for a few months to get the replacement approved (actually it was already spring). When we mounted two new ones on, it was noticeably better, but still not OK. At later time we noticed that also one of the old two, that suppose to be OK, needed a lot of weights when balancing it (despite rotating it on wheel itself) and the steering wheel still vibrated when accelerating or at higher speed (not happening on summer set). I gave up and get rid of them, never buying "premium" Dunlop again!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Subaru forester 2.5xt

I put these tyres on my Subaru Forester XT just before the first snow storm of the winter. It hit pretty hard wit a lot of ice and very very slippery snow, quite deep at some places. I drive through one of the hardest mountain passes where i live almost on a weekly basis and a good tyre is crucial. The Dunlop WinterSport 5 preformed much better than i expected initially in acceleration, corner grip and braking in dry and uncleaned snow. We had some heavy rain since and the tyre preformed very well in the wet as well. Very little aqua planning in some big puddles but all well controlled. In short - The tyre is predictable with high levels of grip. I dunno about noise - i drive a subaru - everything is noisy on a subaru.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

BMW 330xi

I bought these tyres in www.jaunasriepas.lv web store 2 years ago, very satisfied! Excellent grip in winter conditions, also these tyres are goo enough on ice. Good wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

BMW 530D

Excelent tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 4,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi

Amazing on snow ! Feel like tyre catching snow ! Went everywhere. 30 cm
Of snow. Any hills no problem. Will drive for 2 more winters. Brand new had 9mm in November. After 4 months It have 7mm

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 600 Average miles

Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi

Bought for Peugeot 308 and these was put to the test Feb-March 2018 in Buxton where we had loads of snow with roads shut, these tyres performed brilliantly in the snow /ice, drove up steep hills with at least 6” of snow and even pulled the car through 12” of snow, The car was actually bottoming out in the snow and still the tyres did the job. Excellent snow tyres worth the price however I comment on the wear of the tyre because I only bought them in November 2017. Although these are excellent winter tyres I’m an experienced driver in snow whic helps too so don’t just rely on tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Hyundai Accent MC

Bought these tyres because my previous Debica Frigo2 were almost done. I changed my tyres size also, from 185/65/R14 with 5J iron wheels to 195/55/R15 on alloy with 6.5J and ET35. That is, wider wheels, better tyre stretch, wider mount bearing. So, first impression (comparing with the Debicas, also): they almost feel like a summer tyre on dry and wet, which is great! Very good grip. Steering is lighter overall, and the sidewalls are softer, so they are flexing a little bit more, but we are talking about a non XL winter tyre. I am very pleased about their behaviour. They insipre confidence. At a whole other level than those Frigo2 tyres. Obviously, the colder it gets, the harder the sidewalls feel, which I like, but not a major difference. The tyres are balanced.
Also, on snow, they do their job well. I can throw my car in deeper snow, bearing in mind that I'm running on sport springs, lowered stance. I can decently make my way and invent new parking spaces, so they dig well into snow. I would buy them again because of the good performance on dry and wet. In snow, most of the winter tyres are alright, even my ex Debicas were pretty nice. Can't say anything about the wear, yet. Safe roads!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Yeti 4 x 4

These are great tyres, end of. I've had my Yeti since new -nearly 6 years now & I'd never run a 4 wheel drive car before or used winter tyres. In that time I've run Vredestein Wintrac Extremes initially, then Pirelli Sottozero 3s & now the Dunlop Wintersport 5s. Although the Vredersteins were great & really opened my eyes to the abilities of decent winter tyres, the Pirellis were an improvement, but not by as much as the difference between the Pirellis & the Dunlops. The snow, & in particular ice performance advantage of these Wintersport 5s is really noticable. My car is over 200hp & has 430nm torque but traction is never a problem & it has the same brakes as a Golf GTi with all Brembo hardware fitted, yet even in really bad conditions these tyres just grip. Slight, very slow speed understeer in snow is their only tiny flaw, but disappears as speed increases. A recent early morning commute in a complete white out before any tyre tracks in the snow revealed the same level of grip as a wet road, amazing. I don't normally buy the same tyres again as I always try to replace them in sets of 4 & as time moves on, tyre technology advances & so does tyre performance, but these might prove to be an exception. They're very impressive. Wet grip, aquaplane protection, ride comfort & quietness are all right up there. The Pirellis were nearly as good in these conditions, but the economy of the car also seems to have slightly improved & with the significant increase in snow & ice performance, the Dunlops are definitely in a class above.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Yeti 4 x 4

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.