Dunlop Winter Sport 5

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop Winter Sport 5
85%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
85%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
83%

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION

No rim protection!! Despite saying on the side wall it has rim protection, it most certainly doesn’t. Compared to my usual Pilot Sport 3/4 summers which have plenty of curb protection. And sadly I now have to refurb two of my newly refurbished wheels again after being forced against a curb by a SUV charging down a narrow road, I literally just brushed the curb and now they are heavily scuffed.

Grip in normal conditions is ok, but they do squirm around a fair bit when cornering or braking hard at higher speeds. They felt horrible when new but have improved after a few thousand miles. Damp (not wet) grip was atrocious but has also improved. Don’t expect these to perform like high performance summer tyres.

Typically not had any snow since fitting them, but had frost and ice where grip is obviously reduced but they are progressive and predictable. Also seem to perform well on mud covered roads which is common on the country lanes I drive on. They don’t aquaplane on deep puddles which again is common round here.

There is tyre noise, not intrusive but its there. Fuel economy doesn’t seem to be adversely affected by any great degree, maybe 1mpg, but its hard to say as the car uses more fuel in the colder seasons.

If it wasn’t for the useless rim protection, I’d probably buy again.



Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

Last tires i used were conti ts 860 t, this year i bought dunlop, and i love it, i can say they are almost as good and a lot cheaper too. I recommend highly... Not scared in wet, icy or snow, they are superb on dry also....

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Audi TT

I had theese tyres on my Audi TT MK1 and I were very impressed by their performance overall. Tested in all conditions, super super performance on wet roads, amazing on splah and snow, i drove 3 seasons and over 40k kilometers with them without fear and in complete safety.

Taking everything into account: with theese tyres, it.s summer on the road.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 30,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Prius

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Easy Going miles

Nissan LEAF Tekna

Used on Nissan Leaf for two winters (November to end May). One of best winter tyres I've used - very good in wet n dry conditions, even on warmer days with temperatures up to 17'C. Very good ride comfort, noise and economy. Handled 8" f fresh snow easily (limitation being the car ground clearance!) as well as compacted snow and slush.

Would use again without hesitation. Drove ca 15k miles in two winters on them and not even half worn.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Exellent on dry road, on the wet sometimes slipping during acceleration.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet 2012 Cruze

Its perfect winter tire overall. Bit soft walls when temperature is above 10C there for 9 for handling but when under, then is almost perfect. Grip on snow/ice is amazing very similar to Conti 850 I use to have, but Conti is good for max two seasons or 10.000 miles after that is meah. We will see how dunlop ws5 perform after while.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Volkswagen GTi Mk6

Bought a set of 4 winter Dunlop's in 2017, mounted them on MK6 golf. First impressions were OK, low Tyre noise, good grip in wet and dry. Comfortable if they would not have a huge issue. After a few miles on highway, I noticed that there are some vibrations cumming through steering wheel at higher speeds. I suspected the wheels (bought them used) and change them for new ones, but problem remained. Went back to dealer who made measurements on machine and reported that two of them (tyres) had defects in tread pattern (humps of some sort), two were suppose to be OK. Waited for a few months to get the replacement approved (actually it was already spring). When we mounted two new ones on, it was noticeably better, but still not OK. At later time we noticed that also one of the old two, that suppose to be OK, needed a lot of weights when balancing it (despite rotating it on wheel itself) and the steering wheel still vibrated when accelerating or at higher speed (not happening on summer set). I gave up and get rid of them, never buying "premium" Dunlop again!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Subaru forester 2.5xt

I put these tyres on my Subaru Forester XT just before the first snow storm of the winter. It hit pretty hard wit a lot of ice and very very slippery snow, quite deep at some places. I drive through one of the hardest mountain passes where i live almost on a weekly basis and a good tyre is crucial. The Dunlop WinterSport 5 preformed much better than i expected initially in acceleration, corner grip and braking in dry and uncleaned snow. We had some heavy rain since and the tyre preformed very well in the wet as well. Very little aqua planning in some big puddles but all well controlled. In short - The tyre is predictable with high levels of grip. I dunno about noise - i drive a subaru - everything is noisy on a subaru.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.