Dunlop Winter Sport 5

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop Winter Sport 5
83%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
86%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
82%

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews

53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,500 Average miles

Opel Antara 2.2 4x4 184HP

Overall not as good as a tyre as I expected it to be. It's kind of sad to know that I've spent quite a high price for the set, thinking it will be a good tyre, as Dunlop has been previously for me, only to find out that I'm almost disappointed in the qualities of it, especially in dry handling. It may have something to do with the fact, that I have fitted KW coilovers.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Toyota Prius

The Winter Sport 5 give the car a little too much of understeer but still acceptable, a little more disturbing is they feel a little lazy on the breakes but still ok for a winter tyre. I drove only 2-3 hours in real winter conditions here in hamburg so do not expect too much from my opinion - they did their job which is fine for this small and wide format. Noise, comfort and fuel consumption are very ok. The sidewalls were surprisingly full of dents after the first winter, and look not much better than the moon after 3 Winters - but where it counts they still look like one more winter, now the score is 40000 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 18,600 Average miles

Hyundai elantra

Drive only on town, on not so much snow (only until the road is cleaned), little wet road, i think 60-70% from time on dry roads. Wery good response, quiet on the road, good to very good on brake. In one season (winter) i made aprox. 30.000 km, and the wear is very good, i think it will resist 3 seasons! Good tire, i will buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION

No rim protection!! Despite saying on the side wall it has rim protection, it most certainly doesn’t. Compared to my usual Pilot Sport 3/4 summers which have plenty of curb protection. And sadly I now have to refurb two of my newly refurbished wheels again after being forced against a curb by a SUV charging down a narrow road, I literally just brushed the curb and now they are heavily scuffed.

Grip in normal conditions is ok, but they do squirm around a fair bit when cornering or braking hard at higher speeds. They felt horrible when new but have improved after a few thousand miles. Damp (not wet) grip was atrocious but has also improved. Don’t expect these to perform like high performance summer tyres.

Typically not had any snow since fitting them, but had frost and ice where grip is obviously reduced but they are progressive and predictable. Also seem to perform well on mud covered roads which is common on the country lanes I drive on. They don’t aquaplane on deep puddles which again is common round here.

There is tyre noise, not intrusive but its there. Fuel economy doesn’t seem to be adversely affected by any great degree, maybe 1mpg, but its hard to say as the car uses more fuel in the colder seasons.

If it wasn’t for the useless rim protection, I’d probably buy again.



Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.5T

Last tires i used were conti ts 860 t, this year i bought dunlop, and i love it, i can say they are almost as good and a lot cheaper too. I recommend highly... Not scared in wet, icy or snow, they are superb on dry also....

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Audi TT

I had theese tyres on my Audi TT MK1 and I were very impressed by their performance overall. Tested in all conditions, super super performance on wet roads, amazing on splah and snow, i drove 3 seasons and over 40k kilometers with them without fear and in complete safety.

Taking everything into account: with theese tyres, it.s summer on the road.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 30,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Prius

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Easy Going miles

Nissan LEAF Tekna

Used on Nissan Leaf for two winters (November to end May). One of best winter tyres I've used - very good in wet n dry conditions, even on warmer days with temperatures up to 17'C. Very good ride comfort, noise and economy. Handled 8" f fresh snow easily (limitation being the car ground clearance!) as well as compacted snow and slush.

Would use again without hesitation. Drove ca 15k miles in two winters on them and not even half worn.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Exellent on dry road, on the wet sometimes slipping during acceleration.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet 2012 Cruze

Its perfect winter tire overall. Bit soft walls when temperature is above 10C there for 9 for handling but when under, then is almost perfect. Grip on snow/ice is amazing very similar to Conti 850 I use to have, but Conti is good for max two seasons or 10.000 miles after that is meah. We will see how dunlop ws5 perform after while.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.