Pirelli PZero Rosso

The Pirelli PZero Rosso is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli PZero Rosso
66%[average]
Dry Grip
81%
Wet Grip
66%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
68%
Wear
59%
Comfort
62%
Buy Again
54%

Pirelli PZero Rosso Reviews (4)

73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 200 Spirited miles

BMW E46 M3

These tyres are designed for very high performance cars so unless you get them properly warmed up (which is difficult to do at UK road legal speeds) they are noisy, harsh and lack grip in both the wet and the dry. Also, if you do drive hard enough to get them warm they wear out in 12,000 miles or less. However, once at the right temperature and pressure they are excellent. Phenomenal dry grip at the limit then a very predictable break away and progressive once full traction is lost and you're over the edge of grip. Turn in is excellent with mild under steer only under heavy trail braking. They do have a tendency to track with road camber but these are performance tyres on sports orientated cars. Rear dry grip is again excellent. You can easily feel when the limit is reached and oversteer is easy to initiate and control. In the wet it's next to impossible to keep the heat in them and wet grip is poor in comparison. Stiff sidewalls mean you need to keep your wits about you as you get very little warning of a puncture before the tyre is about to come to pieces.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
27%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Average miles

Volvo C30 R Design Sport

Absolute shocking tyre. These things are dangerous.
These were fitted on the front on my c30 2.0d when I bought the car (2nd hand). In the wet driving slowly approaching a junction the car slid into the other lane as I made the turn. Thankfully no cars were coming in the other direction. Going round roundabouts is a lottery and off putting to say the least. In the dry they noisey and squeal a lot with 5.5mm of tread. Yes tracking is perfect.
These are coming off this wkend. I have no confidance with these tyres at all and I would warn everybody against them. There are far better tyres out there ie...conti sport 2 and 3.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
34%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Audi A8

Very bad tyres on my option, on wet road no grip very slipy, dry road ok but apart that very noisy feel like drive tractor.left tread about 4mm but im going to change that tyres to continental sport contact.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Easy Going miles

Audi A8


Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 14,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 Avant S Line (143)

Awful tyres. I had these on from OEM audi and they lasted 14,000 before I had to change. After 5,000 the road noise was awful, traction appalling and unbearably stiff. Made my sline a4 squeak and feel like a plank. DO NOT BUY THESE TYRES. Also these are terrible in the wet with less than 5mm on....

Tyre size reviewed: 265-45-19-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 43 Easy Going miles

Skoda Suberb MkII

Grip, feedback and progressiveness are all very subjective measures. Great grip to one driver may be grotty grip to another. The measure that I can attest precisely to is that on my 2009 2.0 litre Skoda Superb SE TDI Auto, I got 34,250 miles from a set of Pirelli P Zero Rosso 225/45 R17 94W tyres. There is still a bit of wear left on two of these tyres but I shall renew all four in the next week or two when I swap back from winter to summer wheels. It is noticeable that that the winter wheels, which are not low profile, give a slightly more comfortable ride. The winter wheels [Vredestein 16" Snowtrac 3s] have done approximately 9,000 miles in addition to the Pirellis' mileage. Comments about the Pirellis' performance in snow are pretty valueless. Most of my driving is on motorways at steady 65 - 70 mph. No boy racer style – gentle acceleration, little use of the brakes by looking well ahead. There's not much wrong with these tyres. Adverse comment says more about the drivers than the tyres, in my view.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
45%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Average miles

SEAT Leon FR tdi

got these tyres with my new car; absolutely terrible. have no confidence in them when wet, get excessive wheelspin accelerating at low speed in the dry.

just had a chance to drive them in the snow and they were the worst failures at trying to get up the slight hill outside my house for the past 4 years.

I can't reiterate just how poor these tyres are.

used to Goodyear eagles and uniroyal rainsport and despite these only having 5k on then and suffered very little wear I'll be swapping them for something better this week.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 17,000 Average miles

Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI

A set of these tyres lasted 17k miles on an Audi A6 on mainly motorway driving. Initial performance was good but as they wore they became progressively noisy on the road and offered little grip in the wet with 3mm left on them. Have changed to a set of GoodYear Eagle F1 Assymetric2 tyres which having driven on for a week now are far quiter and smoother in ride and reading reviews should hopefully last a lot longer too. Would not recommend purchasing the Rosso's.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Audi A3 Sport

OEM fitted and am due 4 new corners after 30,000 miles of mainly motorway driving. Dry grip has been brilliant, nice stiff sidewalls, but you really feel every bump and cranny and after 20,000 miles they became annoyingly noisy on the motorway. Have felt safe in the wet also, minimal aquaplaning etc.
With 1.6mm left now, most spirited journeys through the Dales seem to kick in the traction control more often than not and braking isn't as composed, specially in wet conditions.
I am looking at Dunlop SP Sport Fast Resp or the Vredesteins next, or anything that's quieter and comfier than these Rosso's.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
14%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI mk4 (240bhp)

Had my car on budget tyers when I got the car replaced them for these and I would quiet happily go back budget!!! These are dreadful can't stand the road noise, bumpy ride and terrible grip in the wet!! Not the best in the dry, will never put another set on my car again!! Also wear down quick!! These are to avoid!!!??

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.