Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2
83%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
89%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
87%

Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews (2)

70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Renault Megane II 1.4 16V 98hp

Excellent balance between comfort and safety in all kind of weathers, all of it for a reasonable price.
They are very forgiving and give you plenty of margin once they started to squeal.
Thanks to their decent feedback, you can smoothly regain control once you've exceeded their capabilities.
They are quiet and smooth on the highway, but I am not sure how sturdy they are and if they could survive going through many potholes.

The two slight drawbacks are the bad lateral grip on ice or packed snow and the "floaty" feeling that comes with a not-so-good dry lateral grip when the tires are hot.

Compared to worn-out Michelin Alpin 4, they are much better in the rain/snow/ice, but have slightly less lateral grip on the dry.
Compared to Norauto Prevensys, they are better and safer in every aspect (and they don't brutally give-up with no warning), so don't cheap-out.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf R estate

The tread is a little too soft to push hard in the dry and they complain a lot when pushing on dry round-a-bouts. But they have a lot of grip in the cold and wet! Standing water doesn't upset the balance - although this could be a result of 4motion doing its thing. I get a bit of 4-wheel drift on greasy (salted) bends if I'm pushing on, but they let you know what's happening at all times and breakaway is gradual, so no surprises. Great tyre, well suited for the relatively mild winter climate I live in.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Suzuki Ignis 1.5 GLX VVT 4Grip

On my second set of Goodyear Vector 4 Season Gen 2 - previously had them on a Subaru Legacy Tourer. Found them to be great all-rounders so have got them now on a Suzuki Ignis 4Grip.

These tyres were excellent in the snow we had early in 2018 - obviously Subaru AWD cars are well-suited to snow but with these tyres it was invincible. I was using lanes that only snow ploughs could use and I was able to stop and start on compacted snow/icy hills without any issues.

Sadly my Subaru went to diesel Hell (expensive on-going DPF/EGR issues) and I'm relegated to the Ignis - so I'm hoping the same Goodyear tyres will help it punch above its weight in any snow as I have to care for my elderly parents in a hilly area.

First impressions - the steering in the dry is much lighter. (The Michelin Energy ones made it heavy). This might explain the comment others have made about "floaty" steering. On my Subaru it was the same - with Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 - I couldn't easily sense what the wheels were doing on the snow/ice. However, if you know how to drive on snow, it's not a problem.

They seem to wear well and although you can hear it's a grippier tyre, this isn't annoyingly loud - perhaps it sounds "meatier".

I'll keep buying these until Goodyear comes up with a new version. (Kwik Fit often offers discounts of 20% when ordered online so a set of 4 cost me £258 all in.)

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v

Great tyre for the little Polo, which has now gone. They kept me moving when others struggled. Will now buy again for the winter months to fit my Golf R Variant.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Citroën xsara picasso

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Nissan Note 1.5 dci

Moved over to all seasons because of the potential expense of running two sets of tyres with a tyre pressure monitoring system. Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons the choice because I find the compromise in winter far greater than any loss of performance in summer. Extremely pleased with these tyres as they proved their worth during the 'Beast from the East' when snow was thick on the ground, but the car never lost traction. During the summer there has been no appreciable loss of grip, and of particular note is the excellent wear rate. Fronts are at 15,000 miles with at least 6mm of tread left. Rears seem to have barely worn at all. No hesitation in recommending or saying I would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-H
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Mazda 3 Series

Tires are very good in wet&snow conditions, but in the summer they feel like low budget tires. Weak dry braking compared to the regular summer tyre. Good for daily city diving without speeding. I drove over 3.000 miles for 4 months in all conditions (mud, snow, hot summer days) and they look like New. A little bit noisy - not too much, but a comfortable ride. At the time of purchase they were cheaper than Crossclimate and that's why i decided to buy GY vector 4 seasons 2.

All in all, I recommend them to everyone who doesn't drive much, and who doesn't want to have two sets of tires. If you love fast driving stick to the regular summer tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 60,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 2008 1.6

These tyres were supplied as standard fit with the car and I was curious as to how well an all-weather tyre would fair in general driving conditions, of 50/50 motorway and urban driving winter and summer, I even drove to south France and Spain in 40 degrees, This winter really got to try their effectiveness in snow/ice and was reasonably impressed but tyres were getting to end of life so not a fair challenge. I ran front tyres for 30k and back ones for 60k before replacing will definitely buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,500 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

Changed to these tyres when my last tyres (Continental ecocontact 3 tyres) had completed no more than 4500 miles, as they were purely a Summer tyre & did not really inspire confidence in the wet. Was also somewhat concerned about how they would perform in more wintery conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Ford Kuga

Wanted to try all season tyre's as I drive on a lot of single track roads during the winter.
Have found them to be very good in the dry, wet and excellent in the snow.
Have pushed these tyre's hard in all conditions and have never disappointed.
I drive a SUV so never expect the best road feedback, would buy again without hesitation.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.