Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2
83%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
89%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
87%

Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi

After having driven pure Summer (Bridgestone Turanza ER300) and Winter (Continental WinterContact TS 850) tyres I decided to try an All Season tyre and wow what a surprise! The Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is the best tyre in the wet I've ever driven! Also Comfort is much better than the summer tyre and snow grip is on a similar level with the winter tyre. Only in dry conditions it lacks feedback and overall grip to the summer tyre. Apart from that, best of the 2 worlds! I'd expect around 25k miles / 40k km

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 116i

Had these on my BMW 1 series for winter 2019 to 2020 on the front as my summer tyres were breaking traction at temps around zero on damp roads at relatively low speeds on the front. The handling transformed, I could drive the car as hard all over winter as I could in summer. It was a mild winter with little in the way of frosts and I don't remember there being any snow. Once the weather warmed up I put the summer tyres back on, I never changed the rears as the traction control and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3's had the back end covered well enough. The Kumho Ecsta's I had on the fronts were out of control on the rear before and not good enough for the front either. I had some spare wheels so swapping over was easy. I will do another review later but had to have just one vehicle until recently as I was in and out of work. I've just got a Golf diesel so I don't have to drive my van all the time so these will be going on there next winter and might see a bit of track action in the wet too.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Easy Going miles

Hyundai Ioniq

I bought these tyres to replace a set of Michelin Energy savers fitted to my 2018 Hyundai Ioniq PHEV. The energy savers has around 3.5 to 4mm tread left all round, but were noisy and the grip on cold wet roads was poor. The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 have been a revelation. Wet cold salted roundabouts now have grip!! After a couple of hundred miles the initial low frequency hum the tyres exhibited has dissapeared and they are much quieter and more comfortable than the Michelins especially on poor road surfaces. Finally we have had a few days of snow and the tyres have been fantastic on snow and ice. I live at the top of a hill on an untreated road and would have struggled if I had to stop on the hill on the way home. On these I was stuck behind a couple of vehicles and had to give way to a few coming down the hill on ocassion and the car just started off and accelerated up the hill with no drama. Grip on cold (2 degree) dry roads has been excellent we will see what dry warm grip is like in the summer! No Idea what wear will be like either. Overall I wish I'd tried Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyres years ago......when you need them they are great!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 49,000 Easy Going miles

SEAT Exeo ST

I bought these tyres after watching a test by Tyre Reviews, to replace both my previous winter and summer set ups so I don't need to change and store wheels, and they have not disappointed. To me they feel like a winter tyre that has been adapted to work in summer, with a slightly soft, but comfortable and quiet feel in the dry. In the wet they gave me plenty of confidence that I had enough grip, even when worn, and resisted aquaplaning well in downpours. I was most surprised with their performance in the snow however, which was nearly on par with my old winter Nokians in deep snow, which was highlighted as I easily drove around a stuck Insignia estate (similar type of car to my Exeo ST, and yes I did help push!) in a snowy carpark in the Cairngorms, more importantly braking was predictable in snow / slush conditions. I had the tyres on the car for approx. 49,000 miles, and they still had 3mm tread left when I changed them due to slight vibration / possible slow puncture / leaking valve. I was so impressed with the Vector 4Season Gen 2, that I went for the 4Season Gen 3 as their replacement.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate

Dry grip- As my previous review during the summer they aren't that great at high speed driving and cornering. However, during the winter they are fantastic. Steering is still numb but better the colder it gets. Braking seems good again the colder the better it seems to be. Wet grip- Same as above really still great at roughly 5.5 mm but still feel confident in driving with these in heavy rain. Road feedback and handling- Already covered above. Wear- They have been on the fronts now for 7000 miles after having 30,000 on the rear. So good going for a tyre. Comfort- Really good but as they are a winter oriented winter tyre you would expect the softer compound and the sidewalls and tread can be squeezed easily by hand. Buy again- For winter use only yes but I would look at the Cross Climate Plus or Vredestien symmetrical A/S tyre before going for these or the Gen 3 that have come out. Snow grip- Always been really good but recently in the UK we had a lot of snow fall and at roughly 5.5 mm left they griped really well. Cannot fault them. Ice grip- Not as good as snow grip but they can get going but do slip a little if more on polished ice but good enough otherwise you would need studded tyres or chains if it is that bad.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-V
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Easy Going miles

Mazda 3 1.6 Takuya

If this was a one word review, that word would be "Comfortable". As a year round commuting tyre they are great, low noise, decent rolling resistance and drama free. The slight softness of the tyre also means they round off small imperfections and rough surfaces. Main downsides would be the previously mentioned softness gives small issues on warmer days (25 degrees + especially). So if you're someone who enjoys back road blasting in the summer, get something else you will be disappointed with the lack of absolute feedback and slight wooly feeling these tyres provide. Also they don't like suddenly heavy braking on hot days either, quite likely you'll activate ABS. However summer wet weather handling is very good, the deep grooves for snow mean aquaplaning isn't really a thing and braking is good. Provide extremely stable performance in extreme weather. Moving to cold weather more of the same, stable drama free performance. Travelled round on frosty mornings with ice before dawn with no scrabbling for grip or issues at all which the summer tyres I had (Also Goodyear but EfficientGrip Performance) used to. Only really travelled in my street on snow..so can't give full write up though I've been stuck in my street on summer tyres and again it just moved without drama. If you just want to get from point A to B, year round without drama they are a great tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30 Easy Going miles

Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate

I found the tyres to be excellent in dry and wet handling when temperatures were below 5 degrees c. They are fantastic. Snow grip is great and not tested on ice. However, they are winter all seasons because once the temperature starts to go upwards of 20+degrees C they handling poorly especially at speed. Dry braking is worse and it understeers quite easily. I’d recommend this tyre for winter use but too much of a compromise for summer for me. It’s ok for city driving at low speeds but highway speeds or twisty roads during the summer you’d be better of with either summer tyres or a more summer focuses all season. If you use this as a winter tyre that you put on in October and take off in Easter then I can happily recommend it for the colder months. Comfort wise they are really good but that’s because of the softer compound. My cars suspension is comfortable anyway but you do get the boaty feeling more as the temperature increases. Noise wise very little road noise in my car. Not much more to say on that. Wear front set that were on the back are around 30,000 miles with rotation and are down to 3mm. That includes a summer runs as well. So not bad for price paid. Snow and ice. Snow is very good. It gets you home and can cope with a sizeable amount as per German magazine ratings. Ice, I’ve not tested on so cannot comment on that.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-V
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Average miles

Land Rover Freelander 2

Replaced Goodyear All Weather factory fit. Now at11k miles in.
These tyres are very good indeed. Planted, secure, quiet. Can handle the weight near 2 tons and 233hp. Very good in the wet. Good on snow in the mountains. Not bad on ice either. Not a racer but even in 40+ degrees in Southern Spain drives well enough for me. So if you have a car over 1.5 tons and horse power over 150+ and you drive in the wet /cold conditions occasionally snow perhaps worthwhile considering. Wear ? Seems good despite the soft mix and heavy load.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

SEAT ALhambra TDi

Extremely positive experience in colder weather dry-wet normal driving and huge grip on snow, even deep snow in UK (north of Scotland and South of England). Huge confidence in the tyre. And far, far more confident grip and handling during winter. Still better in warm weather to flip back to summer tyres given braking and handling trade-offs once above 20 DegC. Love these tyres, strongly recommend ...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
68%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Renault Laguna Phase II

These replaced Bridgestone A001's on my car,they do nothing as well as the discontinued Bridgestones did,they aquaplane badly and understeer a lot earlier than the bridges did.I won't be buying again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.