Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2
81%[average]
Dry Grip
77%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
74%
Progressiveness
71%
Wear
88%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
85%

Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Easy Going miles

Mazda 3 1.6 Takuya

If this was a one word review, that word would be "Comfortable". As a year round commuting tyre they are great, low noise, decent rolling resistance and drama free. The slight softness of the tyre also means they round off small imperfections and rough surfaces. Main downsides would be the previously mentioned softness gives small issues on warmer days (25 degrees + especially). So if you're someone who enjoys back road blasting in the summer, get something else you will be disappointed with the lack of absolute feedback and slight wooly feeling these tyres provide. Also they don't like suddenly heavy braking on hot days either, quite likely you'll activate ABS. However summer wet weather handling is very good, the deep grooves for snow mean aquaplaning isn't really a thing and braking is good. Provide extremely stable performance in extreme weather. Moving to cold weather more of the same, stable drama free performance. Travelled round on frosty mornings with ice before dawn with no scrabbling for grip or issues at all which the summer tyres I had (Also Goodyear but EfficientGrip Performance) used to. Only really travelled in my street on snow..so can't give full write up though I've been stuck in my street on summer tyres and again it just moved without drama. If you just want to get from point A to B, year round without drama they are a great tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30 Easy Going miles

Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate

I found the tyres to be excellent in dry and wet handling when temperatures were below 5 degrees c. They are fantastic. Snow grip is great and not tested on ice. However, they are winter all seasons because once the temperature starts to go upwards of 20+degrees C they handling poorly especially at speed. Dry braking is worse and it understeers quite easily. I’d recommend this tyre for winter use but too much of a compromise for summer for me. It’s ok for city driving at low speeds but highway speeds or twisty roads during the summer you’d be better of with either summer tyres or a more summer focuses all season. If you use this as a winter tyre that you put on in October and take off in Easter then I can happily recommend it for the colder months. Comfort wise they are really good but that’s because of the softer compound. My cars suspension is comfortable anyway but you do get the boaty feeling more as the temperature increases. Noise wise very little road noise in my car. Not much more to say on that. Wear front set that were on the back are around 30,000 miles with rotation and are down to 3mm. That includes a summer runs as well. So not bad for price paid. Snow and ice. Snow is very good. It gets you home and can cope with a sizeable amount as per German magazine ratings. Ice, I’ve not tested on so cannot comment on that.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-V
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Average miles

Land Rover Freelander 2

Replaced Goodyear All Weather factory fit. Now at11k miles in.
These tyres are very good indeed. Planted, secure, quiet. Can handle the weight near 2 tons and 233hp. Very good in the wet. Good on snow in the mountains. Not bad on ice either. Not a racer but even in 40+ degrees in Southern Spain drives well enough for me. So if you have a car over 1.5 tons and horse power over 150+ and you drive in the wet /cold conditions occasionally snow perhaps worthwhile considering. Wear ? Seems good despite the soft mix and heavy load.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

SEAT ALhambra TDi

Extremely positive experience in colder weather dry-wet normal driving and huge grip on snow, even deep snow in UK (north of Scotland and South of England). Huge confidence in the tyre. And far, far more confident grip and handling during winter. Still better in warm weather to flip back to summer tyres given braking and handling trade-offs once above 20 DegC. Love these tyres, strongly recommend ...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
68%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Renault Laguna Phase II

These replaced Bridgestone A001's on my car,they do nothing as well as the discontinued Bridgestones did,they aquaplane badly and understeer a lot earlier than the bridges did.I won't be buying again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,750 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176

I am living in Athens Greece, and I am using these tyres on a set of wheels for the winter only.

I switch wheels from Summer to All Season in December and back to summers in April, so I am using the Vectors for four months a year, driving an average of 11.000 km during this period.

Temperatures usually run from 6 to 20 degrees Celsius these months in Athens, and I would not consider switching if I didn't have to drive to our winter house in the northern mountains a coupe of times each winter.

During these trips, the temperature in my destination goes down to minus fifteen degrees in extreme cases, but certainly stays below zero most of the time, definitely with snow , but even ice in seldom cases.

So, after being struck on the road on my summer tyres and messing with chains twice, I decided to get me a set of used wheels and fit these All Seasons in the winter so i don't get stuck again :-)

Winter tyres are probably an overkill and I would be complaining most of the time driving them in dry conditions.

Now, the Vectors are very good tyres. Much better than my summer tyres in temperatures below 5 degrees, both in braking and in handling.

On normal snow they are brilliant.

Ice, I have ran across only once, but driving conservatively I had no problem covering a distance of about 5 kilometres with no hiccups.

On dry, they are safe tyres but no match for my summer tyres (Goodyear Performance or Toyo CF2).

Especially when temperatures rise above the mid 20s, they don't drive too well and I need to slow down.

I will probably try the Michelin Cross Climate next time, just for the sake of comparison between Michelin and Goodyear.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Renault Master (2018)

Excellent balance between comfort and safety in all kind of weathers, all of it for a reasonable price.
They are very forgiving and give you plenty of margin once they started to squeal.
Thanks to their decent feedback, you can smoothly regain control once you've exceeded their capabilities.
They are quiet and smooth on the highway, but I am not sure how sturdy they are and if they could survive going through many potholes.

The two slight drawbacks are the bad lateral grip on ice or packed snow and the "floaty" feeling that comes with a not-so-good dry lateral grip when the tires are hot.

Compared to worn-out Michelin Alpin 4, they are much better in the rain/snow/ice, but have slightly less lateral grip on the dry.
Compared to Norauto Prevensys, they are better and safer in every aspect (and they don't brutally give-up with no warning), so don't cheap-out.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf R estate

The tread is a little too soft to push hard in the dry and they complain a lot when pushing on dry round-a-bouts. But they have a lot of grip in the cold and wet! Standing water doesn't upset the balance - although this could be a result of 4motion doing its thing. I get a bit of 4-wheel drift on greasy (salted) bends if I'm pushing on, but they let you know what's happening at all times and breakaway is gradual, so no surprises. Great tyre, well suited for the relatively mild winter climate I live in.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Suzuki Ignis 1.5 GLX VVT 4Grip

On my second set of Goodyear Vector 4 Season Gen 2 - previously had them on a Subaru Legacy Tourer. Found them to be great all-rounders so have got them now on a Suzuki Ignis 4Grip.

These tyres were excellent in the snow we had early in 2018 - obviously Subaru AWD cars are well-suited to snow but with these tyres it was invincible. I was using lanes that only snow ploughs could use and I was able to stop and start on compacted snow/icy hills without any issues.

Sadly my Subaru went to diesel Hell (expensive on-going DPF/EGR issues) and I'm relegated to the Ignis - so I'm hoping the same Goodyear tyres will help it punch above its weight in any snow as I have to care for my elderly parents in a hilly area.

First impressions - the steering in the dry is much lighter. (The Michelin Energy ones made it heavy). This might explain the comment others have made about "floaty" steering. On my Subaru it was the same - with Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 - I couldn't easily sense what the wheels were doing on the snow/ice. However, if you know how to drive on snow, it's not a problem.

They seem to wear well and although you can hear it's a grippier tyre, this isn't annoyingly loud - perhaps it sounds "meatier".

I'll keep buying these until Goodyear comes up with a new version. (Kwik Fit often offers discounts of 20% when ordered online so a set of 4 cost me £258 all in.)

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v

Great tyre for the little Polo, which has now gone. They kept me moving when others struggled. Will now buy again for the winter months to fit my Golf R Variant.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.