Bridgestone Ecopia EP25

The Bridgestone Ecopia EP25 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Ecopia EP25
56%[average]
Dry Grip
65%
Wet Grip
48%
Road Feedback
65%
Progressiveness
64%
Wear
55%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
35%

Bridgestone Ecopia EP25 Reviews

59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Toyota Yaris

OEM summer tyres. I drove them for 20000miles or 37000km. Dry grip and handling was good, even now when they have 5< mm of rubber left on them. Wet grip and handling was good but not perfect. In the city they were safe on wet, but on the open road and higher speeds than 70kmh very unsafe and extremly laud. Straight aqua was better even when driving above 120kmh. Wear was ok, but i wouldnt recommend them for any other driver except those who drive only in the city. I am changing them now for Dunlop Sport Bluresponse.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-15-H
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 208 1.5 BlueHDi

These tyres are OEM on the car, with Treadwear 200 Temperature B Traction B
and EU labelling C for economy, B for wet braking and 70db.

Taking into account that the tire is an enviromentally friendly tire and not a sports one, here is what I think:

Dry braking is really good with no surprises whatsoever. I had an emergency braking because of a wild hog crossing the road and the tire outperformed the traction of the tarmac and the weather conditions, meaning you could tell it could have decelerated more without losing grip had the asphalt been completely dry and more rough.

Handling is also very good, despite the softness of the tire. This softness is present only in cornering at a high speed, so for normal driving and everyday use the tires are perfectly fine.

Feedback is also very good, you get on the wheel what you see on the road, so happy there, too.

On wet grip, I disagree with other people claiming the tire sucks. Yeah, it sucks if you think you're riding on a UHP tire. Keep in mind it's not a performance tire, with a Traction B rating, so prudence and reservation are mandatory on wet public roads where indifference, incompetence, arrogance and pure stupidity are also present.
Having said that, I think the Ecopia EP25 holds no surprises for the knowledgeable driver. Driving on the wet 20-30km/h less than on dry roads will give you the same results as in the dry.

Wet braking is mediocre at best at lower speeds (up to 80km/h) with the ABS engaging a bit more than I expected. This is the first reason I will not choose them again or recommend them, as well as the wear rate.

On the other hand, straight aqua is surprisingly good, even at 2cm of water, cutting through water ponds easily.

Wear is fast for these tyres. In 15.000km of 95% motorway use they have got down to 6,1mm of tread, which is a bad result for me, being an old Michelin user. In comparison, Michelin Energy Saver+ started at 7,2mm losing 0,5mm of tread every 10.000km on the same conditions (mind you, the Michelins are Treadwear 400).

Noise is annoying. Only on newly-paved surfaces will there be silence in the cabin; otherwise, get ready for a continuous roar or get a pair of ear-plugs.

All in all, I would choose my Michelin Saver+ over the Ecopia25 time and again, simply because they are better.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,495 Average miles

Mazda 2 SP

Absolutely useless. Only lasted 8,495 miles compared with previous Dunlop's 40,600. Soft as butter

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,300 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.2VTi

I have covered 3300 miles on these tyres so far. The dry grip is quite good and the wear, so far is also good, used about 1.5mm. The ride is comfortable, but a little noisy at speed. The wet grip however is appalling and can be quite dangerous. For this reason I will not be purchasing them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,300 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.2VTi

J'ai couvert 3300 miles sur ces pneus jusqu'à présent. La prise sèche est assez bonne et l'usure, jusque là aussi bonne, est d'environ 1,5mm. Le trajet est confortable, mais un peu bruyant à la vitesse. La prise en main humide est cependant effroyable et peut être très dangereuse. Pour cette raison, je ne les achèterai plus.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,300 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.2VTi

Ich habe bisher 3300 Meilen auf diesen Reifen zurückgelegt. Der Trockengriff ist recht gut und die Abnutzung, bisher ist auch gut, ca. 1,5mm. Die Fahrt ist bequem, aber ein bisschen laut mit Geschwindigkeit. Der nasse Griff ist jedoch erschreckend und kann ziemlich gefährlich sein. Aus diesem Grund werde ich sie nicht wieder kaufen.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Easy Going miles

Peugeot 208 XY 1.6 HDI

Standard tyre with the car (Peugeot 208 1.6 HDI) and can't complain. They were not too loud, good fuel economy and hard wearing. Roughly 20-25000 miles on a set though I was changing with winter tyres for half the year so hard to estimate. I've used these tyres in cold temperatures and they seem to grip like normal though in the wet (incl. summer) you do feel a slight difference in grip, not much though. Good tyre all round.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Toyota Verso S

I had to put these on a Verso S because the official Dunlop 2030 was not available at the time (!) - it is an unusual size. They have been OK but a bit noisy, no real problems, till the fronts wore down to between 3 and 4 mm and the wet grip evaporated, after 15000 miles. I normally change when the tread is down to 3mm, but I replaced the fronts with Yokohamas after a worrying experience on a wet hill. The reduction in road noise was immediately noticeable, especially on better surfaces. I wouldn't buy them again because there seem to be better alternatives. Of course tyres do vary from lot to lot and according to your usage, so I should emphasise this is a personal opinion and not the result of scientific testing.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Yaris

EP25's are the standard fitment tyre on the Toyota Yaris in Australia since 2011 on all hatch variants (3 and 5 door).

Although they're about $200 each and I've yet to have to replace them at 25,000miles they are definitely worth the price for a quality made-in-Japan low rolling resistance tyre.

I drive on all roads however at least half of my road time is spent on highways (100/110km/h respectively).

On the highway the tyres are quiet, absorb road imperfections nicely, have little vibration & most importantly have EXCELLENT resistance to aqua-planing even during torrential rain at 110km/h where you cannot see 3 car lengths in front of you.

Their braking performance is also very impressive.

The only downside to these tyres is something you get with all high quality low-rolling resistance tyres and that's the price - the fact they're made in Japan means a lot - many lesser tyres are made in China, Thailand, Malaysia etc and you can tell the difference.

These tyres are great because in Australia - snow/winter tyres are not sold so when the temperature drops below 8C most tyres harden up and lose their grip - the special compound of these Ep25's keeps them supple even as the temp outside nears freezing so you still maintain grip during the winter months - very important when you can't buy winter tyres in Australia.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-16-T
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Toyota iq

Perfectly suitable dry road tyres, feel light in handling and low-wear rate on motorways. non confidence inspiring in damp or frosty conditions however with anything aproaching a mid to high lateral excersion especially on off camber surfaces. reasonably high wearing in general but tread suffered mostly from 'spirited' roundabouts and hairpin bends during understeer...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.