Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3
85%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
82%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
80%

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews (4)

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Audi A3

i tested these back to back with Michelin pilot sport 4's. The goodyear are slightly quieter and get better mpg. The grip seem similar for medium fast driving. The goodyear are far more comfortable, where the michelin make the car feel stiff , the goodyear feel squishy but not in a bad way, it depends on your preference, i like the goodyear feel and comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5

Seem to wear extremely quickly. I drive hard but still would expect more than 9 months/8000 miles out of them! They've just worn down to the big that signifies a change. They do grip well however, especially in the wet, they do have a tendency it seems to understeer a bit but this is neglible and arguably the cars lack of mechanical grip. Will upgrade to PS4's next so that will tell the difference!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 18,000 Average miles

Ford FG Falcon XR6 Turbo

great tyre in both wet & dry conditions this is my third set on this car when your a good thing stick with it comfortable quiet & good feedback.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-19-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 22,773 Spirited miles

Volkswagen GTi Mk6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo Giuiletta

I have these Asymetric 3 tyres on my car after I had the Goodyear F1 asymetric 2 tyres. The 3's are less noisy, although both tyres are very quiet in comparrison to the Pirelli Zero Rosso's the car had, when I bought it.
Dry grip is very good on my car (an Alfa Romeo Giulietta witch has a tuned engine with 190 hp and 300 torque on the front wheels). Wet grip is good enough, but then sometimes you feel the amount of power on just the front wheels, so that's also related to the car.
Both the Goodyear tyres are way better on all aspects in comparrison to the Pirelli's.

So the wear, grip, and the minimum of sound are very good. When it comes to comfort, don't drive with a relative high tyrepressure, like I did. Good for the wear and steering. But you also feel much bumps, although in the Giulietta that is the case.
I am disappointed in the rim protector. The Asymetric 2 had way better and bigger protectors. With the Asymetric 2 you could park against the curb with only the sound of squeezing rubber and no scratch on the rim. But don 't try that with the Asymetric 3.

In my opinion the Asymetric 3's are one of the best tyres on sale today.
My front tyres need to be replaced soon. Despite my positive experience with these Goodyear's, I think I wil try the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres.
This because of the good test results. You can check the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 page on this website, and click on 'all tests' and then select the 2019 summer tyres test of Autobild.
The Michelin tyre beats the new Goodyear F1 Asymetric 5.

So good bye Goodyear. But thank you for the positieve experience! (despite the slightly damaged rims )



Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Touran 1.4 TSI 140HP

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 400 Average miles

Hyundai i30 SR Premium 1.6 turbo

I bought a brand new 2018 Hyundai i30 SR Premium 1.6 turbo with 7-speed DCT transmission. Absolutely fabulous car except for the crap Hankook 225/40R18 tyres which came as standard, so the first thing I did was to do a lot of research to find a better tyre. I already had experience with Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres in 245/45R18 on my previous car and even though they were a fabulous tyre, I felt I needed a change. The Asymmetric 3 tyres kept appearing in reviews as being a very good tyre, and so, with much thought, I decided to buy them. At first I was very disappointed with them. They simply didn't seem to suit the car. Their side walls felt too soft during hard cornering, so I started experimenting with tyre pressures. In the meantime, I had travelled about 200kms on them and while the vehicle manufacturer recommended 33psi all around, this pressure in the Asymmetric 3 tyres just didn't appear to be enough, so I started at 38psi and worked down from there. 38psi was too hard, although definitely improved the tyre's performance. Anyway, to cut a long story short, I found out two things about these tyres. 1) They take a very long time to settle and bed themselves in - somewhere between 200 and 500kms, believe it or not. 2) The best pressure with a good balance of ride comfort, low noise and dynamic performance was found to be 35 to 36psi, but this "goldilocks" pressure didn't make itself totally obvious until the tyres had totally bedded in. Now though, after doing about 600kms on them I can confidently say that this really is a brilliant tyre. Not quite as quiet as the Michelin Pilot Sport 4's on some surfaces, and yet quieter than the PS4's on other surfaces. I know, it's really strange, but I'll put up with occasional noise that they make and just enjoy how they have transferred my car for the better. They have definitely increased the fun factor of driving my car. Just take the time to bed them in before you objectively and subjectively judge them. You won't regret it...

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiuan R Line

The noise over sertian b-roads are too noisy to me. However, mnay drivers have commended thos tyre for the low noise which I don't understand why. I am still looking for a quieter tyre than this one.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 34,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 207 GTI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

Great tyres (I am not a racer, just an average user),much better than the hankook r16 tyres I had before - of course a lot of the improvement came with the wider tyre as well. I would definitely buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-R

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.