Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3
85%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
82%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
80%

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews (2)

89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

Been running Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric's (3's and now 5's) for a good few years. Think the 3's top the 5's, just, so if you can find them I'd go with them. Get 15-18k from the fronts and are a very good all round tyre. Was never a Goodyear fan, but my tyre guy talked me into a full set over 5 years ago with the adage that if I was not 100% happy with them, he would change them for any other tyre I wanted at no cost. May not be the best at any one thing, but a bloody strong 2'nd at everything. I trust them 100% and are very predicable and only start to tram line once you get them down to just under 2mm, so let you know when a new set is needed.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

MINI Cooper S Works

These replaced some very aged budget tyres fitted by a prior owner, so the improvement was always going to be huge. They have a generous rim protector and a fairly attractive sidewall. Grip levels in the wet and dry are excellent as you would expect for this level of tyre, this is a second car which I really only drive hard and you would need to be driving at very unsafe speeds to pass the limits of these tyres on this car. One area I feel they are particularly good for my car is in reducing wheelspin when pulling away or accelerating hard out of a corner - they are considerably better than previous rubbish tyres and also the Continental sport contact tyres on my mother’s Cooper S from the same year in which even she complains about wheelspin (they are runflats admittedly). For example pulling out of the local petrol station forecourt which is uneven and greasy - hers will flick up the traction control from even a very gentle take off, whereas mine simply doesn’t - even if you pull away quite aggressively. I don’t think that initial turn-in is very sharp on these tyres, as though the sidewall is a little soft. I feel they are very susceptible to punctures. I have sustained two punctures in 2000 miles, both pieces of metal picked up in my own drive - we have 3 other cars in regular use passing over the same tarmac (including another Mini from the same year wearing Continental tyres) and none have suffered the same issue. One was a staple in the sidewall (from a regular office stapler) which completely wrote off the tyre with under 500 miles on it. The second was a small piece of rusty metal that had fallen off my Land Rover (they do that). I also notice there is some damage to one of the nearside sidewalls and I haven’t hit any kerbs! I felt the same with my previous Golf GTI which was fitted with (then brand new) Assy 2’s which obliterated a sidewall on a cattle grid. I’m interested to read other reviews to see if others have had the same issue.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 4 Door (2008)

I changed to Goodyear from Falken Ziex 914 And I am shocked as driving is now much better in all aspects. But yes, regarding handling there Is liitle bit soft, So in very Fast And sharp corners you do not know how much grip you have if the tyres Are cold. Anyway when these tyres get warm, everything changes, they just grip And grip. How the hell Goodyear is able to do such a thing. No matter as driving my Lancelot is now fun as hell.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo MiTo

Much improved and better than Asymmetric II, that I didn't liked, mainly because they had very soft sides. Very good overall, medium wear, very good grip, a little bit noisy. After more than 3 years, they are still

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,389 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat B7 2.0 TDI 140hp Estate

Very good tires for summer. I was really satisfied with them. Really good grip on wet, no problems at all. They were silent. I can fully recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 100 Easy Going miles

Jaguar xf premium luxury

wow, only put them on today and noticed a big improvement

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 16,000 Average miles

BMW 320i Msport

I have used Asymmetric and Asymmetric 2 in the past and never been disappointed so therefore I purchased the Asymmetric 3 without a second thought. They've been on my car for 1 year and 9 months and I average around 8k miles a year and they still have around 5mm tread all around. For me this is impressive as normally I go through rear tyres (rear wheel drive) on a yearly basis. I would highly recommend these if you're looking for a mileage tyre and a good all rounder. I can only recall loss of traction on 3 occasions in almost 2 years and this was only in the cold. You cannot go wrong with these tyres. They are comfortable and Goodyear pricing is very reasonable compared to the other premium brands. Continental is still my favourite brand but this is purely based on grip but Goodyear beats it in everything else. In my 21 years of driving and being a wheel whore, I have used all the premium brands and many mid-range brands. If I was to make a sensible recommendation, I would recommend these every time.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Wagon

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz CLS 320

Bad points
Tram lines, quite noisy on concrete sections of the M25.

Great points
Predictable, good grip, reasonable feedback. Very good tyre life, at least 25K miles on a heavy, powerful RWD car to 2mm.

These are excellent and are well priced, typically 15-20% less than Michelins.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Average miles

BMW 320 d

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.