Nokian WR D4

The Nokian WR D4 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR D4
81%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
84%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
67%
Comfort
85%
Buy Again
74%

Nokian WR D4 Reviews

92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Chevrolet aveo

When you decide to buy winter tyres , you must know that its made for snow and winter conditions. This means that you will drive at wet roads with speed 20% less than you drive with your summer tyres (especially at turns). This is an excellent tyre for snow . This is a tyre which make your driving easylly at difficult snow and icy conditions. You dont have to expect from this tyre to have handling on wet or dry turns as your summer tyre because you never expect from your summer tyre to climb on a 10% road covered with snow..... + traction on snow + handling on snow + braking distance on snow + buy them again (please nokian dont do that!!! i learn that you will change them with snowproof which are not better than wrd4) - fuel consumption (+ 0.5 lt/ 100km from my summer tyres)

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Renault Clio 1.4 16v

Every one has something to say about wearing off too fast. This is not true. I drove them for 5 winters and full 2 summer seasons. They wore close to 4 mm marker. The issue was on ice grip. But can complain. Buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Spirited miles

BMW 320d efficient dynamics

These tires have been surprising me every day since I got them fitted to my BMW F30 320d EfficientDinamics LCI. What I liked most about these tires was by far the comfort levels. They absorb the bumps better than the Continentals and Bridgestones I have tried and they are also very quiet. Also, my fuel efficiency seem to have gotten a bit better since fitting these tires. As dry/wet performance, for a tire that is so good in the snow I have to give it first place. The feedback is good, the car does not seem understeery, nor oversteery and it is very predictable. Overall, this is still one of the best tyre choices for winter driving especially in the sizes 16-19 inch. The price performance can't get any better and these tires don't make compromises.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-H
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

I've fitted these tyres now for the forth season. Firs 3 seasons they were great. In the dry - good as any other winter tyre, wet - ok, stable enough so that you don't understear in every corner, snow grip was just excelant! I've driven them through a heavy snow storm, about 10-20cm of snow on the highway and no problems. The problems started this year, I've noticed problems with wet grip. I have to be verry careful how fast I come into a corner (especially if the toad is already old and slipary as it is) on a wet road, because the tyres break lose verry fast and u end up understearing. Wear after about 25K km is verey good, in my opiniom. On front tyres (now feeted on the back) I have a bit less than 6 mm of thread left and on the back tyres (now on the front) I have about 6,5mm. Verry confortable tyre, quiet, as a winter tyre can be haha, and deals with bumps in the road verry well. Generaly verry good tyres, but I won't buy them again because of the lack of wet grip. And another "problem" that I find is that I have to balance them every year when I fit them for the winter. That's probably because of the softer compond.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Spirited miles

SEAT LEON 1.8TSI

Used for 2 months. First I can say that these tires are really quiet. Snow handling is great, I was driving in a snow storm on a highway and felt very safe. Haven’t tested too much icy roads yet, but seems to be okay by the first impression.
Sometimes tends to be searching for a path on a straight road, need to adjust with the steering wheel. But not too bad, considering the 225 width.
Dry grip is average, wet grip is bit loose, powerful FWD car cannot put the torque onto the tarmac, gets wheel spin little too easy. Although aquaplaning is great, deep thread works well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI

See my winter review: https://youtu.be/5xcEHoJ_Sd0

Although there are possibly better winter tyres suited to the British climate, I really wanted to try out the Nokian WR D4 in snow, so was hopeful for a cold winter.

I've had the tyres on from November to March and I've used them in a range of temperatures from sub zero to the mild winter days we've had this time round

My initial reactions when I first had them fitted and it was mild, was that I felt the car frequently understeer on country road corners - obvious, I guess, as there's less rubber on the road. I'm not a particularly fast driver, but I did have to change my driving style slightly whilst cornering.

When the temperature dropped though these tyres felt amazing. Especially 4°c and below the soft compound really gripped the road. I noticed on frosty and icy mornings that the grip level was superior to my summer tyres.

Then it snowed. Wow! I almost felt like I was driving in my summer tyres on a bone dry road. The Nokians gripped the road to get my up steep hills without a problem, the breaking response was amazing as the car easily slowed or stopped and just general driving in the snow felt normal.

These tyres gave me so much confidence in the snow and, having a young child, I felt safe.

They're definitely going back on next winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-16-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,800 Average miles

Opel Corsa C

I drove Nokian WR D4 on 14inch wheels for more than 2500 km (all season) and i am very satisfy from the tires, about their feedback on dry and snowy roads, especially on snow when i had no problems with grip or the most important braking. after 2500 km i still got 7 - 7.5 mm of thread on my tires, i higly recomend WR D4 especially because of the price/performance ratio, and their silent wall technology which makes them very quit tyre even on 120km/h speed on high way....

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Citroën C5

If you use that tyre with correct pressure, you can not complain about any other items and no need to look for any other tyres for winter. I had lost first 4mm after 9000 km by 32 psi. Then i increased the pressure to 35 psi and lost other 3 mm after 14.000 km. For wet, dry and snow i cannot offer any other tyre since i had almost used 12 different tyres in winters and covered more than 200k km. for ice, performance is a little bit behind of UG and Alpin.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps

these tyres are brilliant for winter conditions and cold rain conditions i have them on my 2015 renault clio iv 1.5 dci i have put around 15.000 kilometers in snow and rain and dry conditions in 2 years the wear is fairly good they have about 70-60 % treadlife still on them .the only think that i dont like but i guess its the same in the winter tires is the noise they make and especially when braking . last but not least they are very very good in pooring rain, just 2 days ago i made 650 kms in 1 day in pooring rain almost all day they eat through the water like nothing they grip the road and make you feel safe.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i30

Dry: Very good steering response and grip

Wet: Easy to oversteer with a FWD car, you can break the tyres loose with a hard pull on the steering wheel and allow you to drift through corners nicely. In short, the wet grip is not very good, a lot of wheel spin when accelerating fast, and the tyres can start slipping in corners quickly without warning but you can keep steering, no understeer.

Snow: Very good in snow, but much better in deep snow than on thin layers of snow or frozen snow.

Comfort: Pretty pleasant ride, dampens vibrations well but they're a little too noisy at any speed (mostly when wet)

Wear rate: Pretty bad, probably due to the very soft compound and aggressive pattern.

Conclusion: Very fun tyres to drive, but not the safest in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.