Pirelli PZero Nero

The Pirelli PZero Nero is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli PZero Nero
69%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
66%
Road Feedback
71%
Progressiveness
71%
Wear
68%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
60%

Pirelli PZero Nero Reviews (3)

53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST170

In dry it's okay,but in wet it just oversteers and understeers at the same time, so it's very hard to control.while taking corners it doesnt give you the trust of P zero.I fitted the neros because pirelli doesnt make regular p zero in this size. After regular p zero these tires are huge disappointment. Even toyo proxes t1r's were better in wet. Would never by again and will switch to michelin ps3.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 1,000 Average miles

Holden 2005 VZ SV6

Very good tyre. Smooth, quiet and very grippy.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar X Type 2.2d

Performance is just about acceptable. The tyre noise transmitted to the interior is appalling for tyres which were standard factory fitment, to the point where we considered selling the car. Conversation was impossible at the UK motorway legal limit. Driving off the ferry at Calais was a revelation and the interior noise had totally disappeared, only to re-appear at Dover on our return. We will never fit Pirellis again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Grande Punto TJet

Mixed use (city-highway-track). It is an state of the art tyre on wet (except maybe aquaplaning) but in dry needs good warming before you get maximum grip and the feedback is inadequate. Plus that they wear quickly. Not as quick as Continental's but much more quick than Bridgestone's.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 JTD

Excellent Tyre!
I recommend to all who wants performance tyre and get good comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Fiat 500 Abarth

This tyre is fine in the dry but as soon as roads are wet the traction is significantly reduced and there is a constant feeling on corners that you will suddenly slide or oversteer . Generally poor feedback in dry or wet to the driver .Even with tyres at the correct pressures they feel soft and lack positiveness.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 120,000 Spirited miles

BMW 330d

I have driven 120k miles in my car and this is the first time with Pirelli. fine in the dry, nice and grippy and progressive. But when it gets wet, they are a liability. My car will spin them up in all gears up to 4th even at low revs which TC takes care of. Switch TC off and be a hooligan but wheel spin in 4th in a straight line at 35 is just silly. I have never experienced tyres so poor in the wet and on this will not be using pirellis again. Even the alleged cheaper asian tyres are safer in the wet than these are. you have been warned!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Corrado VR6

I don't understand those people who say bad thing about this tyre. I drive Corrado Vr6 with 190 horsepower and few modifications. I drive very fast and tire is very good. it's not the best i ever drive but it's really good. even in wet conditions.
They maybe drive those tyres with dot xx05...

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

MINI Cooper S Works

I had 2005MY R53 CooperS with around 200HP (open diff). Firstly I put Dunlop Sport Maxx on the car. The tires did not grip anything, no dry or wet grip. Simply nothing. The steering response was mushy. The tire was progressive though, predictible at limits. I hated them after 1000miles or so. Then switched to Pirelli Pzero Nero. When Pzero is cold it felt exactly same as the Dunlops. But when it is warm enough the dry traction was better than Dunlops. But still the tires were not giving laser sharp steering response that I was looking for. I belive this is due to the side walls being soft. Still lots of wheel spin, unexpected liftoff oversteers in the middle of the corner - managable though -, understeer in the long corners under half throttle...

Now I am driving a 2009MY JCW. The previous owner had the factory Dunlop ROF tires when I bought the car. It was the first time I drove with the ROFs so the first thing I noticed is the unbeliavably quick steering reponse. the tires were 2008MY, mostly worn and cracked. But the grip, steering response was far better than the Pzero's on my previous R53. I was completely shocked considering all the bad reviews I have been reading for the ROF tires for years. But the ride was unforgivingly harsh so I changed the tires to Pzero's again since it was quite cheap - making the same mistake twice. What I experienced on R53 came back to my R56JCW. Understeer, mushy steering wheel.
The credit I give to Pzeros is the soft ride, progresiveness at the limits and tire wear. What I look for in the tire are the ultimate grip, hard side walls (not ROF hard) to give sharp steering wheel response and high centering feel on the steering wheel. Next time I will be going for Bridgestone S001, RE002 or Michelin Pilot Super Sport.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
36%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo brera

Alfa Romeo Brera S 2.2 have these tyres as standard fitment. This is the fourth Alfa that I've had. When I bought my first Alfa in 2002 I was advised never to fit Pirelli tyres and I now know why. The marriage doesn't work. These tram-line terribly, they are one of the worst in the rain that I have experienced and they squirm under heavy breaking. In conclusion, I would never recommend these tyres to anyone.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.