Uniroyal RainExpert 3

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Uniroyal RainExpert 3
80%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
93%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
67%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
83%

Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14 Average miles

Volkswagen Golk Mk5

Best wet grip ever! Short stop during braking on wet. Very good grip on dry. Wear and comfort is ok. Much better tyre than Sportiva, Sava, Fulda, especially in wet conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Touran tdi

They are amazing in really wet weather situations. No the handling isn't great or anything, even with a lot of water under the tire, but outright wet grip is really top. In the dry, they are okay, alright, nothing special. Fuel economy seems to be a smidge worse than comparable tires from michelin, goodyear, continental etc, but nothing to worry about. They are a bit noisy with speeds above 130km/h, still comfy(65% sidewalls are pretty much always comfy, no matter the tire type). Noise isn't a problem for me, since my GF and me mostly travel at 120-130km/h speeds. When pushed to the limits in the dry, they start to squeal really badly and just smear away with a tendency to understeer. Not a tire i would put on a MX-5, Gt 86 or other sporty cars. In conclusion: Prbly the best wet tire we ever had on a car, but the rest is simply middle of the road. If you live in a very wet climate, yes. If its not raining 24/7 any other tire would prbly be a better choice

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v

65% 13" tyres are getting rarer in a quality brand, so unable to buy this size in Michelin, I tried these on my Polo 1.4 CL. Now I don't do many miles, but do make occasional 90 mile cross-Pennine or motorway journeys at speed. Wet weather grip and braking on these tyres is superb and very confidence-inspiring. For day-to-day running, I set the car with 30psi front/28psi rear (add 2psi all-around for motorway/load) that dials-out excessive understeer, while giving a neutral but safe handling balance. I've no complaints about dry grip that seem on a par with the old Michelin Energy, (unlike the cheap tyres fitted by the previous owner, where you didn't so much as steer the car, but made a suggestion on your desired direction. My favourite roundabout was not so much fun when it looked like I would be going over, rather than around it) they make it able to dart around sudden hazards in the road without drama, and cope with high speed cornering. Being a VW the steering doesn't communicate much anyway, but I know what's happening. The tyres give a handling balance that makes a cross-Pennine journey, with a “spirited” drive through the many swoops and dives an entertaining experience, nevertheless. Most likely not the highest-mileage tyre, but if fitted to the household’s second car, or your daughter/son’s first car the grip levels will keep them safe without too much of an outlay.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-13-T
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Honda CRV 2.0 2009

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Renault KANGOO 1.9

Haven' t used too many other brands and models but Uniroyal Rainexpert is the best everyday tyre I've used.
What I like the most of it is - grip. Grip on wet and flooded surface is exceptionally great! Where other tyres are "floating" Rainexpert make you feel that no conditions have changed. On dry it has so much grip that it almost feels I'm driving on semi slicks. Keeps my kind of wobbling suspension Kangoo on corners like sports car.
Using on this car a second set of these tyres. And will be using again.
Wear of tyre is quite rapid comparing to other tyres but for me the main thing is how car hold the road. It's a safety question for me. BTW I'm using these with EBC Bluestuf compound pads. Perfect combination on Kangoo MK1.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-14-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20 Easy Going miles

Hyundai elantra

Handling on wet is great, they have a slight noise to them, very slight tho. We have them for a year now and after over 12 000 km they still look like new, there was no considerable expenditure on the threads.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-16-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 33 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro

On my second set. First lasted 3 years, weekly commute from Perthshire to Norfolk and driving around A47 etc staying alive..
Thus have driven in ALL conditions.
Tyres do wear, on mine it's the fronts that suffer the greater wear say 60/40 front to rear.
Tyres like the hot spells in Norfolk air temps in 30+ no ideas of road surface temp but they didn't enjoy being worked hard during that period but OK if capn sensible appeared....7/10 dry grip score during that period of hot temps..
Tyres are a bit noisy on some surfaces but hey....

Positives.
Confidence inspiring. They just get on with the job of the day, mundane or not. Wet conditions and standing water at motorway speeds are always a danger. These mitigate that danger [be aware that hitting 6" deep standing water in any tyre will not end well!] dry and wet grip more than adequate. Despite quattro I do not push, in the wet to the same extent as the dry.
Braking. Despite British drivers on British Roads, Duals and Motorways I have yet to trigger ABS in extremis, car does a good impression of bikers "stoppies" too.
Handling/Feedback Tyres let you know by sound and feel when your getting close. With full time quattro the dynamic change when centre diff operates can be felt but no understeer just a reduction in torque feedback on steering wheel.
These softish tyres come into their own in these circumstances. I imagine that they work equally well in either front or rear drive configuration.
All in all bloody good, more focused rubber will outperform them, but really, when bangs per buck come into it, it's no contest from my POV...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 525i

I run two sets of tyres on my BMW E61 525i- Michelin Pilot Alpin in the winter and Uniroyals all other times - As this is the car we use for our children safety is important & I believe that Uniroyals offer excellent grip & great value for money. As this is a family car high speed performance is not my primary concern - I would but Michelin Pilots if that was the case. They are very reassuring in wet weather & great all round performance. Wear is slightly high due to their soft compound but nothing to worry about - would buy again no problem.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

BMW 3 series

Pretty disapointed with this tyre. The wear rate is atrocius and after 12000 miles they where close to the wear indicators and I drive slow and easy.
It is a touring tyre and not a sports tyre so it is confortable but also a bit noisy due to the pattern design. The sidewalls are very soft so the steering is not very precise.
Grip in the wet is good especially aquaplaning resistance however wet handling is nothing special compared with sporty Michelins I had before. I have to say price/quality is not good in the end because wear is high.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-16-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 22,000 Easy Going miles

Fiat Panda

These tires were used on a day car for city and country road mainly. As with previous Uniroyal tires I've had these are well balanced on the road with consistent grip throughout their life. Grip in both dry and wet is good. The tires feel comfortable and they are very progressive. I did not feel that they gave enough feedback from the road and their wear performance was rather mediocre, especially since they were fitted on a small car.
Overall they are very good tires and I would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 155-80-13-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.