Uniroyal RainExpert 3

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Uniroyal RainExpert 3
80%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
92%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
65%
Comfort
84%
Buy Again
83%

Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Honda CRV 2.0 2009

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Renault KANGOO 1.9

Haven' t used too many other brands and models but Uniroyal Rainexpert is the best everyday tyre I've used.
What I like the most of it is - grip. Grip on wet and flooded surface is exceptionally great! Where other tyres are "floating" Rainexpert make you feel that no conditions have changed. On dry it has so much grip that it almost feels I'm driving on semi slicks. Keeps my kind of wobbling suspension Kangoo on corners like sports car.
Using on this car a second set of these tyres. And will be using again.
Wear of tyre is quite rapid comparing to other tyres but for me the main thing is how car hold the road. It's a safety question for me. BTW I'm using these with EBC Bluestuf compound pads. Perfect combination on Kangoo MK1.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-14-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20 Easy Going miles

Hyundai elantra

Handling on wet is great, they have a slight noise to them, very slight tho. We have them for a year now and after over 12 000 km they still look like new, there was no considerable expenditure on the threads.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-16-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 33 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro

On my second set. First lasted 3 years, weekly commute from Perthshire to Norfolk and driving around A47 etc staying alive..
Thus have driven in ALL conditions.
Tyres do wear, on mine it's the fronts that suffer the greater wear say 60/40 front to rear.
Tyres like the hot spells in Norfolk air temps in 30+ no ideas of road surface temp but they didn't enjoy being worked hard during that period but OK if capn sensible appeared....7/10 dry grip score during that period of hot temps..
Tyres are a bit noisy on some surfaces but hey....

Positives.
Confidence inspiring. They just get on with the job of the day, mundane or not. Wet conditions and standing water at motorway speeds are always a danger. These mitigate that danger [be aware that hitting 6" deep standing water in any tyre will not end well!] dry and wet grip more than adequate. Despite quattro I do not push, in the wet to the same extent as the dry.
Braking. Despite British drivers on British Roads, Duals and Motorways I have yet to trigger ABS in extremis, car does a good impression of bikers "stoppies" too.
Handling/Feedback Tyres let you know by sound and feel when your getting close. With full time quattro the dynamic change when centre diff operates can be felt but no understeer just a reduction in torque feedback on steering wheel.
These softish tyres come into their own in these circumstances. I imagine that they work equally well in either front or rear drive configuration.
All in all bloody good, more focused rubber will outperform them, but really, when bangs per buck come into it, it's no contest from my POV...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 525i

I run two sets of tyres on my BMW E61 525i- Michelin Pilot Alpin in the winter and Uniroyals all other times - As this is the car we use for our children safety is important & I believe that Uniroyals offer excellent grip & great value for money. As this is a family car high speed performance is not my primary concern - I would but Michelin Pilots if that was the case. They are very reassuring in wet weather & great all round performance. Wear is slightly high due to their soft compound but nothing to worry about - would buy again no problem.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 525i

Je cours deux séries de pneus sur ma BMW E61 525i- Michelin Pilot Alpin en hiver et Uniroyals tous les autres fois - Comme c'est la voiture que nous utilisons pour nos enfants, la sécurité est importante et je crois que Uniroyals offre une excellente adhérence et un excellent rapport qualité prix . Comme il s'agit d'une voiture familiale, la performance à haute vitesse n'est pas ma principale préoccupation - je le ferais, mais Michelin Pilots si tel était le cas. Ils sont très rassurants par temps de pluie et très performants. L'usure est légèrement élevée en raison de leur composé doux, mais rien à craindre - achèterait encore aucun problème.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 525i

Ich fahre im Winter zwei Reifensätze an meinem BMW E61 525- Michelin Pilot Alpin und alle anderen Zeiten an Uniroyals. Da dies das Auto ist, das wir für unsere Kinder verwenden, ist Sicherheit wichtig und ich glaube, dass Uniroyals exzellenten Grip und ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis bieten . Da dies ein Familienauto ist, ist die Hochgeschwindigkeitsleistung nicht meine Hauptsorge - ich würde aber Michelin-Piloten, wenn das der Fall wäre. Sie sind sehr beruhigend bei nassem Wetter und großartige Leistung. Die Abnutzung ist wegen ihrer weichen Verbindung etwas hoch, aber nichts, worüber man sich sorgen müsste - würde wieder kein Problem kaufen.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

BMW 3 series

Pretty disapointed with this tyre. The wear rate is atrocius and after 12000 miles they where close to the wear indicators and I drive slow and easy.
It is a touring tyre and not a sports tyre so it is confortable but also a bit noisy due to the pattern design. The sidewalls are very soft so the steering is not very precise.
Grip in the wet is good especially aquaplaning resistance however wet handling is nothing special compared with sporty Michelins I had before. I have to say price/quality is not good in the end because wear is high.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-16-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 22,000 Easy Going miles

Fiat Panda

These tires were used on a day car for city and country road mainly. As with previous Uniroyal tires I've had these are well balanced on the road with consistent grip throughout their life. Grip in both dry and wet is good. The tires feel comfortable and they are very progressive. I did not feel that they gave enough feedback from the road and their wear performance was rather mediocre, especially since they were fitted on a small car.
Overall they are very good tires and I would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 155-80-13-T
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 22,000 Easy Going miles

Fiat Panda

Ces pneus ont été utilisés sur une voiture de jour pour la ville et la route de campagne principalement. Comme avec les pneus Uniroyal précédents, je les ai bien équilibrés sur la route avec une adhérence constante tout au long de leur vie. Grip à la fois sec et humide est bon. Les pneus sont confortables et très progressifs. Je n'avais pas l'impression qu'ils donnaient assez de feedback sur la route et que leur performance d'usure était plutôt médiocre, d'autant plus qu'ils étaient montés sur une petite voiture.
Dans l'ensemble, ils sont de très bons pneus et j'achèterais encore.

Tyre size reviewed: 155-80-13-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.