Pirelli P6000

The Pirelli P6000 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli P6000
55%[average]
Dry Grip
66%
Wet Grip
47%
Road Feedback
55%
Progressiveness
48%
Wear
67%
Comfort
61%
Buy Again
38%

Pirelli P6000 Reviews

13%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI

These really are the worst branded tyres I've ever driven on. They came on my Impreza STI and I can only describe them as lethal. The dry grip was really poor but the slightest bit of damp is like driving in icy conditions. Seriously, I don't know how these things can even be sold! I took them straight off and swapped them for some Goodyear Asymmetrics which transformed the car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Jaguar S type 3.0

These tyres are awful, They are noisy, in the wet they are lethal and even in the dry they are not great. Even being extremely cautious in the slightest of damp weather in a straight line the tyres squirrel around and the traction control light keeps coming on making stopping distances a lot longer than they should be. Do not buy. A good rule of thumb is tyres that last a long time generally dont have much grip. These prove that point.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Jaguar S type 3.0

Ces pneus sont affreux, ils sont bruyants, sur le mouillé ils sont mortels et même dans le sec ils ne sont pas géniaux. Même en étant extrêmement prudent lorsque le temps est humide, en ligne droite, les pneus s’écrasent et le témoin de contrôle de la traction continue à faire des distances de freinage beaucoup plus longues qu’elles ne devraient être. N'achète pas. Une bonne règle de base est que les pneus qui durent longtemps n’ont généralement pas beaucoup d’adhérence. Celles-ci prouvent ce point.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Jaguar S type 3.0

Diese Reifen sind schrecklich, sie sind laut, im Nassen sind sie tödlich und selbst im Trockenen sind sie nicht großartig. Selbst wenn man bei leichtem feuchtem Wetter in einer geraden Linie extrem vorsichtig ist, rasten die Reifen herum und die Traktionskontrollleuchte leuchtet weiter, wodurch die Bremsdistanzen viel länger werden, als sie eigentlich sein sollten. Nicht kaufen. Eine gute Faustregel ist, dass Reifen, die lange halten, im Allgemeinen nicht viel Halt haben. Das beweisen diesen Punkt.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus MK1

Used them in mixed conditions, in city and in country roads. The grip is quite poor especially in wet. I experienced aquaplaning several times at 90 km/h (scary experience). Braking in the wet is disappointing, when braking harder had wheels blocking. Regarding wear, from 6mm to 3mm in 15k km on front wheels. Would not buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 147

Bought some used wheels & tyres for my Alfa Romeo 147, which came with some Pirelli P6000 on, though part worn, these are a decent brand of tyre going on previous experience.... Having used them on front driving wheel for many weeks i have to report a mixed experience! While grip seems pretty good wet or dry, feedback has not been as good as expected and my goodness the noise from them, while driving on any road has to be honest got to point where i'm replacing them with some Matador tyres i've bought. Can't comment on wear as already part worn. While i'm not completely disappointed with these P6000 and know Pirelli's tend to be more sports handling targetted i can't abide the vibration noise i get which i believe is a result of the firm suspension my Alfa has as standard, if hadn't had 17 inch wheels on it with Evergreen tyres that were very quiet previously i'd have thought i had a faulty wheel bearing. So in conclusion a good tyre let down by resonance issues on vehicles with firm suspension, though probably better on softer sprung vehicles. Happy driving folks..!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Jaguar S type 4.2 SE naturally aspirated

These tyres were fitted by Jaguar to thousands of their new cars manufactured in the period from 1998 to 2004. I have purchased
5 used low mileage vehicles built in this era when Ford was in the process of reviving the brand.

A Jaguar master technician once told me that the Pirelli 6000 was selected by the manufacturer as the first step in the design process. The cars were then built around this tyre as opposed to the tyre being selected upon completion of the build.

My opinion, based on over 200,000 miles of driving on all types of road, is that the Pirelli 6000 is a superb tyre for the XJ8 and S-type cars. As everyone knows, Jaguars have, until more recent times, been noted for their soft pampering ride. This quality was largely derived from a superb suspension system mated with a relatively large and heavy car body. A quality, strongly built set of tyres is essential for these Jaguars.

In conclusion, if you own one of these vehicles, the P6000 tyre will deliver - at speed, on wet roads, dry roads, round the bends and under heavy braking. Add good durability and low noise levels for a great all rounder!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-17-W
16%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Ibiza

Four tyres of P6000 were installed from factory to my fathers personal car, Seat Ibiza MKII 50 PS. Stay away of them! The only good thing of these tyres is......NOTHING! I’ m not joking. Dry grip is bad, comfort doesn't exist and they are very noisy as well. Wet grip is Terrible/Horrifying and you face aquaplaning all the time, even if with low speed. Road feedback and progressivess are poor and you don't know how your car will reacts on any kind of road. Project Pirelli P6000 is a great failure for Pirellis history. Highly NOT recommended!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-H
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster

These tyres are the most dangerous, and frightening tyres I have ever had the misfortune of having on a car. I really do not know how they can get away with selling them, as are an absolute death trap in the wet. My girlfriend and even my mother, who is a slow cautious driver. Had a spin in the wet.
These tyres were on the car when I brought it and have never enjoyed driving it until they were changed, now it is a completely different car to drive. Performance in the dry was OK, but any slightly damp serface had to be treated as if driving on ice. Some surfaces worse than others on which the car could loose complete grip violently with no chance of regaining control.
I don't know what these tyres are like on a larger heavier car. But can 100% say that these are in no way suitable on a small, lightweight, or rear wheel drive vehicles.
If you have them.... Change them immediately if you value your life.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-15-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Mazda 6

Tyres simply worn out far to quickly. Lots of road noise in the cabin. Changed to Bridgestone ecopia er300 and never looked back

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.