Vredestein Quatrac 5

The Vredestein Quatrac 5 is a All Season High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Quatrac 5
81%[average]
Dry Grip
82%
Wet Grip
82%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
83%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
81%

Vredestein Quatrac 5 Reviews

66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Caddy

I have these tyres on a MK2 VW Caddy SDi 1.9 diesel with not much over 60bhp. They have now covered around 12,000 to 15,000 miles, fronts are down to 5mm with heavy wear on the edges and the rears are down to 7mm. Most of my driving has been on road trips through Europe in summer in very hot temperatures with a fairly heavy load, I mainly use a car for day to day driving. In the dry these tyres perform as well as all but the best summer tyres although they are starting to drop off with regular wheelspin occurring even in the dry in recent times. The van will understeer a bit at the limit but it is to be expected on a front drive which combined with the coilovers handles nearly as well as my BMW 1 series. In the wet handling is also good on corners but wheelspin is now nearly as bad as any tyres I've experienced when launching or accelerating hard. For the first 10 to 12 thousand miles wheelspin wasn't a problem in the wet. Braking wise in the wet even when the tyres were new they were only average, now they are close to being dangerous with planning needed in bad conditions, in an emergency situation you are going to crash. I believe the performance drop off may be due to the excessively hot conditions the tyres have been mainly used in as heat cycles will harden rubber, the fact that the fronts have barely worn down much more than the rears show that they may have been overheated when barreling down the alps and doing a couple of laps of the Nurbirgring. When I happened to be using the van after not driving it much for a while it rained and I had no chance of stopping from a not fast speed for a junction, luckily I timed the traffic while I was locking and unlocking the wheels so as not to crash as I pulled straight out in front of someone. Now I am very steady whenever the rain starts to fall or I make sure to drive something else and will swap the tyres around as soon as the summer starts to end. If performance is still unsafe when braking in the wet I will purchase a pair of Michelin Cross Climates for the front as according to the tests they maintain performance until they are on the legal limit. I can't stick with dangerous tyres no matter how much tread they have left, they are great still in dry conditions and would recommend them if you can get them for a good enough price. I've also got Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons on my 1 series, the Michelins were too expensive for those wheels, so far the Goodyears have impressed although they don't seem quite as good as these Vredestines were when new in the dry. I haven't had the pleasure of snow and ice driving with the Vredestines but on cold tarmac in the winter they out grip most summer tyres in corners but are a bit weak when braking again. For the record the van has had new brake pads, discs, fluid and I've cleaned all the dust out of the drums, plus the shoes are within the service limit. All done since I've had these tyres, plus it has gone through 2 MOT's. Most of my driving has been easy going except on occasion, rolling resistance is very good, on long motorway runs at 50mph I was averaging close to 70mpg. Normal UK driving gets me mid 50's to the gallon. Overall the Quadrac 5 are good but if you are keeping the vehicle allow them to need replacement within 15,000 miles unless you are happy with sub par / dangerous wet weather performance. You can buy better tyres but if the price is right still worth a look.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo estate

Generally happy with tyre performance other than durability. 2have developed bulges in the sidewalls with no known impact within a year/8000 miles, doesn't look like vredestein is going to be interested in the UK (they offer warranties in other countries). Unless resolved these will be the last I buy

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 20,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 205

Excellent especially in the dry and for an all-season tyre, and with a very progressive handling. I cannot over-exaggerate how can a human-invented substance have so much grip. Mankind has never seen something like this, and probably will never again. Even at the racetrack, these tyres are unbelievable. As an example, you can check my lap at the Nordschleife on Youtube, under the title: "Peugeot 205 1.1i (60 HP) - Nürburgring Nordschleife BTG lap in 10'19" on all-season tyres".

Tyre size reviewed: 155-55-13-T
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus 2002 Hatchback

My experience with these tyres: -very good as summer tyres, with high levels of grip in the dry -decent as winter tyres -they retain the same characteristics in any outside temperature Some things to point out: -they have been quite noisy throughout their life -the sidewall is taller compared to other same size tyres (dispite this, the handling is very good) -although the tyre pressures were always correct and regularly checked, the edges did wear faster than the inside of the tyres. Higher tyre pressures seemed to solve this problem slightly

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Mondeo mk3 2.0 petrol

Many years ago whilst living in Scotland I used to use Vredestein tyres sold by the local garage. .Don't knoiw why I got out of the habit. Now living in Derbyshire, most of my driving is on muddy local lanes and roads with a few ventures onto motorways.
As my old Mondeo passed yet another MOT I had to buy tyres for it. I'm not a tyre geek, but prefer a quiet tyre. After a bit of research and reading the reviews here I decided on an all season tyre and rekindled my enthusiasm for Vredestein.
From the second I drove away from the garage I knew I'd made the correct choice. The Quatrac 5 is quiet. It isn't soggy, pretty firm, gives lovely feedback and is great on the local muddy lanes. The day after fitting they got a blast down the motorway going south - a really comfortable and secure experience in cold heavy rain and flooded roads.
We've only driven about 500 miles, deliberately enacted a few emergency stops and slews in the wet and dry. No spin when accelerating. So far they're knocking spots of the Toyos, Michelins, Goodyears we've used in past times.
Can't speak for longevity as it's early days and awaiting some snow and ice.
How can one get so enthusiastic about four bits of rubber?

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 50,000 Average miles

Ford Bmax

Living in the Netherlands, grip in wet conditions is more important than in snow. I drove 80.000 km with one set and still have 3.5 mm left. Grip in the wet is great compared to my previous tyres (factory fit on a Ford Fiesta, don't know which ones). When going to Germany in winter, grip in snow turned out to be bad. a slight incline was too much on compacted snow. To me, this doesn't matter because that's 0,5 of the 80.000 km I drove with those tires. The grip in the wet, wear and comfort make them a 'buy again'! 3 mm is fine for next summer if they'll last that long, 1,6 mm is required in the Netherlands. So this is past 'mid life' but will take some time before replacement.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-16-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Audi 1.8T Quattro

Had these on my Audi A5 Quattro for 2 years and 30,000 miles. Just had the MOT and all 4 still have 6mm of tread on them.
They are really quiet and smooth and have excellent grip in snow, wet and dry conditions. Will definitely buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia

When on wet surfaces, I couldn't tell much difference compared to the dry ones! A bit understeering when pushed to the limit on dry tarmac, but until right before the limit it's as good as a premium summer tyre. Really comfortable on bumpy - uneven surfaces.

It surely prevents you from using chains when dealing with snow and ice. I'd definitely buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec B

Having had our first significant snowfall of the year, a solid 10cm on the side roads, these tyres have performed exceptionally. They provide ample grip on even significant snow covered inclines, granted with the assistance of the AWD system in my legacy, but its is the lateral grip while cornering and stopping power that really stands out.
Even in lower temperatures - sub 5/6 degrees C- they remain noticeably more flexible, retaining the same grip available at higher temperatures.
Wear is too early to comment other than there are no real signs after 1000 miles on a fairly potent legacy spec b.
100% recommend to anyone looking for a winter/ all season.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 32,500 Average miles

Hyundai Getz

Tyres are fitted in March 2016. Till now 32500miles are done. No problems in summers and winters until this year. Thread depth is 4mm now and my car slides on snow sometimes. Put winter tyres in January and no slide anymore. Think that they will serve as a summer tyre for one season and that's all.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.