Vredestein Quatrac 5

The Vredestein Quatrac 5 is a All Season High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Quatrac 5
80%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
80%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
83%
Comfort
85%
Buy Again
79%

Vredestein Quatrac 5 Reviews

60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Caddy

This is my second review of these tyres as I ended up using my van for work over the past winter so clocked about another 15000 miles. I swapped the rears with the fronts and the edges of the fronts were fairly worn and I was suffering with a lot of wheelspin and dangerous braking. The swap improved the braking to the point of not dangerous over winter but it was still below average, handling also improved but on the cold roads I was still getting a lot of wheelspin. One particularly bad trip up north on a motorway run I was suffering extremely badly with aquaplaning even with around 6mm of tread left on them. I swapped them out after with a pair of Michelin cross climates which pretty much solved all my handling, grip, aquaplaning and braking issues. I kept the worn ones on the back and they were fine for the rest of the winter with no problems at all there. Now it's summer I've switched those back to the front and inflated to 45psi cold to get the last use out of them before replacing with the less worn ones. The increased pressure seems to have improved the grip, braking and handling from what it was before. In the warm and dry they are better handling than the cross climates although still not as good in the wet or on the brakes but do seem better than before. I also had some snow driving with the less worn pair on the front before swapping to the Michelins and although they are not as good as those in the cold, wet and ice they actually worked better in snow for me. The Michelins look at least half worn after just 6000 miles on the front so considering the cost difference I'd say the Vredestines are a better tyre unless you are doing a lot of driving in bad conditions. In which case I'd probably try the Goodyear Vector 4's which will be going on my Golf diesel this winter. As I said in the last review the Quadrac 5's were pretty good all round for the first 12,000 miles, I don't think the Cross climates would even last any longer than 12,000 miles so the Vredestines win by default. The aquaplaning on the front with the hardly worn tyres is my biggest issue and the reason I won't buy these again. The newer version is supposed to be 10% better for that but that's not good enough. Make it 25% and I'd be interested. The Michelins have not aquaplaned once and they are down to about 4mm. The worn pair still on the van is down to about 3mm tread after approximately 20,000 miles on the front and 10,000 on the rear. They are bald on the outside edges but still legal as you only need 1.6mm on 75% of the centre tread in the UK.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Toyota RAV4

Very impressive all around performing tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-65-17-H
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

Suzuki Supercarry tx

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Renault Renault Megane III Estate 1.5dci

I drove about 10,000 miles on these tires and in general I can say that the tires are worthy for those who do not want to bother with changing tires or wheels during the winter period. If the winter is not harsh, you can definitely buy it, but preferably not a low profile because it will be harsh) Otherwise, the tires is not noisy, works well on a dry surface, but it is difficult works on ice or snow, but on snow not as critical as on ice. The conclusion is very simple, use this tire only in a mild winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Caddy

I have these tyres on a MK2 VW Caddy SDi 1.9 diesel with not much over 60bhp. They have now covered around 12,000 to 15,000 miles, fronts are down to 5mm with heavy wear on the edges and the rears are down to 7mm. Most of my driving has been on road trips through Europe in summer in very hot temperatures with a fairly heavy load, I mainly use a car for day to day driving. In the dry these tyres perform as well as all but the best summer tyres although they are starting to drop off with regular wheelspin occurring even in the dry in recent times. The van will understeer a bit at the limit but it is to be expected on a front drive which combined with the coilovers handles nearly as well as my BMW 1 series. In the wet handling is also good on corners but wheelspin is now nearly as bad as any tyres I've experienced when launching or accelerating hard. For the first 10 to 12 thousand miles wheelspin wasn't a problem in the wet. Braking wise in the wet even when the tyres were new they were only average, now they are close to being dangerous with planning needed in bad conditions, in an emergency situation you are going to crash. I believe the performance drop off may be due to the excessively hot conditions the tyres have been mainly used in as heat cycles will harden rubber, the fact that the fronts have barely worn down much more than the rears show that they may have been overheated when barreling down the alps and doing a couple of laps of the Nurbirgring. When I happened to be using the van after not driving it much for a while it rained and I had no chance of stopping from a not fast speed for a junction, luckily I timed the traffic while I was locking and unlocking the wheels so as not to crash as I pulled straight out in front of someone. Now I am very steady whenever the rain starts to fall or I make sure to drive something else and will swap the tyres around as soon as the summer starts to end. If performance is still unsafe when braking in the wet I will purchase a pair of Michelin Cross Climates for the front as according to the tests they maintain performance until they are on the legal limit. I can't stick with dangerous tyres no matter how much tread they have left, they are great still in dry conditions and would recommend them if you can get them for a good enough price. I've also got Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons on my 1 series, the Michelins were too expensive for those wheels, so far the Goodyears have impressed although they don't seem quite as good as these Vredestines were when new in the dry. I haven't had the pleasure of snow and ice driving with the Vredestines but on cold tarmac in the winter they out grip most summer tyres in corners but are a bit weak when braking again. For the record the van has had new brake pads, discs, fluid and I've cleaned all the dust out of the drums, plus the shoes are within the service limit. All done since I've had these tyres, plus it has gone through 2 MOT's. Most of my driving has been easy going except on occasion, rolling resistance is very good, on long motorway runs at 50mph I was averaging close to 70mpg. Normal UK driving gets me mid 50's to the gallon. Overall the Quadrac 5 are good but if you are keeping the vehicle allow them to need replacement within 15,000 miles unless you are happy with sub par / dangerous wet weather performance. You can buy better tyres but if the price is right still worth a look.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo estate

Generally happy with tyre performance other than durability. 2have developed bulges in the sidewalls with no known impact within a year/8000 miles, doesn't look like vredestein is going to be interested in the UK (they offer warranties in other countries). Unless resolved these will be the last I buy

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 20,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 205

Excellent especially in the dry and for an all-season tyre, and with a very progressive handling. I cannot over-exaggerate how can a human-invented substance have so much grip. Mankind has never seen something like this, and probably will never again. Even at the racetrack, these tyres are unbelievable. As an example, you can check my lap at the Nordschleife on Youtube, under the title: "Peugeot 205 1.1i (60 HP) - Nürburgring Nordschleife BTG lap in 10'19" on all-season tyres".

Tyre size reviewed: 155-55-13-T
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus 2002 Hatchback

My experience with these tyres: -very good as summer tyres, with high levels of grip in the dry -decent as winter tyres -they retain the same characteristics in any outside temperature Some things to point out: -they have been quite noisy throughout their life -the sidewall is taller compared to other same size tyres (dispite this, the handling is very good) -although the tyre pressures were always correct and regularly checked, the edges did wear faster than the inside of the tyres. Higher tyre pressures seemed to solve this problem slightly

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Mondeo mk3 2.0 petrol

Many years ago whilst living in Scotland I used to use Vredestein tyres sold by the local garage. .Don't knoiw why I got out of the habit. Now living in Derbyshire, most of my driving is on muddy local lanes and roads with a few ventures onto motorways.
As my old Mondeo passed yet another MOT I had to buy tyres for it. I'm not a tyre geek, but prefer a quiet tyre. After a bit of research and reading the reviews here I decided on an all season tyre and rekindled my enthusiasm for Vredestein.
From the second I drove away from the garage I knew I'd made the correct choice. The Quatrac 5 is quiet. It isn't soggy, pretty firm, gives lovely feedback and is great on the local muddy lanes. The day after fitting they got a blast down the motorway going south - a really comfortable and secure experience in cold heavy rain and flooded roads.
We've only driven about 500 miles, deliberately enacted a few emergency stops and slews in the wet and dry. No spin when accelerating. So far they're knocking spots of the Toyos, Michelins, Goodyears we've used in past times.
Can't speak for longevity as it's early days and awaiting some snow and ice.
How can one get so enthusiastic about four bits of rubber?

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 50,000 Average miles

Ford Bmax

Living in the Netherlands, grip in wet conditions is more important than in snow. I drove 80.000 km with one set and still have 3.5 mm left. Grip in the wet is great compared to my previous tyres (factory fit on a Ford Fiesta, don't know which ones). When going to Germany in winter, grip in snow turned out to be bad. a slight incline was too much on compacted snow. To me, this doesn't matter because that's 0,5 of the 80.000 km I drove with those tires. The grip in the wet, wear and comfort make them a 'buy again'! 3 mm is fine for next summer if they'll last that long, 1,6 mm is required in the Netherlands. So this is past 'mid life' but will take some time before replacement.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.