Nexen N Fera SU1

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nexen N Fera SU1
79%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
77%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
74%

Nexen N Fera SU1 Reviews

50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

Had these on for 6 months now and I have no confidence in them going round corners in the wet, slightest bit of damp road and I spin the wheels if I touch the throttle.
Can't wait to change them

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra GTC

These Nexen N'fera SU1 tyres initially replaced Continental Sport Contact tyres on the front of the car.

These tyres are half the price of the Continentals, so how would they stack up against the standard OEM equipment? 245 40 R20 tyres offer a fair bit of grip and contact patch for a sports coupe/hatchback, but care must be taken if there is surface water with tyres this wide.

My first thoughts were how good these Nexens felt, even from new. New tyres normally start to feel better after they've had a chance to be scrubbed.

A good percentage of my driving takes place on winding country roads in the middle of nowhere, so the tyres get pushed to their limits. If I'm perfectly honest, I immediately preferred these SU1's over the Conti's, in just about every way.

The grip in both wet and dry conditions is very good, reassuringly so on twisty country roads. The noise levels from the tyres are acceptable but get louder once the tread wears below 4mm - this is more appreciable on motorway journeys.

Progressive feel as the tyres reach and exceed their limits can only be described as first rate. These tyres are very nicely mannered and give me very little cause for concern, even when I'm in a hurry.

During a particularly severe deluge on the M4 near Newport, the Motorway basically became a lake. Aquaplaning was the biggest concern, purely due to the shear volume of water. Reducing the speed, the tyres held their own whilst we witnessed 3 Aquaplaning related accidents within a 10 mile stretch! This was when the tyres were around 5mm.

These tyres seem to give decent enough fuel economy, similar to the Conti's, but with better grip levels.

Wear rates are acceptable considering the grip performance, though the Conti's had longer life.

We now have the Nexen N'fera SU1's on all 4 corners of the car and it feels planted and safe. Steering is responsive, braking is good and both cornering and acceleration are exactly what you'd want for the GTC.

All with a tyre costing 50% less.

Now with Nexen RU1's being OE on Porsche Cayenne and Macan models, it's even harder not to take these tyres seriously.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-20-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra GTC

These Nexen N'fera SU1 tyres initially replaced Continental Sport Contact tyres on the front of the car.

These tyres are half the price of the Continentals, so how would they stack up against the standard OEM equipment? 245 40 R20 tyres offer a fair bit of grip and contact patch for a sports coupe/hatchback, but care must be taken if there is surface water with tyres this wide.

My first thoughts were how good these Nexens felt, even from new. New tyres normally start to feel better after they've had a chance to be scrubbed.

A good percentage of my driving takes place on winding country roads in the middle of nowhere, so the tyres get pushed to their limits. If I'm perfectly honest, I immediately preferred these SU1's over the Conti's, in just about every way.

The grip in both wet and dry conditions is very good, reassuringly so on twisty country roads. The noise levels from the tyres are acceptable but get louder once the tread wears below 4mm - this is more appreciable on motorway journeys.

Progressive feel as the tyres reach and exceed their limits can only be described as first rate. These tyres are very nicely mannered and give me very little cause for concern, even when I'm in a hurry.

During a particularly severe deluge on the M4 near Newport, the Motorway basically became a lake. Aquaplaning was the biggest concern, purely due to the shear volume of water. Reducing the speed, the tyres held their own whilst we witnessed 3 Aquaplaning related accidents within a 10 mile stretch! This was when the tyres were around 5mm.

These tyres seem to give decent enough fuel economy, similar to the Conti's, but with better grip levels.

Wear rates are acceptable considering the grip performance, though the Conti's had longer life.

We now have the Nexen N'fera SU1's on all 4 corners of the car and it feels planted and safe. Steering is responsive, braking is good and both cornering and acceleration are exactly what you'd want for the GTC.

All with a tyre costing 50% less.

Now with Nexen RU1's being OE on Porsche Cayenne and Macan models, it's even harder not to take these tyres seriously.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-20-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

BMW 320D M Sport

From michelin to these,first difference you will notice is sound,they are quiteer 30% or even more, wet grip is great as dry also,since i am driving bmw i also push pedal sometimes harder and trust me you won t hear these to squeal.after 10 000 km rubber is still like new and i don t see sign of usage...my conclusion is that this tyre will very soon going to be in premium brand model with probably new summer model so buy it while they are cheap.you won t be dissapointed and they are affordable by reasonable price.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

When I purchased my car it had a set of Continental tyres on, but all were on the limit. The dealer agreed to replace all four tyres and I paid £90 in total to upgrade them to mid- range Nexen’s. I am pleased I did as nearly two years on and 30k miles later there is still an even 5 mm plus on each corner. My car feels balanced, sure footed on bends and wet/ dry braking is not a problem. I always change over to my winter tyres in November which are Dunlop’s so I can’t comment on Nexen’s performance in ice or snow. I am very conscious about my tyres after al, regardless of what car you have they are all that connect you with the road. If I had a choice I would stick to premium brands, but Nexen’s do what I expect them to. I would certainly recommend them to anyone in the future based on my experience.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-19-W
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Infiniti Q70

Got this to replace my worn out Continental Sport Contact 5. Reason why I got these was that they were selling for 30% of the price of the Continentals and 50% of the Michelin in my area and wanted to try them out. So here's an initial review on it. It's got less feedback than the Conti and Michelins i'd say. Cornering is really not it's strong point and comfort levels can't be compared to those two either. It's not bad, the ride just feels a tad bit firm? Although, the Road noise is a lot quieter than the Conti's, perhaps as good or better than the Primacy to be honest. For the price, they're not bad. I find that they're better on wet roads than dry. They performed just like The Conti Sport Contact and Primacy in the wet for what I'm getting. Will I get them again? sure, reviews says that they wear pretty well. I'll find out once I've reached 20k miles or so.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-50-18-W
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Ibiza TSi

I normally buy decent mid-range tyres like Hankook, Kumho and sometimes Dunlop, currently driving a 2019 Seat Ibiza 1.0TSI 95PS.

These Nexen tyres came factory fitted on my new Seat Ibiza. Have to say I'm amazed that Seat have the gall to fit rubbish like these - last factory fit tyres that were this bad were Pirelli P6000 on a Corsa 15 years ago.

The Nexens feel fine, no complaints there, and seem to be able to brake decently enough, but they must have been designed with California in mind, because they just cannot do corners or wet roads.

Perfectly dry motorway exit roundabout on a 20C day, the pure power (all 95hp) of my Ibiza was able to totally overwhelm the Nexens, and I wasn't even accelerating hard, just making a smart exit from the roundabout. Lots of understeer and ESP intervention. This same roundabout could be negotiated at much more speed in my old Megane fitted with Bridgestone runflats. Yes, runflats.

As for wet grip, if you're an adrenelin junky, then the Nexens are for you. Really, driving these on a wet day is like driving a three wheeled shopping trolly, the car just goes wherever it likes.

Nexen is a new name for the old Woosung brand - they made terrible tyres in the 80s and 90s, and really they haven't improved as far as I can tell. Carrying on the Ditchfinder nickname.

I'll likely be getting real tyres fitted to the car before the really wet weather starts - annoying on a car with less than 800 miles on the clock. Likely go for Dunlop BlueResponse which I've had great service from in the past.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Opel insignia

Nothing bad to say, the most surprised was the durability of 25tkm driven and another 4mm surface.
The price has now risen so close to premium prices that I probably wouldn't buy anymore ...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Peugeot 106

I can’t compare fairly to my old tyres as they were different front to rear. I replaced a pair of Firestone Firehawk TZ200 up front and a pair of Falken ZE914 in the rear with a set of these Nexens and so far I am extremely impressed.

Firstly they cost around £20 less than the Firestones and seem to offer better dry grip and certainly more road feedback. They are also a lot quieter when new compared to the Firestones when new. I was going to go for a higher end brand but I happened to check the reviews on here for the N Fera SU1 and they were more than glowing with people comparing them to Continentals and the like, and I have to say, as a first impression I agree.

As a result, my car breaks away far less easily at the rear than with any tyres I’ve had on before these, which is a well known handling characteristic of 90s French front wheel drive cars as I’m sure other owners know, and the front end grip on turn-in is astonishingly good for what is, effectively, a budget brand.

Considering the grip compared to the advantage of only paying around £160 for a full set, I would definitely buy these again for this and other cars that I enjoy performance driving in.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-19-V
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Hyundai i40 sedan

Tyres generally grip better than the Hankooks they replaced, particularly when pulling away in the wet.

However, I would not buy them again due to the quality of the rubber compound. After just 7000 miles (in 10 months) we are having to look at replacing them due to cracking inbetween the tread blocks and degradation of the sidewall.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.