Michelin Alpin 5

The Michelin Alpin 5 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Alpin 5
86%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
86%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
87%
Comfort
91%
Buy Again
89%

Michelin Alpin 5 Reviews

77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 3
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

I have bought these tyres 3 years ago (end 2015 - DOT mid 2015) and they behaved well for the first three winter seasons. The previous winter tyres were Alpin 3 and in the fourth year they were not reliable at all, ice grip was zero.
My personal opinion is that there is a big catch with these tyres and Michelin tyres in general (summer ones are Michellin also and have the same problem). They are pretty good for the first 3 years but no more; after 3 years, regardless of mileage (I have only done 37k KM with both sets, minimal wear) rubber compound degrades beyond safety driving (with the summer set I had a few occasions where I could barely stop the car, and the winter set got me into a total car crash).
So, if you do enough mileage to replace them in 3 years, I would say they are fine, otherwise no; even Michellin says you could keep your tyres longer than 3 years.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Ford Focus mk2

since buying these winter tyres, i don't use anything else between October and April, the wet performance is outstanding,
And in the snow is unbelievable, i dont need a 4x4 in snow anymore, they really are that good.
if you drive sensibly, i dont see why they wouldnt last through the summer either, but i suspect if you push them when the roads are too hot and dry they wouldnt be able to handle it. i think they are best under 7 - 8 degrees celcius.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 2,000 Average miles

BMW 535d M Sport

So much grip and feel in snow, wet roads and dry roads. No vibrations. Perfect winter tyre and well worth the money.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Ford Focus MK3

When new the traction in the snow was phenomenal, almost felt like I had a 4x4. Obviously as the tyres wore down the edge was lost but I really recommend these as a great winter tyre. Lived for a winter in Norway so I do understand what it's like to drive on ice and snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 318D

Greate tire. I had it on a 3 serier 2010 BMW and in snow are greate, never let me down. I would buy them again for sure

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Average miles

Volvo V70 D5 AWD

Just got them fitted as an all year alternative. Aqua planing is very good, so is the low noise level. Have not tried them in winter conditions yet, but here where I live, its typically 12 degrees celsus and rain all year round. So tarmac and specially wet tarmac skills are what counts the most. Here them are safe in the wet, very steady in the grooves, and no drama. The only bad thing is brake grim on dry tarmac. I belive theese tyres are very good in snow... on ice... not so much, studded tires are of course better on ice, but you have to choose to what surface you drive the most.

Feedback from the tyres are not easy to tell, because the light steering and wobbly set ut of my volvo v70 takes away all feedback (I am spoiled with bmw feedback, chassis and steering, so theese tyres on a bmw would be great to try out)

This tyre is one of the best all year tyres I have ever tested. Works as a summer tyre in cold countryes. In warm countryes they will be too soft! Also its not the most hardcore wintertyre, but good enough, specially if you have 4x4.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Average miles

Volvo V40 1.5 T3 Geartronic

except the price and handling these are good tyres.Also wheel is absurdly get heavy in little turns.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.9 TDI

Very good tyre, never let me down, awesome on rain, good handling, very soft under -0.

Compared with Continental TS830 almost equal tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Skoda Yeti

Cool tyres for my 1.2 skoda yeti. So far I'm using them 1 year mainly country roads, some highway. They are certainly not made for summer above 30C, but below that point I have nothing to complain. In winter they have better grip compare to Conti. Not very progressive, quite soft to drive even below -10C

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.