Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT is a Summer Extreme Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT
71%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
69%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
59%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews (6)

89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 36 Average miles

Audi A5

I have just replaced all 4 Dunlop Sp Sport Maxx GT tyres on my A5 and insisted upon the same again as they have been exceptional in all road/weather conditions over 36,000 miles. They are certainly suited to the Quattro performance and well worth the minor additional outlay.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza

Great tyre good wear, cant agree with all the talk about poor in the wet, they are a performance summer tyre so are infact very good in the wet. And S5 saying not water displacement in centre if tyre us nonsense - What are the three three very large radial groove for?????????

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

BMW e90 M3

Loads of dry grip, surprisingly good in the wet too. They seem to be wearing a bit quickly but the dry grip makes up for that! Surprisingly comfortable too.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-40-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 19,000 Spirited miles

Audi S5

Have to disagree with some of the comments re Dunlop SP Sportmax GTs. Lovely in the dry, great wear, but so dangerous in the wet that I am changing them before they really warrant it so that I have a chance of living longer! The problem is aquaplaning in any standing water due to the lack of water shedding tread in the centre of the tyre. Hitting standing water at anything above 40mph can throw you into oncoming traffic.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 37,000 Spirited miles

Audi S5

Unbelievable milage out of the tyres

very supprised.

Fronts 32k rears 37k

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 17,500 Average miles

Audi S5

Now coming up to the point I have to replace them. May make 18,000 miles. Initially, these tyres were not very grippy at all. You could get understeer on a roundabout at low speed. However, once past the first 1000 miles they bedded in nicely and gave far more grip. The wear looked heavy at first but slowed down. For a while I thought they were not going to make 13,000 miles but now it looks like I will get to 18,000 on the front. The rears look like they have another 2000 in them on top.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Audi S5

These came on the car so i might not be totally subjective but these things are awesome in the dry, way better than i thought possible and are pretty good in the wet too. Looking at replacing them I might try the Eagle F1's but I hear they're not as grippy in the dry!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 350z

The best tyres I've used. Dry grip is simply stupid, way ahead of the Falken FK452s. Impressive in wet too considering they're meant to be 20% down on the Sport Maxx TT tyres. Great feedback once bedded in, slide beautifully (if you can get them to slide) and surprisingly comfortable considering. thoroughly impressed.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.