Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT is a Summer Extreme Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT
71%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
69%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
59%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews (5)

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C280 sport

At first to say i don't have much comparison material because these tires where the first high performance tires i used. My used car came fitted with the standard 16" alloys + Michelin Primacy HP which i traded in for 18" alloys + the Dunlop Sport Maxx GT. The grip in the dry is outstanding in my oppinion. When i tried to make the car do a power slide to check the limits i found that they don't slide easely. And when they do slide it is very docile. In the wet they where less docile but stil good in my oppinion. In the snow theye are tricky and loose almost al there traction, but i maneged to survive whitout a scrach (18") troughout the Dutch winter. Comfort is reasenable good in comperison to the feedback which is outstanding. The only negative side is the wear. I managed to get 14000 miles out of my back tires and they are almost flat by now.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Audi A5

Bought a brand new A5 sportsback Sep 2010, front tyres at 7500 miles already look worn. Last winter, grip in snow and ice pathetic! Seeing other comments I will not be replacing like for like when replacing in advance of winter 2011. Surprised that Audi use them and will feedback my views to Audi

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-R
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 36,000 Average miles

Audi A5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-W
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Came fitted on a new Octavia VRs, good at first but quickly lost grip especially in damp conditions. They can be foxed by a light dew in the morning, cue wheelspin, ASR comes on, passers by tut disapprovingly, it's not me it's the tyres I gesture...

I've only done 7500 miles and the front pair are badly worn in the centre. Performance in snow and ice is truly dreadful. I won't be replacing them like for like.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Audi S5

These tyres are OK in the dry, but in the wet, totally, totally rubbish. I've had every sort of steer you can get, which in s5 quattro is highly unusual. And now with only 10k on them I'm getting rid, going for 275/30 20" Vredstein Ultrac Sessanta on recommendation of a couple of other Audi drivers.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Audi S5

In reply to other user re comments on danger in standing water - yes there are 3 longitudinal grooves, but the trouble is that as the tyre wears, the shallow transverse grooves which the tyres have when new (which are supposed to channel water into these longitudinal grooves) wear away after a relatively short time. This made the car very susceptible to

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine

Great tyre in the dry and damp conditions, wears very well fronts still good at 12k rears will potentially last until 20k. However as mentioned in reviews by others, these things are deadly when hitting standing water so much so that when driving in wet conditions speed needs to be greatly reduced. As far as driving in snow or ice you have little if any traction, mainly due to the lack of cross cuts. Changing asap as no use what so ever for winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,500 Average miles

Audi A5

These were fitted to my wifes A5 when we bought it new from Audi, in the dry and the rain they are excellent, however in the snow even when brand new they are as much use as having bob sleighs on each wheel. The car is in our garage now and has been since it got stuck on a bank in thin snow near us, all the other cars simply drove round us and carried on up the bank!I had to turn the traction off and zigzag up the bank - totally embarrasing and dangerous. - NOT FOR SNOW

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 19 Spirited miles

Audi A5

Have these fitted on my Audi A5 3.0 TDI Quattro. Very nice tyre with a great rim protector built-in. I only travel 12 miles to work each day with lots of roundabouts and not much motorway driving. Looks like i am going to manage 20,000 on the front and about 24,000 on the back, which considering I don't hang about (And regularly thrash it) in a heavy diesel is pretty damn good! My only reservation is the price! When you are changing 4 of these baby's - you can kiss goodbye to nearly ? 900.00

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Audi A5

This tyre offers good road holding and breaking performance with better than average road feedback. Road noise on rough surface is barely acceptable. Also bumps and thump on potholes feel too sharp but this could be mainly due to the firm suspension of the vehicle. The cosmatic design of this tyre is quite attractive.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.