Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT is a Summer Extreme Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT
71%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
68%
Comfort
68%
Buy Again
58%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews (3)

96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 21,000 Average miles

Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro

These were the OE fitment for my Audi A5 Quattro.

I have had ~21,000 miles out of the fronts, with a mixed style of driving.

I would have expected much less, due to being low profile tyres, being on a relatively big / heavy car and a mix of driving style. I am very impressed with the wear rates.

I have no complaints with the grip levels provided in wet or dry. They are a great combination with Audi's quattro system.

I would have been tempted to change to the Michelin Pilot Super Sports as the fronts have recently worn out. However from reading up on the Quattro system and mixing patterns front and back, I have decided to keep the keep the front and rear tyres the same. Do your research and make your own decision on this...

Great tyres!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320i

Thought I'd try these as I've never tried Dunlop before and they came up at a good price. I'll never touch another Dunlop again purely because these are the noisiest tyres ever. At 30mph they start howling. If I wanted noise I would have installed a sports exhaust or bought an Impreza. I don't want this much cabin noise. I can't wait to get them off. Even when I fitted new brakes, my mechanic took the car for a spin and thought my wheel bearings had gone. It surprises me because the noise rating was quite decent on the tyre label but I guess this was tested when new as when they were new they were fine, the noise started at around 6mm and seem to be getting louder as they wear. These are original equipment on Mercedes SLS so I suppose it doesn't bother those cars because they are naturally loud cars anyway.
Apart from the noise, wear seems ok, I've done 6000 miles on them and they still have 5mm on them. They were comfortable too. Dry grip was very good, but I wasn't so confident in the wet. Maybe I should have tried the Sport Maxx RT instead but now I'm not even going to bother. Going to stick to other brands.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-W
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,500 Easy Going miles

Audi A4 Allroad

My A4 Allroad has only covered 9500 miles but the tyres are already worn down to 3.5mm so it looks like they will struggle to cover 12000 miles. I don't drive or corner fast so can't understand why this is. My previous car, a Volvo XC70, covered around 20000 miles on a set of tyres so it looks like it's either the car or the tyres.
My other disappointment is the tendency for these tyres to tramline a bit; probably a bit to do with the size of wheel but I've heard similar complaints from other A4 owners on Dunlops with more conventional size rubber.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Easy Going miles

Audi A5

I have had these tyres on my Audi A5 Quattro 2.0 TFSI Sportback since new and needed new tyres after 48Kms plus (could have got 5K more if pushed), I really liked the Dunlops BUT after reading reveiws on this site settled on Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymetric 2 instead.
First impressions after fitting the Goodyear tyres was not good the dealer damaged the rims with scratches so that didnt help.
On balance the Dunlop tyres I had were and are a LOT quieter than the Goodyear F1's which are quite a bit noisier although the Dunlops are heavier on the steering and rail track a bit but the feed back from the steering wheel was much more responsive than the Goodyear tyres + they stuck like glue in the dry at this point I'm wondering if I made a serious mistake and should have gone again for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT again, 48K+ is great wear any 1 would agree, these though the Goodyear F1's are much lighter on the steering and ride BUT its only early days, I still might regret changing to the Goodyear F1's
At this poin t in time I wish I hadnt changed..........

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 35,000 Average miles

Audi A5

Really top tyre on my Audi A5 Quattro 48Klms but could get more out of them if i pushed it , I cant say more than recommend them to every one.
Although reading reveiws I think any one who doesnt get good klm's out of them has an alignmet or other issue so dont blame the tyre OK - these are really good all driven on Australian local and highway roads very very happy with them geat handleing and grip, although now at 48Klms, they shudder a bit around fast sharp corners - great tyres good buy

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Easy Going miles

Opel insignia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-W
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,500 Spirited miles

Audi A5

dreadful, tramline constantly, forever correcting steering, changed to michelin and did not look back.

Tyre size reviewed: 335-35-19-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 26,000 Easy Going miles

BMW 520d M Sport

Good tyres only issue is that they seem to be one of the most expensive RFTs.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-W
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Average miles

Honda Civic Type R

Very bad tires for the price, got 7k miles out of them on the front with average driving on motorways and a bit of town driving. Would not buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport

Excellent all round tyres, I can generally get around 25-30,000 miles from a set, very good tyre wear, always very even across the tyre. I recently had to buy a pair of Conti Sport 3 tyres for the rear, really disappointed with grip compared to the Sport Maxx GT's. Also the Conti's have worn really badly, flat spotting on all edges.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.