Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT is a Summer Extreme Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT
71%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
68%
Comfort
68%
Buy Again
58%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews (2)

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 21,300 Easy Going miles

BMW 520d Sport

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

BMW X3

Got them with my BMW X3 2016 factory fitted.
Stiff from the start and began chipping at 16,000 km. Had to have them replaced on 20,000 km. Will never buy them again. Held the road but wore out and deteriorated way too early with no off-roading.
Disappointing tire quality, worn out way too soon and too stiff.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Average miles

Audi A5

These tyres were the OE fitment for my Audi A5 TFSI 1.8. Tyre size 245/40R18 93Y
Good performance until haIf worn especially on dry but I found them aging really bed, just after 2 years sides and outer treads started showing cracks. Now 3.5 years old and less than 19.000 miles, still has about 3 mm tread on them. Now rubber compound really hard, lost most of its flexibility and looks like an 8-10 year old tyre. Found it really unsafe on wet or in low temp. I looked after them well, rotated them regularly and store them properly in wintertime. Not sur if I would buy
it again. Looking for alternatives...

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Audi A5

Got them new mounted 1 year ago. In 2 summers, the wear have gone under half and already I feel the grip going. Driven about 15-20000 km, hard, love cornering very fast. Drip grip is very good, wet grip also good, braking - not so much. They tend to be poor if the weather is lower than 15*. Mostly driven outside of town, highways rarely, the wear is awful. Would not buy again, as I want to get Bridgestone S001, being more easy with the wear and the better grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 28,500 Easy Going miles

BMW 530D M sport

I purchased a BMW 530d M Sport fitted with the Dunlop SP Sport maxx GT and I have just got 28,500 miles out of the rear tyres with still 4mm on the front. I do not drive harshly but often accellerate hard now and again. I cannot fault the tyres and have replaced with the same, the tyres are designed for the car and would recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d

These are OEM fitment for the XJ. I drive pretty hard and still managed 10k on the rears. At 4mm i noticed a slight lack of adhesion which by 3mm had become more pronounced. I always change my tyres with at least 3mm remaining but with these tyres I had to in order to maintain a acceptable level of grip. Don't get me wrong these are a great tyre and i have replaced like for like. They are the quietest by far, wet grip is high and they communicate well when pushed. Price wise they are on par with other premium brands. Get the 'J' suffix for rim protection. Recommended

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-20-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 24,000 Average miles

BMW 520d M Sport

Have had these on my BMW as OE, I've covered 24k miles so far and still have 5mm tread on the fronts and just over 4mm on the rears, the wear is very even. The tyres perform very well when warmed up and provide great feedback when driving in a spirited manner. I have had no problems in the wet when driving in a normal manner, they are progressive when wanting to initiate a drift.
So far i think i can get another 4000-5000 miles out of them which i think is pretty good. The comfort can be better, but that comes at a cost as I've used other tyres on similar large saloons e.g. Continentals Sport contact 5p and they wear far faster then dunops so its your choice.

Overall a great tyre and would consider buying again.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 45,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E350

great tyres with excellent grip , when pushed hard the rear breaks away in a controlled manner. I drive the car hard yet the fronts have done 45k miles and the rears 20k which is not bad for a powerful heavy car.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD

New car had Dunlop SportMaxx GT's on, not impressed particularly in wet, changed after 15k miles to SportMaxx RT on front, much better tyre IMO.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320i

I left a review in October, it's now April and the tyres have worn to the limit and have come off. I previously wrote that the tyres were the noisiest I've ever experienced and didn't give them such a good review. Well after taking the tyres off and driving home from the garage the road noise was still there. It turns out it wasn't the tyres in the end and was infact my wheel bearings. So I feel it only fair to post an update on here. I can't really fault them now. Not brilliant in the wet and tyre wear is average but in the dry they performed quite well when pushed hard. Maybe I will give the Sport Maxx RT a go now in future.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.