Hankook Kinergy 4S

The Hankook Kinergy 4S is a All Season High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Hankook Kinergy 4S
76%[average]
Dry Grip
78%
Wet Grip
72%
Road Feedback
69%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
79%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
75%

Hankook Kinergy 4S Reviews

84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

Citroën C3

Replaced some old Hankook summer tyres in October 2015 with these Hankook H740 4S tyres as I wanted better wet and snow grip. I was limited for choice due to uncommon tyre size and didn't want directional tyres as I had a full size alloy spare. The 2nd day after fitting I had to travel on the M62 and was caught in a torrential rain storm. Cars if front of me started drifting all ways after hitting a huge area of standing water, so I braced myself, but needn't have worried. These Hankook H740 4S tyres took it all in their stride and the car stayed in a straight line with no effort from me. Handling is great in all conditions. They have now done 16,000 miles and at my last service 2 months ago I was told they would easily last another year at least, based on my requirements, as I always replace tyres when the tread gets below 4mm. I shall replace them with the same ones when required.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-14-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

Citroën C3

Ersetzte im Oktober 2015 einige alte Hankook-Sommerreifen durch diese Hankook H740 4S-Reifen, da ich einen besseren Nass- und Schneegriff wollte. Aufgrund der ungewöhnlichen Reifengröße hatte ich nur eine begrenzte Auswahl und wollte keine Richtungsreifen, da ich ein Ersatzteil aus einer Legierung in voller Größe hatte. Am 2. Tag nach der Montage musste ich auf der M62 fahren und geriet in einen heftigen Regensturm. Autos vor mir begannen zu treiben, nachdem sie auf eine riesige Fläche stehenden Wassers gestoßen waren, also machte ich mich bereit, hätte mir aber keine Sorgen machen müssen. Diese Hankook H740 4S-Reifen haben alles auf ihre Kosten gebracht und das Auto blieb ohne Anstrengung von mir in einer geraden Linie. Das Handling ist unter allen Bedingungen großartig. Sie haben jetzt 16.000 Meilen zurückgelegt und bei meinem letzten Service vor 2 Monaten wurde mir gesagt, dass sie aufgrund meiner Anforderungen problemlos mindestens ein weiteres Jahr halten würden, da ich immer Reifen austausche, wenn das Profil unter 4 mm fällt. Ich werde sie bei Bedarf durch dieselben ersetzen.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-14-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

Citroën C3

J'ai remplacé certains vieux pneus d'été Hankook en octobre 2015 par ces pneus Hankook H740 4S car je voulais une meilleure adhérence sur sol mouillé et sur neige. J'avais un choix limité en raison de la taille inhabituelle des pneus et je ne voulais pas de pneus directionnels car j'avais une roue de secours en alliage pleine grandeur. Le 2ème jour après le montage, j'ai dû voyager sur la M62 et j'ai été pris dans une tempête de pluie torrentielle. Les voitures si devant moi ont commencé à dériver dans tous les sens après avoir heurté une vaste zone d'eau stagnante, alors je me suis préparé, mais je n'avais pas besoin de m'inquiéter. Ces pneus Hankook H740 4S ont tout pris dans leur foulée et la voiture est restée en ligne droite sans aucun effort de ma part. La manipulation est excellente dans toutes les conditions. Ils ont maintenant parcouru 16 000 milles et lors de mon dernier entretien il y a 2 mois, on m'a dit qu'ils dureraient facilement une autre année au moins, en fonction de mes besoins, car je remplace toujours les pneus lorsque la bande de roulement descend en dessous de 4 mm. Je les remplacerai par les mêmes si nécessaire.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-14-T
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen up!

Dangerous in wet breaking. ABS always on, wet seems snow. Bad even in dry roads. Never again

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-Q
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen up!

Gefährlich beim Nassbrechen. ABS immer an, nass scheint Schnee. Schlecht auch auf trockenen Straßen. Nie wieder

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-Q
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen up!

Dangereux en cas de rupture humide. ABS toujours allumé, la neige semble mouillée. Mauvais même sur routes sèches. Plus jamais

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-Q
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 23,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi

This is an update to my previous review, to report on the snow performance.

Scotland had a wee bit of bad weather at the start of March '18. For reasons I won't get into on here, I was required to drive through the red weather warning on both days, and the subsequent amber warnings of the rest of the week and this gave me a good opportunity to assess performance in snow/slush and ice. The front tyres had around 5mm left in them (having been swapped after doing 18k on the rear), the rears were effectively brand new, maybe a few thousand miles since fitting.

And that performance was exceptional.

Motorways were cleared, but icy in places. They never feit like they were going to let go without warning. They did give enough feedback to allow easing off before anything went pear shaped.

Surface streets were variable quality, with some roads in excess of 12" of snow. Others had slush and others a mix of hard pack and fresh snow. And we charged on through. Even fairly steep hills were dispatched without drama, just an occasional touch of traction control for some of worst parts. These tyres on this car means I'm getting to my destination regardless.

Now, a downside... during the snow, I damaged 2 of them (potholes can still bite when they're hidden). Thankfully, I've managed to source some replacements, they're fitted, and I'm a happy bunny again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota Yaris

Have you ever wondered how the snow plow driver gets to work in the middle of the worst snow. These tyres no 4x4 required.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi

My car was bought 2nd hand from a well known Scottish car dealer network, and had been fitted with some of their own branded tyres. They lasted less than a week before they were binned.

So, January of 2017 saw a set of Kinergys fitted. And they worked well in the snow, very well. They were also quite impressive in some of the torrential rain we had through the year, and pretty good in the 2 days of sunshine that passes for a Scottish summer.

I drive an estate, and tend to lug a fair amount of kit everywhere, and in an enthusiastic fashion. They've been good in almost all conditions except for some occasional understeer on a rather tight mini roundabout near home. But that's only ever been when the conditions have been greasy. Performance in heavy rain on motorways has been on a par with some of the more expensive rubber I've had fitted to other similar vehicles. But the winter performance has been impressive.

Wear has also been acceptable. Roughly 18000 miles done, the fronts are below 4mm, the rears are still above 6mm. Purely as a precaution, and because of the long term weather reports, the fronts were replaced with more of the same in the last few weeks. And, again, they have proven to be good in the snow and cold temps of the last month. At £50 a corner, they're exceptionally good value, and will be a permanent fixture on this particular vehicle for the foreseeable future.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 4,500 Easy Going miles

BMW 316

We used the previous generation of these tyres the H730 and unfortunately these are a great disappointment. My wife and I have both been sliding on greasy roads - in a 90bhp bmw!! - when the previous set didn't do this even when they were nearly done - so far this set has 4500miles. I honestly won't be buying the h740s again back to the h730s if I can get them.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.