Michelin Latitude Sport 3

The Michelin Latitude Sport 3 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Michelin Latitude Sport 3
82%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
77%
Comfort
76%
Buy Again
81%

Michelin Latitude Sport 3 Reviews

59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz GLC250d Coupe 4matic

Mercedes glc250d coupe.....this car is driven by my wife which is to say it is not driven aggressively AT ALL. My biggest complaint is she is on 34,000 miles and she is on her THIRD set of rear 285/40 ZR20!!!!!! There is no unusual wear the car is fine but they absolutely eat these tires up. We live in Thailand so it’s hot all the time, nevertheless they do not come close to their 20,000 warranty and trying to deal with warranties in Thailand is a joke. This is also the only tire we can get for the car here so I’m not that happy. Aside from the outrageous wear? The tires are awesome in every other category.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI

I'm not too sure what to expect tyre wear wise regarding my VW Tourag 2008 3.0 V6 TDI I have only had it 7 months. Had these tires fitted 6 months ago and had a full tracking and alignment check and adjustment..
We have just covered 8,000 miles on them and the rears are approaching 3mm rapidly, fronts are 5mm.
Tyre wear is even across the axles. No inner or outer wear.
That said the performance of these tires in the dry and wet is just amazing. Its just the £700 a set for I reckon 9500-10,000 miles is worrying. But may be this is the norm.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-19-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC90 2.9 T6

Having a second set.
The first set still lot of treadwear left after 3 years , 50000km but some peeling appeared at the edge. Riding is reasonable, an annoying high pitch sound persisted throughout the life span.
It yielded 8.9/100km on my 2016 XC90, which was incredible.
The second set is AC tire with a block of foam inside and along the rim.
The moment it got on my SUV, I thought I was driving a totally different car.
The high pitch noise totally disappeared. The riding comfort improved tremendously.
The only drawback is that mileage dropped to 9.4L/100km.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Easy Going miles

BMW BMW X1

It's good

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Mazda cx5

Picked it up for my Mazda CX-5. Compared to stock Toyo proxes R36, handling is quicker and more responsive. It feels like the car is lighter and can change lanes swiftly, very fun to drive. Feedback is just right to make me feel confident, while staying relaxed. Noise level seems comparable to the old tyre, not much quieter in my opinion.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-19-V
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,600 Spirited miles

Audi Q5

A good overall tyre, for my test ugly design, still they have good confort and good overall grip. Also for me is not a sport tyre but a good overall one. Not the greatest feedback. Above average wet grip and excellent wear. If you want a good overall tyre for a SUV this one is for you, if you want a sporty tyre go look elsewhere.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-19-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Nissan Murano

235/65/R18 on Nissan Murano 3.5 Auto.

Done 25k miles on these and they have been very good. Front down to about 3.5mm and rears at 4.5mm. Could probably get a bit more out of them if we swapped them around and might do that for summer but I will replace before winter.

At £525 fitted at Costco in July 2016 they have been a good buy but this tyre has now been replaced with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV so I will look at them though I could buy the Latitude 3 again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-18-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW X5 e70

I replaced my BMW X5 run-flats with these non run-flat Michellins, WOW! what a difference, i also recently had BMW mudflaps fitted to the car to reduce stone damage etc...these made the road noise from the old bridgestones almost unbearable, the droning was awful! I nearly took the mudflaps off again. When i fitted these Michelin tyres it was a total transformation...no road noise, the car became much smoother on the road and far less brittle to drive. I guess that's what happens with run flat tyres where the sidewalls are nearly rigid...they transmit every jar, bump etc. Also the car is much better on cambers and doesn't tram-line anymore. my friend thought I'd actually changed the car when he rode in it.
Only down side, they are slightly, and i mean slightly softer on cornering, but once the corner is set they bite well! Superb in the wet too...hit a massive puddle at 65moh and the car didnt flinch.
Very pleased with them, my Beemer feels like a Rolls Royce now.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 27,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Forester 2.0 XT

Using the Michelin Latitude Sports3 on my 2015 Subaru Forester since December 2016 and covered a mileage of 43000km now.

Very good tyres that’s almost unrivalled for SUV Tyre range, and I’m comparing it to the previous set of Continental CSC5 SUV, Toyo Open country UT, Bridgestone Dueler 400, that has previously mounted on the same car.

Durable for me as I am pumping 250-260kpa on the front and 240-250kpa on the rear when tyres are cold. And rotating them every 7000km. The tyres looks like they are used for merely 60% at 43000km and looks good to go for up to 55-60000km at least.

So far have not lost traction in wet rainy days and also hot dry roads, although I do hear the tyres screeching on 90kmh corners but no grips are lost. Absolutely love this tyres and I do drive the car for up to 220kmh on the highway and it inspire confidence.

Road noise wise, I notice that the tyres only gets noisier after 22000km onwards and until now they are still bearable.

The only downside to the Michelin Latitude Sports3 ar: they are no Rim Protection on the tyres.

I would love to mount this tyres again but I’m very curious to ty our other tyres next. But will most likely come to Michelin Latitude Sports 3 soon in the next 1.5 years or 35000km or hopefully will have new Latitude Sports 4 then. Excellent tyres thank you Michelin.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Forester 2.0 XT

I’m driving a 2016 Subaru Forester 2 litre turbo and from South East Asia with plenty of rainfall all year round.

Previously on the same car I have used CSC5 (2 sets of around 16k and 22k mileage), Toyo Open Country UT (Used 4,000km and changed.. crap grip Tyres), AD08R (track use and driven on normal roads for around 2000km.

Currently I’ve used this current set of Latitude Sports3 Tyres for past 33,000km and the treadwear looks like it can last till 50,000km easily.

The tyre pressure pumped from day 1 is around 260kpa front and 250kpa rear. Guess that’s why my set of LS3 could last longer than most people who reviewed here. As LS3 Tyres are Porsche Cayenne OE Tyres, I read that the tyre pressure is up to 290kpa for the 19-20”.

However now I have reduced to 250F/240R since Tyres are relatives used for quite some mileage and I want them for more comfort.

The tyres are not noisy at around 70DB from day 1 and it’s still quiet until it’s more than 22,000km and even at 33k, the tyre noise is still bearable. The CSC5 gets noisy after 8000km, while the AD08R have unbearable road noise.

The dry grip is very good and have never skidded in all manners of driving, very similar to CSC5 dry grip but loses out to AD08R dry grip.

As for wet, it is also very good, and also never skidded before or lose grip when when driving. Just did an E brake at 100kmh 2 nights ago when it’s raining and the car managed to stop with a little light screech, very good wet grip. However CSC5 gave me more confidence driving fast in really wet weather, I’m really not sure why is that so.

Comparing with CSC5, the LS3 offer much better Road feedback while Handling is pretty similar.

LS3 it is a very very good overall performance Tyres. Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.