Continental WinterContact TS 850 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 850 P is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 850 P
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
83%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
82%

Continental WinterContact TS 850 P Reviews

92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 16,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E350

Brilliant tyres , much quieter than my summer Pirelli P Zerros . Much better tyre overall full stop. I have them on a heavy Mercedes E350 estate and the ride and everything else is sublime . My tyre sizes are 265/35/18 rear and 245/40/18 front. Wear seems excellent too, I do 80% motorway driving so it is to be expected .

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 290

Tyres deliver good feedback and do well in the dry and wet. They seem a bit harsh. Braking distance in the dry is alright. Could do better.

Wear is my problem with this tyre. I do drive mostly average. Like 10% of my drives are spirited.
Front tyres are already down to 5-5.5mm.

Not quiet sure if i would buy them again. Since wear is quiet high

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H OPC

We bought these winter tyres for Astra OPC (VXR) petrol 2.0. It is not the sportiest car but still fast enough to require (even in winter) something tolerating the speed in excess of 200km/h (well, occasionally). Our car was originally equipped with Michelin Super Sports. Compared to them, the ContinentalWinter 850P is very comfortable. The first thing to notice was its noise level almost equal (or even lower) to the summer Super Sports. Well, winter Continentals are not very quick when pushed hard on the dry and not as precise when braking. Still, Conti does the job on the dry and sunny road. I like them on the wet and they are reasonably good on the snow. They cannot cope with too much snow, in which case I have snow chains (had to use them once in the Alps when going uphill to a remote skiing station).

Ice... In fact Conti 850 Ps are not for the ice at all. I was a keen user of studded Nokian Hakkapeliittas on my previous car. The Hakkapeliitaas used to give me real winter confidence. Now, the Conties give me speed on the dry winter road. And comfort. Lots of it.

When I changed back for my Michelin Super Sports this spring I really hated them first. Compared to Conti 850 Ps, super Sports were so rigid and unforgiving on the cobblestone surface so much loved in my city.

Well later, Super Sports proved themselves again on a highway. They are created for speed and stability.

Verdict? Well, Continental Winter Contact 850 P is not what I call a winter tyre. But if you drive a kind of sporty car, do not have much choice, then go for them. They are nice, comfortable winter tyres which allow you to drive closer to 200km/H at some reckless occasions.

Wear? Yes, they are Conties. They wear fast. After two winter seasons, I am not sure they are likely to last through another one.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Subaru BRZ

Very good winter tyre for a sportscar in dry condition. Pretty pricy and it wears very fast. Snow grip is good but I had loads of problems on ice and very cold temperatures. I expected more from this tyre expecially considering the price.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-V
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R

Brought a set of alloys wheels + TS850P (225/40 R18)s for winter use. Swapped out ContiSportContact 5Ps (230/35 R19)s which are great but stop working at temperatures lower than 10degC.

These are really confidence inspiring on the ungritted roads that I have to transit every morning and evening. Great grip, steering feel and comfort. Can't comment on snow traction yet.

On previous Jag XF I ran Nokian WR A4 which were good in snow but only okay in other conditions. Can't do a direct comparison as new car is AWD but TS850Ps feel far superior in the wet and cold that is more common in
UK than full on snow.

Would probably have gone for TS860Ss had they been available but these TS850Ps I'm sure are nearly as good. Only downside is that they are a bit pricey so shop around. If you can go for a wheel + tyre package for best value and minimizing chance of denting your posh summer wheels. I keep my cars typically for 7+years so I'll get the usage out of them in that time.

Bring on the snow !

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10 Average miles

Renault grand espace 2.0 dci 175

Bought these tyres with the alu-rims, used, from some guy for 100 euros a piece. What a great deal this was!!! Excellent tyres, drove them for about 10.000 miles now, and they still look and behave like new.
Especially pleased with low noise and easy rolling. Great tyres. Ok, new ones are probably very expensive.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

I have it for 3 winters on nissan qashqai. It is excellent winter tire!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Je l'ai depuis 3 hivers sur Nissan qashqai. C'est un excellent pneu d'hiver !!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Ich habe es für 3 Winter auf Nissan Qashqai. Es ist ein ausgezeichneter Winterreifen !!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec.B 6MT Sedan

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.