Continental WinterContact TS 850 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 850 P is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 850 P
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
83%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
82%

Continental WinterContact TS 850 P Reviews

92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 16,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E350

Brilliant tyres , much quieter than my summer Pirelli P Zerros . Much better tyre overall full stop. I have them on a heavy Mercedes E350 estate and the ride and everything else is sublime . My tyre sizes are 265/35/18 rear and 245/40/18 front. Wear seems excellent too, I do 80% motorway driving so it is to be expected .

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 16,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E350

Brillante Reifen, viel leiser als mein Sommer Pirelli P Zerros. Viel besserer Reifen insgesamt Punkt. Ich habe sie auf einem schweren Mercedes E350 Kombi und die Fahrt und alles andere ist großartig. Meine Reifengrößen sind 265/35/18 hinten und 245/40/18 vorne. Die Abnutzung scheint auch ausgezeichnet zu sein, ich fahre zu 80% auf der Autobahn, also ist das zu erwarten.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 16,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E350

Pneus brillants, beaucoup plus silencieux que mon été Pirelli P Zerros. Pneu bien meilleur arrêt complet dans l'ensemble. Je les ai sur une lourde Mercedes E350 et la conduite et tout le reste sont sublimes. Mes dimensions de pneus sont 265/35/18 à l'arrière et 245/40/18 à l'avant. L'usure me semble excellente aussi, je roule à 80% sur autoroute donc il faut s'y attendre.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 290

Tyres deliver good feedback and do well in the dry and wet. They seem a bit harsh. Braking distance in the dry is alright. Could do better.

Wear is my problem with this tyre. I do drive mostly average. Like 10% of my drives are spirited.
Front tyres are already down to 5-5.5mm.

Not quiet sure if i would buy them again. Since wear is quiet high

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 290

Reifen liefern ein gutes Feedback und eignen sich gut für Trockenheit und Nässe. Sie wirken etwas hart. Der Bremsweg im Trockenen ist in Ordnung. Könnte es besser machen.

Verschleiß ist mein Problem mit diesem Reifen. Ich fahre meistens durchschnittlich. Wie 10% meiner Antriebe sind temperamentvoll.
Die Vorderreifen sind bereits auf 5-5,5 mm gesunken.

Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob ich sie wieder kaufen würde. Da ist der Verschleiß sehr hoch

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 290

Les pneus offrent un bon retour et fonctionnent bien sur le sec et sur l'humidité. Ils semblent un peu durs. La distance de freinage sur le sec est correcte. Pourrait faire mieux.

L'usure est mon problème avec ce pneu. Je conduis généralement en moyenne. Comme 10% de mes lecteurs sont animés.
Les pneus avant sont déjà descendus à 5-5,5 mm.

Je ne sais pas si je les rachèterais. Puisque l'usure est assez élevée

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H OPC

We bought these winter tyres for Astra OPC (VXR) petrol 2.0. It is not the sportiest car but still fast enough to require (even in winter) something tolerating the speed in excess of 200km/h (well, occasionally). Our car was originally equipped with Michelin Super Sports. Compared to them, the ContinentalWinter 850P is very comfortable. The first thing to notice was its noise level almost equal (or even lower) to the summer Super Sports. Well, winter Continentals are not very quick when pushed hard on the dry and not as precise when braking. Still, Conti does the job on the dry and sunny road. I like them on the wet and they are reasonably good on the snow. They cannot cope with too much snow, in which case I have snow chains (had to use them once in the Alps when going uphill to a remote skiing station).

Ice... In fact Conti 850 Ps are not for the ice at all. I was a keen user of studded Nokian Hakkapeliittas on my previous car. The Hakkapeliitaas used to give me real winter confidence. Now, the Conties give me speed on the dry winter road. And comfort. Lots of it.

When I changed back for my Michelin Super Sports this spring I really hated them first. Compared to Conti 850 Ps, super Sports were so rigid and unforgiving on the cobblestone surface so much loved in my city.

Well later, Super Sports proved themselves again on a highway. They are created for speed and stability.

Verdict? Well, Continental Winter Contact 850 P is not what I call a winter tyre. But if you drive a kind of sporty car, do not have much choice, then go for them. They are nice, comfortable winter tyres which allow you to drive closer to 200km/H at some reckless occasions.

Wear? Yes, they are Conties. They wear fast. After two winter seasons, I am not sure they are likely to last through another one.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H OPC

Wir haben diese Winterreifen für Astra OPC (VXR) Benzin 2.0 gekauft. Es ist nicht das sportlichste Auto, aber dennoch schnell genug, um (auch im Winter) etwas zu benötigen, das eine Geschwindigkeit von mehr als 200 km / h toleriert (naja, gelegentlich). Unser Auto war ursprünglich mit Michelin Super Sports ausgestattet. Im Vergleich dazu ist der ContinentalWinter 850P sehr komfortabel. Das erste, was auffiel, war der Geräuschpegel, der fast gleich (oder sogar niedriger) war wie der Sommersport Super Sports. Nun, Winterkontinente sind nicht sehr schnell, wenn sie auf trockenem Boden hart gedrückt werden, und nicht so präzise beim Bremsen. Trotzdem erledigt Conti die Arbeit auf der trockenen und sonnigen Straße. Ich mag sie bei Nässe und sie sind ziemlich gut im Schnee. Sie können nicht mit zu viel Schnee fertig werden. In diesem Fall habe ich Schneeketten (musste sie einmal in den Alpen benutzen, wenn ich bergauf zu einer abgelegenen Skistation ging).

Eis ... Tatsächlich sind Conti 850 Ps überhaupt nicht für das Eis. Ich war ein begeisterter Benutzer von Nokian Hakkapeliittas mit Nieten an meinem vorherigen Auto. Die Hakkapeliitaas gaben mir echtes Wintervertrauen. Jetzt geben mir die Conties Geschwindigkeit auf der trockenen Winterstraße. Und Komfort. Viel davon.

Als ich diesen Frühling wieder zu meinem Michelin Super Sports wechselte, hasste ich sie zuerst wirklich. Im Vergleich zu Conti 850 Ps waren Supersportarten auf der in meiner Stadt so geliebten Kopfsteinpflasteroberfläche so starr und unversöhnlich.

Schon später hat sich Super Sports auf einer Autobahn erneut bewährt. Sie sind auf Geschwindigkeit und Stabilität ausgelegt.

Urteil? Nun, Continental Winter Contact 850 P ist nicht das, was ich als Winterreifen bezeichne. Aber wenn Sie eine Art sportliches Auto fahren, haben Sie nicht viel Auswahl, dann entscheiden Sie sich für sie. Es sind schöne, komfortable Winterreifen, mit denen Sie bei rücksichtslosen Gelegenheiten näher an 200 km / h fahren können.

Tragen? Ja, sie sind Conties. Sie tragen sich schnell. Nach zwei Wintersaisonen bin ich mir nicht sicher, ob sie wahrscheinlich eine weitere überstehen werden.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H OPC

Nous avons acheté ces pneus hiver pour Astra OPC (VXR) essence 2.0. Ce n'est pas la voiture la plus sportive mais toujours assez rapide pour exiger (même en hiver) quelque chose qui tolère une vitesse supérieure à 200 km / h (enfin, parfois). Notre voiture était à l'origine équipée du Michelin Super Sports. Par rapport à eux, le ContinentalWinter 850P est très confortable. La première chose à remarquer était son niveau de bruit presque égal (voire inférieur) à celui du Super Sports d'été. Eh bien, les Continentals d'hiver ne sont pas très rapides lorsqu'ils sont poussés fort sur le sec et pas aussi précis lors du freinage. Pourtant, Conti fait le travail sur la route sèche et ensoleillée. Je les aime sur le mouillé et ils sont assez bons sur la neige. Ils ne peuvent pas supporter trop de neige, auquel cas j'ai des chaînes à neige (j'ai dû les utiliser une fois dans les Alpes lors de la montée vers une station de ski isolée).

Ice ... En fait, les Conti 850 Ps ne sont pas du tout pour la glace. J'étais un grand utilisateur de Nokian Hakkapeliittas cloutés sur ma voiture précédente. Les Hakkapeliitaas me donnaient une vraie confiance en hiver. Maintenant, les Conties me donnent de la vitesse sur la route sèche de l'hiver. Et le confort. Beaucoup.

Quand j'ai repris mes Michelin Super Sports ce printemps, je les ai vraiment détestés en premier. Comparé au Conti 850 Ps, les super Sports étaient si rigides et impitoyables sur la surface pavée tant aimée dans ma ville.

Et bien plus tard, Super Sports a fait ses preuves à nouveau sur une autoroute. Ils sont créés pour la vitesse et la stabilité.

Verdict? Eh bien, le Continental Winter Contact 850 P n'est pas ce que j'appelle un pneu hiver. Mais si vous conduisez une sorte de voiture sportive, vous n'avez pas beaucoup de choix, alors allez-y. Ce sont de jolis pneus d'hiver confortables qui vous permettent de rouler plus près de 200 km / h dans certaines occasions imprudentes.

Porter? Oui, ce sont des Conties. Ils portent vite. Après deux saisons d'hiver, je ne suis pas sûr qu'elles dureront probablement une autre.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Subaru BRZ

Very good winter tyre for a sportscar in dry condition. Pretty pricy and it wears very fast. Snow grip is good but I had loads of problems on ice and very cold temperatures. I expected more from this tyre expecially considering the price.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.