Bridgestone Potenza RE050

The Bridgestone Potenza RE050 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza RE050
69%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
66%
Comfort
61%
Buy Again
59%

Bridgestone Potenza RE050 Reviews (4)

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio RS200

Nice tire,very good dry grip,cornering is much better now.Not very comfortable because of the stiff sidewalls.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo ST220

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Volvo S60 D5 (185)

Great tyre, lasted 30K!!
15K on a Vectra CDTi
15K on Volvo S60

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 888 Average miles

Lexus IS300

great tyre sticks like glue excellent grip, but soooo noisy

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Astra SRi CDTi 1.9 150

Disappointed how quickly needed replacing. After a few thousand miles I got the feel that steering needs constent correcting even on straight road. Other than that average.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Primera

Probably one of the best tyres I have ever used. I have them as 215/45/17 on a 1998 Nissan Primera using stock suspension. After using different makes, for all round driving and hard driving it has to be these. My thoughts:

Dry: Excellent take off grip, and exceptional dry handling, never had the car become nearvous on any of the corners at high speed. Using the low profile they generally shake off pot holes and bumps and are a quiet driving tyre.

Wet: Probably the best tyre i have ever used. Normal driving you can drive like it was a dry day and even grips extremly well. I feel you get minimal aqua planing with these also however they do cause a spray and can sometimes go over your own windscreen as it disperses the few litres of water on the road. Nothing a window wiper doesn't sort. least you have full control over the car. I hit a huge puddle at 60MPH and never pulled me at all..but like i said sprayed the water else where.

Winter: Not good for a winter tyre. It struggled on the ice and snow, but there again these are designed for summer.

Wear: People has mixed reviews on this but personal experiance on the Primera, i find the wear acceptable. I managed to get around 15k miles of combined easy and hard driving on them. Make sure you have your tracking done on your car however when these are fitted new...although this should be done on any tyre replacement.

Overall....I would not go past these tyres. I would be happy to spend the price to purchase these again due to good grip, fun driving, occasiona drag driving, and the most important..safety. These tyres will get you out of trouble more than the budgets!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Honda Accord

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,200 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

Easy to loose traction on quick pull away. Heavy wear showing across entire tread

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10 Average miles

Honda Civic Type R

Very good grip in dry conditions, also quite good in wet driving conditions, recently i have expericed with a little bit of snow & ice these tyres makes the car near impossible to drive, after all there not winter tyres! All in all 8half out of 10, had car for two years tyres still holding out strong.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 8,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza

First set of tyres for my 2.0 R sport, hoping to get more life out of them especially with my lack of power...but lasted a year mainly due to my cornering speed and I guess lack of support (small rims) as the edges wore off - even with extra pressure. But all in all I was happy, good grip in dry however abs would kick in surprisingly early in wet. Rich (Wales)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.