Bridgestone Potenza RE050

The Bridgestone Potenza RE050 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza RE050
69%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
66%
Comfort
61%
Buy Again
59%

Bridgestone Potenza RE050 Reviews

56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI

I had these on a Golf Mk7 GTI performance Pack.I was running 230bhp to the front wheels so traction would always be an issue but these tyres were not great at all. They lasted me 25,000 miles over 4 years and my driving style varies, however they are not good in corners, not good off the lights and not good in the wet. Wouldn't recommend these. Buying some Michelin Pilot Super Sports instead as they have been highly regarded on my car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 81,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 MPS 2.3L V6 Turbo AWD

Best tires I ever have had. Their territory starts when you drive over 170 km/h on curvy road. I have now driven with them 81000 km and now their life is over but I will buy new ones next week.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country

I had to replace two Bridgestone Turenza tyres in the spring of last year. I bought two Bridgestone Potenza tyres to match the two remaining Potenza tyres someone had purchased prior to my ownership. The car appears to handle just the same as before. However the ride is slightly softer and the grip is excellent.. I have noticed that on very cold days it is easier to spin the Potenza tyres on the front than I remember. The Bridgestone tyres have lasted well and are very popular as original equipment. I would recommend Bridgestone tyres to anyone based on my experience to date.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 11,328 Average miles

Lexus IS250SE

Currently used for 18232km, left around 5.5mm, can go for estimate 20000km more
Performance and road handling good!
Only drawback is noise level slightly higher

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon FR Plus

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk3 1.8

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 46,600 Spirited miles

Volkswagen

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-19-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Honda S2000

These tyres came with my car when I bought it two and a half years ago where the previous owner had only used this exact tyre. The fronts were replaced with ContiContactSport5's last year but the rears have only just worn down to legal limit. Driving has been on road only with mostly average and partially spirited driving lasting almost 20,000 miles on the tyre.
I can't really fault the tyre but have decided to replace these with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's as they rate highly with my car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,952 Average miles

Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting

These tyres lasted 82000km. The greatest thing about it is the feedback and dry grip. The feedback. The feedback is amazing. I've tried a few other tyres, and nothing compares to these.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen Jetta GLX

Had from factory on Jetta 2.0 TSI (200 bhp)..
Very noisy tyres, losing very quicly grip.. At 55.000 km they are loking good...
Very sure, I'll not but this tyres ever..

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.