Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact
74%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
55%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
84%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
54%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact Reviews (2)

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai Accent

still have these tires from 2013 and will change them on oct 2019 after summer. 6 years now only one flat, they still have road life on them, will change them for age as i usually change them every 4 years, the funny thing they still act like new they not lost control or grip so i kept them for another 2 years .. yes yes , i will buy them again

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-13-T
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Average miles

Nissan Note 1.5 dci

Very quite tyres and very comfortable especially in bad roads.My second car is a Nissan note dci and the dimension of the tyres is 185-65-15.After 40000km with continental premium 5 I change them with Goodyear and I was astonished with the lower noise level and from the comfort driving.Ok in high speeds in highways continental is a bit better tyre but not so balanced as Goodyear.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet KALOS

i think a tire must be revied even by country, i live in Athens Greece, hot summer and not very cold winter as other countries, i can say goodyear is one of the best tires i ever had, low noise good handling and braking, good grip on dry road avarage on wet road , in greece we park everyware, even on pavements etc, this tire has good side walls no buldges etc, will buy again hope goodyear does not change the tire compount to something worst

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-13-T
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Daewoo Lanos

installed my tires end of 2013 now its june 2017 after 22,000 km all i can say rear tires are like new and the front are worn out half way, when new this was a good tire on dry and wet road, after 3,5 years i can say they are now VERY dangerous in the wet and its summer, cannot imagine if it was winter, on my car i have used hankook, avon, continental, these are the worst tires after 3 year life this is a 3 year tire, all tires work fine when new the problem starts when they get old , will never buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-13-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 720 Spirited miles

Daihatsu Sirion

This tyre is for a compact car, which mine is - the clue is in the name of the tyre. And I am happy to say this is the nicest tyre I have had on this car - and I have owned this car for many years. I drive 15,000 miles a year and like to get going - know what I mean. The car is a Daihatsu Sirion 1.5sx, and it is quick. Big engine in small/light-weight car. I am 61 years of age by the way. The car is over-maintained and the suspension and running gear is kept in top condition. Owning my car is a hobby.

Anyway.

Pirellis came off and the car has come alive. No more lack of direction and wandering around - the car holds a line. Even under heavy braking it is arrow straight. Blissful.

As for grip all I can say is they do feel like a softer compound and unlike my Pirellis they don't let go when pulling away from a stop in the wet. The car in question may be small but with a very torquey 1.5l engine it will pop a wheelie in the wet without even trying. So on that basis they grip well in the wet.

I recently removed a front wheel for some work and the wheel/tyre assembly was definitely not as heavy as the Pirelli unit before. I have read these tyres are lighter and they really do feel lighter. This good for suspension response - un-sprung wieght.

Dry grip is as I would expect - excellent. Once again with the Pirellis it was all felt a bit doubtful, but with these tyres it all holds together. With the Pirellis I always felt the car was going to let go when in a sweeping curve or bend - it never did but it just "felt" awkward. That sensation has gone away with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact tyre.

They are astonishingly quiet too. I could not believe the difference. That soft compound certainly has an effect on noise. The car feels much more comfortable all round.

As for wear rate I can't tell at only 700 miles. But would I care if they wore out after 25000 miles - of course I wouldn't. At £49 each fitted why would I worry, especially as I have all the other great benefits of this tyre. It is as if someone has hand made a tyre to suit my car. I look forward to having a new set.

Like shoes on your feet, car tyres all do the same job but occasionally we get a set that just seems right and become a favourite. This tyre is right for my car. No doubt. I like them a lot.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Easy Going miles

Peugeot partner van

Can not evaluate mileage as new , but the tyres are soft compound as evidenced by poor detailing on sidewalls and made in Poland .Grippy tyres will always be a softer rubber hence extra grip BUT manufacturers should ensure sidewall protection as this damage tends to be instant failure of tyre or unrepairable !These are on my work van and better than the previous jinyu on it when bought nearly new .After running them in as required by all mechanical things they are now quiet and comfortable , no heavy rain yet .I always have all season tyres on our ST tdi and they can be a little soft in summer so I run them on max for full load to keep side wall stiff and all tyres get harder with age .One of my Q3 had bulge inner side wall and yet to be resolved as not yet dissected it .Balance for your model and driving needs should dictate choice and usualy brand name which is why reviews are so important , if van tyres ok will put same on back but they are conti's so will wait and see as there is no point in buying a good motor and fiiting bad tyres .

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 18,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C220 cdi sport

Great set of tyres, hardly any road noise and grip very well in the wet. What more can you ask for.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai Accent

can say best new tyre i had on my car ever very low noise very comfortable very gripy was lucky to test it in the rain it was like driving on a dry road
but did not like the country they are made TURKEY
but had good readings
treadwear = 320
traction = A
temperature = A

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-13-T
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,380 Average miles

Fiat Panda

not so good i think for a small car like a fiat panda do not buy if you have a small car for dry road its ok, but on a wet road do a pray to god

Tyre size reviewed: 165-65-13-T
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Daewoo Lanos

not like my old continentals loved them dont know why i changed brand

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-13-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.