Vredestein Sportrac 3

The Vredestein Sportrac 3 is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Sportrac 3
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
76%
Comfort
78%
Buy Again
85%

Vredestein Sportrac 3 Reviews (2)

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5 Easy Going miles

Citroën C4 Grand Picasso

These really make the difference. I changet the origimal Michelin tyres (only 35 000km)and I'm really impressed. On wet road it's even better. They do have a model with board protection and I recomend it.
The only issue is how many km will use them....

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.2

These tyres have been the best I've tried so far (out of Falken 452, Michelin Primacy and Toyo T1R).

The grip in wet and dry is outstanding, and above average grip in the snow as well.

Can't comment much on road noise or rolling resistance, since I couldn't give two flying hoots about these things haha.

From what I can see on this site, everyone seems to have the opinion that tyres wear too fast (the ratings are rarely above 75%). My fronts are down to 3mm after 20000 miles (many of these motorway to be fair). In my opinion, for tyres with such awesome grip, this is unbelievable.

Suffice to say, unless something spectacular comes out, I will be sticking with Vredesteins for the foreseeable future.

Get them now!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-T
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 406 HDi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Average miles

Suzuki Ignis 1.5 GLX VVT 4Grip

Running these boots for two and a quarter years now and have just replaced like with like. They cope will with all driving conditions well even snow. I found them to be very capable over the last two winters we've had in the UK. They've worn well but I'm not lighting up the tyres at every getaway or throwing the car around corners but if you want to press on they are very reliable and give very good feedback. In combination with the 4 wheel drive a very useful package.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-V
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Fabia vRS

Had Sportrac 3s on the front axle of my Fabia vRS for over a year now and they're ready for changing after about 10,000 miles so the wear rate is pretty poor although I do drive fast.

They're a bit noisy as with all directional tread patterns, noticeably more so than the Klebers it had on beforehand, but they do look nice. Very good in both damp and wet, and not bad in snow either if you have more than about 3 mm of tread on them. They're a tad vocal in the dry when pushed very hard.

They can be hard to get hold of in the UK, I ordered my pair from mytyres.co.uk (out of all the online tyre retailers, I've found they have the biggest range), which actually came from Germany and were £85 a corner.

They also take a while to run in, to begin with they felt a bit fidgety, I could feel the treadblocks moving around when pushing hard, I was worried I'd made a mistake but a few hundred miles on they're fine - I think it's due to the deep tread they come with.

Now I don't know what to replace them with, if they lasted longer they'd be perfect. Have ruled out Toyo T1R because they're not great in the damp, Rainsport 2s are excellent but have a soft sidewall, wear fast and can drone on some cars. Falken 452 I would like to try, but it is now out of production. Perhaps Falken ZE 912?

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Average miles

Ford Focus

Poor, less than 10k done, I am nearing the 2 mm mark. Other than that ok. Price £ 65 per tire for an extra tenner could of got dunlop like my rear ones, and would of got 22k out of them. I am not a boy racer, normal country driving. Worn out nearly less than 12 months.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK1

I chose these tyres after being dissatisfied with the wet traction of the Pirreli P6000s, trying to get out of a side road on wet roads left me feeling nervous even with traction control.

With the sportrac3 wet traction was truly amazing, way better than any I have tried before.

I have to say they have never let me down in any way, wear rates are excellent too. For the price it it hard to do better.

On the flip side stability is poor, there is always plenty of grip you just don't know it's there.

The only reason I wouldn't buy them again is the higher than average road noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Average miles

Fiat Sedici 16v 4x4

The tyres look fantastic and live up to the hype. Rain means nothing to these tyres, aqau-planing doesn't exist. They feel exceptionally safe and corner like you are on rails. Only had them on a month but as a summer tyre they truly compliment my Snowtrac3 winter tyres. I personally wouldn't look at any other make than Vredestein.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.