Goodyear Eagle NCT5

The Goodyear Eagle NCT5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle NCT5
67%[average]
Dry Grip
75%
Wet Grip
61%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
61%
Wear
77%
Comfort
69%
Buy Again
56%

Goodyear Eagle NCT5 Reviews (4)

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 28,600 Average miles

Ford Fairmont

Had them as OEM equipment on my car, found them to be quite good in the dry. But in damp conditions, it loses traction very easily, such that I have to feather the throttle to have a chance of a clean getaway without spinning the rear wheels (RWD car). You'd have to be extra cautious with these tyres on a wet (or even damp) road.

The positive is that it is extremely durable. The first set I had lasted 35400 miles. There's still some tread left on my second set of tyres after 28600 miles but I'm replacing them early with Pirelli Cinturato P7s.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Vectra

Had a set of Four of these Fitted to my car, and they where brilliant, I did both town and Motorway driving, and in all weathers, and I have to say, they where great, never had a problem with grip in the dry or the wet, great value for the money, I will buy again without any reservations.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-V
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Saab Automobile 9 5 2.2 TID Vector Estate

Lot of complaints on here about these tyres that I simply do not recognise from my experience of them. These are touring tyres not street racer tyres, so blaming them for losing grip tells me something about the driving style of the reviewer. I have not found the ride to be uncomfortable, in fact quite the opposite. Noise levels are unobtrusive, grip in wet and dry has never let me down. Wear is better than average, particluarly given mine is a fairly heavy car, used to tow a caravan. If I have a complaint at all it is with directional stability, which can be slightly vague on a dead straight road.

Tyre size reviewed: 210-55-16-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Spirited miles

BMW 130i M

These were fitted on my car when I bought it. I will agree with the comments that they last along time but, they are down right scarey in the wet. Any sign of water and its like your on ice, there is no progression to the loss of grip its near on/off. The accelaration and braking grip in the dry is ok but lateral grip is still quite poor and they dont inspire any confidence because they're so unpredictable. I dont think i've made a tyre squeal on the road before but it doesnt take much for these to make noise. These are runflat variety which im sure makes it even worse, aswell as meaning they smash into every defect on the road. As someone else said they last longer because you're frightened to push the car to anything like its limit. In short they are detracting from my enjoyment of the car, every time you want to have fun its like having a Tiger in the back seat, you know it is going to strike just not when!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Opel Astra H CDTI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 120d

These tyres, which are run flats, were fitted to my car when I brought it used from my local BMW dealer. There is a note in the manual saying that they were fitted at 15000 miles and the car has now covered 50000 so the wear has been very good. Apart from that I can't think of anything else positive to say about them. They are very noisy and the ride is very hard, making journeys uncomfortable and tireing. You can feel every defect in the road surface. I don't know who in BMW thought that it was a good idea to fit these tyres in combination with sport, (very firm), suspension but they obviously never tested them on the roads we have here in Devon. I think these were designed to be used on an autobahn, not typical British A & B roads with lots of pot holes and poor surfaces. I can't wait for these to wear out so that I can replace them with something better, probably Uniroyal Rainsport 2s, providing that I still have a spine by then!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

BMW 118d M Sport

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 118d M Sport

Expensive as a RFT tyre but its a decent tyre with good handling wet and dry and lasted 20k.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 31,068 Average miles

BMW 520d

The worst tyre I ever had on wet road.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150)

I'm a middle aged driver but like spirited driving, I like to know the limits of any vehicle I have, agility as well as speed.
These tyres were fitted to the car when I bought it, almost half worn already (5mm). Heard varied reports, some bad, on them, but I had no problem, handled bends and acceleration that worried my wife (and she's not a slow driver) to the stage she asked me to slow down - unheard of.
We had snow that delayed delivery of the car at the time, it coped with that without fault and the following winter. I found them a little noisy, possible because of the wear. Only reason I'd hesitate to buy again is price.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.