Goodyear Eagle NCT5

The Goodyear Eagle NCT5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle NCT5
67%[average]
Dry Grip
75%
Wet Grip
61%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
61%
Wear
77%
Comfort
69%
Buy Again
56%

Goodyear Eagle NCT5 Reviews

33%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai I10

Emergency brake on dry tarmac easily lock up the wheel. Hard cornering can easily send me sideways even at ~60kmh on tarmac. Wet grip on straight is ok, but when cornering is horrible I got my wheel spun at 20kmh uphill cornering on wet road and my car going downhill even I'm holding the brake. I do some weekend drive up Genting Highland (a hill climb in Malaysia), if I wasn't going fast enough then it is ok, but when I'm going faster around the corner and the car will go sideways as it cannot hold up the traction to turn the car. Then I joined an autocross event, my car only got 68hp and getting wheel spin on 1st and 2nd gear for quite some distance when launching it on tarmac. But, this tyre does getting better after really warmed up. I don't feel like it is a really good tyre for more aggressive driving style. Used this tyre for 8000km, the front wheel got no thread left after the autocross (I only drive 8 rounds), the rear got about 50% left. Very disappointed :c it cost RM840 (~200USD) for a whole set and it perform badly. It's comfortable anyway, but only when new. Because of budget issue, I changed to a used Goodyear GT3 and it perform a lot better !!!

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-14-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

BMW 318d M Sport Touring (E91)

I felt confident on rougher country roads in wet conditions. Dry grip was as expected as not really ever on limit of grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Average miles

Mazda Mazda2

The best of these wheels was the lifespan, in Bogota (Colombia) the holes are a nightmare but these wheels supported them very well for about 3 years, they are very resistants, but... I always felt uncomfortable because they didn't have a good wet grip nither dry grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-50-15-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XJS

A quiet tyre long lasting good feed back and good grip in wet and dry.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 24,854 Average miles

Daihatsu Perodua Myvi

Goodyear nct5 175/65/r14 is a good tyre for my perodua myvi icon (daihatsu sirion 2015).. very suitable for compact car.. very good in dry road and good in wet road.. good in handling.. still can hear the noise from outside but not too loud depend on road condition.. for wear and tear it last for 40000km..

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 13,000 Average miles

BMW 1 series

Having to replace these after 13,000 miles on the rear of Bmw E60, they were supposed to last longer as they have a harder compound compared to others. I have Hankook on the front and have had a fraction of the problems with them as no car roll under the wrong pressure unlike the Goodyear. Will not buy again, also changing from Runflat to normal tyres now as Runflats have had several punctures and are difficult to get repaired.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Kia Motors Rondo (Caren)

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-V
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 130

In dry conditions these tyres grip well but are noisy and offer little in the way of comfort or feedback. In the wet conditions they can be anything between poor and frighting with a tendency to snap away suddenly, a problem which is exacerbated by bumpy surfaces. Changed them when there was still plenty of tread left as they were ruining the car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 525d E61 Touring M Sport

The grip in both the wet and dry is very good however, as with all run flats, they're quite noisy. The ride is also quite hard and you feel almost every bump in the road. Near enough all my driving is on the motorway and i've had no problems with these for that style of driving however they've never been 'pushed' other than high speed in a straight line.

I've had GoodYear Efficient grip on previous cars and they have last ages. After approximately 2 months and 5,000 miles (95% motorway) these had 5mm tread left.

Overall a 'so-so' tyre. If it's a good price go for it; if not, swap them all for non-run flats (much quieter, smoother and cheaper).

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Avensis

Best wear rate from all the tires i used, though is more of a comfy tyre, not a performance one. Good grip in dry and wet and awesome wear rate. Did 50000 km before changing them. The only downside is the price for the dimensions i use.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.