Nankang NS2R

The Nankang NS2R is a Summer Extreme Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nankang NS2R
76%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
72%
Comfort
56%
Buy Again
80%

Nankang NS2R Reviews

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Vauxhall Astravan 1.9 CDTi 150 Sportive

Absolutely brilliant in the summer. They stick to the road like shit to a blanket.
Horrendous in the winter, especially when wet. If you do manage to get some heat into them during the winter months, I'd still advise you to take care cornering at even reasonable speeds. I have no idea where the rating for these in the wet comes from. They do displace water well, and I've noticed a massive difference when hitting standing water at speed, they do seem to keep the vehicle more stable, but other than that they're awful.
I've used them solely on the road for the last 6 months, from the start of summer and into the early winter months in the UK, and they've worn reasonably. I've covered maybe 2,500-3,000 miles. There's still plenty of life left in them, and they were pushed hard in the summer when new. They're a good tyre if you can pick them up for a reasonable price, maybe look for some part-worn's with decent life left, but I'm not sure if they're worth the £85-90 a tyre I paid brand new, especially not when comparing them to the alternatives.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Honda Integra R DC5

great tyre in the day and even done a track day on them, dodgy in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Honda Integra R DC5

great tyre in the day and even done a track day on them, dodgy in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10 Spirited miles

Suzuki swift sport

I got these tyres on my Suzuki Swift Sport 2014 when I imported it from Japan.
One of the best tyres I've used till now.
Holds onto the road like a train on the rails!
Dry drip is just outstanding, wet grip is okay when the tyres are 100% heated.. But still, have to be careful..
The noise is not that disturbing, if you are playing music or if you have a sport exhaust youwon't pay much attention to it.
I had adjustable coilovers on my car and it was set to 75% stiff.. So its obvious I won't get the best comfort but as a little sport car it was fine for me.
Will definitely buy again if they sell the same dimensions in my country.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-17-
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 250 Spirited miles

Renault R26.R

Fitted these for track purposes having been using Conti Force Contact for the last few years (which are sadly no longer made). Dry grip is impressive and communication/feedback is very good. I found them to be pretty progressive when they started to give up - but as you'd expect - not as good as the Conti (which were twice the price I hasten to add).

I haven't yet tried them in the wet so can't comment on that side of things, but they are incredibly noisy (sounds like all four wheel bearings have failed) and the ride is unforgiving - which is absolutely fine in a track tyre.

In short, I wouldn't run them as road tyre (even if they do turn out to be brilliant in the wet) but as a very cost effective track day they get my vote. I'll try the AR-1 next and just hope it doesn't rain...

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 400 Spirited miles

Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport

Iv had cheap summer tyres and have driven a few cars wearing pilot sport s porsches with cup 2 tyres etc so i understand what to get out of a FF car and RWD the nankang NS2R do suffer in the rain abit but thats when u push it and only silly sausages push there cars in the rain but on a track they will be hard to get abit of temperature in them. But in the dry i have a 1000kg golf with no interior & no sound deafening so i cant actually hear if they are loud tyres im not gonna complain about things being too stiff because im not 60 years old i do long journeys in my golf and iv driven worse cars that make you want to fall asleep but anyway iv gone of track, the NS2R warmed up will definitely give you good feedback to where you need to set your car up in suspension and handling entering and exiting a corner with less stress no its not a pilot cup 2 but for the money i got mine from italy for £ 312 for 4 tryes thats pocket money

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra VXR

Amazing on dry conditions, the grip and handling are amazing, on wet conditions are awful. Extremely tough ride, amazing life time.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Opel Tigra

Using it on my underpowered daily driven Tigra Twintop 1.8.
Wanted to try something different, with the goal of the vehicle in mind.
Goal of the car is to go everywhere doing 80 km/h (corners, roundabouts etc.) and it functions as intended.
Obviously the car has more modifications to get this done.

It is a very predictable tyre, with a nice soft boundry between grip and slip.
Sidewall stiffness isn't all there, but a lower sidewall could've most likely fixed that. Nevertheless decent feedback.
Has surprising comfort on short agitations from the roadsurface, on motorway speeds the tyre noise is clearly apparent however.
In the wet, just stick to the speedlimits.

Will buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Opel Tigra

En l'utilisant sur mon Tigra Twintop 1.8 à conduite quotidienne sous-alimentée.
Voulu essayer quelque chose de différent, avec l'objectif du véhicule en tête.
Le but de la voiture est d'aller partout faire 80 km / h (virages, ronds-points, etc.) et cela fonctionne comme prévu.
De toute évidence, la voiture a plus de modifications à apporter pour y parvenir.

C'est un pneu très prévisible, avec une belle marge douce entre l'adhérence et le glissement.
La rigidité des parois latérales n’est pas tout à fait là, mais un flanc inférieur pourrait très probablement le réparer. Néanmoins, une rétroaction décente.
Avec un confort surprenant sur de courtes agitations depuis la surface de la route, le bruit des pneus est clairement apparent sur les vitesses des autoroutes.
Sur le mouillé, restez sur les speedlimits.

Va acheter à nouveau

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Opel Tigra

Verwenden Sie es auf meinem untermotorischen täglich angetriebenen Tigra Twintop 1.8.
Wollte etwas anderes ausprobieren, mit dem Ziel des Fahrzeugs.
Ziel des Autos ist es, überall mit 80 km / h (Ecken, Kreisverkehre etc.) zu fahren und es funktioniert wie vorgesehen.
Offensichtlich hat das Auto mehr Modifikationen, um das zu erreichen.

Es ist ein sehr vorhersehbarer Reifen mit einer schönen weichen Grenze zwischen Griff und Slip.
Seitenwandsteifigkeit ist nicht alles da, aber eine untere Seitenwand hätte das wahrscheinlich behoben. Trotzdem anständige Rückmeldung.
Hat überraschenden Komfort bei kurzen Unruhe von der Fahrbahn, bei Autobahnfahrten ist das Reifengeräusch jedoch deutlich erkennbar.
Bei Nässe bleiben Sie einfach bei den Speedlimits.

Wird wieder kaufen

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.