Toyo Proxes CF2

The Toyo Proxes CF2 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Toyo Proxes CF2
87%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
85%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
91%

Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI

Great set of tyres the support in dry is superb i feel really connected to the roads. Handles well on the greasy/dirty country roads. Wet weather handling is well brilliant feels as good as premium brand tyre e.g primacy 4’s and Pirelli P7’s

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,400 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 146 1.4 Twin Spark

After almost 5.5 years on the car, today the Toyos had to go - they had become very old. Usually I change tires every 4 years, at the most.
A total of 29,600 km were done on them, and I have to say the performance degradation was both impressively little and progressive.
Dry and wet grip remained excellent, as did the road feedback and handling. Wear, they had suffered from dry rot a bit, but that's just because of the strong sun here in Greece, and the fact the car did more than 3 months out of the normal garage protection here (being parked outside). But the tread had more than 4.5mm left still, so the tread wear (index "400" on the 195/45/16 tires at least) was indeed very little given the fact I was driving very aggressively the first 2 years they were on my Alfa. Wet braking showed a minor -but noticeable- degradation though, when they passed their 4th year of age.
Comfort, they were good overall, but not perfect. I had mentioned again that slight "buzz" they do at -practically- all speeds, not tiring but a little bit annoying, mostly on longer journeys. At motorway speeds they were just about fine.
Would I guy again? Yes, but only if I could find them at a cheaper price than the Bridgestone Turanza T005 tires that replaced them (it's a tire that was first launched in 2013, let's not forget), let's see how will these turn out to be.
Overall though I do maintain it has been a thoroughly capable tire, and perhaps that "buzz" only affects low profile dimensions like mine. Very, very good indeed, very satisfied with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0 GT

After almost 40,000km daily drive(25,000miles) its still look okay(Treadwear420) maybe can go for another 10,000-20,000km

Previously i use Primacy 3 - but its lose grip and loud noise just after 15,000km and i get rid of it after 25,000km(3yr) due to low confident on wet grip, loud noise and bad road feedback

compare to this CF2 -
grip and handling - better than Primacy 3 and after 40,000km still feel almost same as first 10,000km
noise - i have good quiet ride untill around 25,000km after that its still acceptable level

overall - very happy with performance, comfort, noise and price

sadly i heard CF2 are about replaced by next generation and my local dealer dont have them stock anymore
so, have no choice but go after Primacy 4/ PS4 / Conti PC orUC6



Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 19,000 Average miles

Toyota Yaris

I have a Toyota Yaris Sport version, when i put a complet set of 4 tyres, instantly i notice excelent Handling and Grip, Wet grip is excelent compare others tyres.

19.000 miles after mounted, front tyres mid life, and rear tyres as new.

This tyres is a recommendation by a friend, and definitively i will buy it again.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 250 Average miles

MINI One D

Bought these tyres after reading a lot of reviews. Replaced a mixture of Michlin & Dunlop tyres, Just as good at a fraction of the price.
Tried in most weather conditions. More than happy. Would buy aging

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-15-H
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20 Average miles

Ford Focus

A very happy user of Toyo Proxes CF2. Will NOT buy any other make. Low noise, low roll, good braking, I think Toyo have got the right mix of rubber compound for every day use. I do not use them in Winter. I use Nokian Winter tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 23,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176

Fitted the CF2s to save me some money, so I did not expect too much. Previous tyres on the same car were Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance, which lasted for about 40.000 km after rotating front to back once.

At that mileage the Goodyears displayed significant wear and they were slipping when accelerating from stop, also when braking. My car is a 1.5 liter diesel with automatic transmission , so tyre spinning should not be often at all.

The CF2s were a disaster in the first 500 km for some reason. Extremely vague and mushy steering wheel, understeer on dry and a very wobbly feel altogether. To the point I was considering returning them and paying more to get other tyres.
However, after the first 600 km, their behavior changed to the better. Their handling on dry was comparable with the Goodyears, steering is crisper, braking is better in speeds betweeen 50 and 140 km/h, noise is OK.
On wet, they are better than the Goodyears in braking and aquaplanning, slightly weaker on turns bit still very reliable.
Now, they have 37.000 km on them and I have not even rotated them yet front to back. The fronts have 6mm and the rears 7 mm of tread depth, no visible signs of wear, still holding the road just fine.
Conclusion, these are great tyres, better than the Goodyears, much better than the stock Michelin Energys on the same car.
I can see that recent reviews are very positive , while older tyre tests are not so positive on the CF2s, maybe TOYO has made changes in the compound over time without going public about it.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 200 Average miles

Renault Captur

Got these tyres via asda tyres and for the price I can't fault them. Early days but so far so good. Much better contact on the road as the 4 Michelin I replaced were almost illegal.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-17-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP

What an under rated tyre. My favorite yet and I've been through loads of hugh and low end sets.

Such a quiet tyre, handles great, wears reasonably (you want a tyre to wear or its a rubbish tyre)

I would put these up against my Michelin Pilot Sport 3's.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-15-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 Series

25,000 miles (40,000km) on the front of a 150hp Mazda 3 diesel. Remarkably long lasting so good value.
The tyre is hard (squeals in hard cornering) and doesn't quite have the dry grip I'd like - way batter than some though. Wet grip is surprisingly good. I'd probably go for a premium brand but for mid range these are excellent.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.