Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3

The Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3
87%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
93%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
83%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
90%

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 Reviews (2)

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Ford S Max

519/5000
It's the second train I use on my Ford S-Max 2.0 TD. Very heavy car with great engine torque.
With the first set I made 54,000 km and I changed them because the winter part of the tread was defined, about 4 mm, and we were in January.
With the second I have already done 30,000 km and are still in excellent shape.
Excellent tire in all aspects. Only the noise is a little more accentuated than the summer tires.
Next week I change cars and I have already ordered the same tires in 245/45 18.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line

Got these for a good price for this winter season. Previously had Sottozero 2 on my car so I can compare to them too.
First of all, this is a great tyre, they grip very well in every situation. They handle rain, snow, freezing temperatures very well. Better compared to Sottozero 2 in every of those aspects. Audis are not famous for feedback through steering wheel, but with this tyre I think it is as good as it gets. On motorways, the ride is very comfortable, the tyres respond quickly and in every moment you know what they are doing. Tried them through some ponds at high speeds and they proved great. Just had first snow today, and you can hear them working the slush but never lose traction. The rim protection is huge, biggest I have seen on any winter tyre till now, and it doesn't look to baloony.
The only downside is the noise. It is not the tyre roll itself, but a high pitching sound that appears especially round 100km/h and it rises as you speed up. It sounds like a laundry machine in the far distance :) It doesn't bother me too much, but if silent tyre is one of your priorities - you just might skip these Pirellis. If you don't mind - go ahead, this is a great tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XKR

Having used other makes of winter tyres on a variety of cars and finding only Sottozeros came in the size needed for my XKR was interested to see if the premium you pay for them is justified.

Very pleased to say it sure is as the grip you get in the wet is remarkable, stopping distances are very close to dry and even on ice you never feel like you aren't fully in control of the vehicle.

Have also used them on an XF Jaguar and as with the XK the grip and handling are both brilliant, no matter what the weather throws at you.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-20-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 2.0 GT FSI

Bought for my Golf 5 FWD, 320ps in North Greece mixed used in highways and suburban areas in the country and in central europe mostly.
Really, satisfied from the performance especially in the wet and snow. Better than my previous Nokian.
Comfortable at cruising, but not for spirrited driving when >15oC.
The wear, is normal in contrast with the reviews, i think its a pretty decent tyre, better from all except TS860.

The tyre really shines and performs outstanding in the morning wet roads at

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Peugeot 407 SW 2.2 HDi 170

Nothing to say - Excelent tyre. Combiend with ESP/ASR will NEVER loose grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E320

Bought 4x Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3_XL(ExtraLoad)_215/55 R16 97H (Made in Germany) for approx €87 per tyre (in winter time).
I have driven this tyre on winter conditions for around 1000 km on the winding road to the ski resort, and I have to say I’m very impressed with them.
Softer compound, aquaplaning is well suppressed. Driving on snow have a fantastic traction. On frost-covered and slush road surfaces Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 grip very well.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 S Line Sportback 2.0 TDI 184

Great tyres especially under heavy snow and also great for aquaplaning when passing at high speed in deep water. For winter these are very good and also when it comes to the money you pay for the quality.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 500 Average miles

BMW 320D

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-H
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 17,000 Spirited miles

Opel insignia

Everything is excellent except the wear.
I drove it from Dec,2014 - Nov,2015. around 27k kms.
The front tires has less than 3mm left.. so have to buy 2 fronts again this year.
I won't buy it again only because its wearing too fast as i use them all year.
Otherwise its excellent including good fuel consumption..

Cheers..

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

BMW 530d F10

I'm running these tyres on a 2015 BMW 520d M Sport F10. The fronts are 245/45 18 and 275/40 18 on the rear. I have heard that you can run 245 on all 4 wheels, even as a staggered setting but I have not tried it myself.

The tyres are without doubt the best winter / all-round tyres I've ever had.

Many folk in the UK think that just because it's not snowing for the majority of the winter then you don't need winter tyres. They stick to summer tyres through the whole 12 months. Hence why the UK road networks grind to a halt as soon as we have 1cm of snow.

BMWs have never been great in the snow and ice but with these tyres I've not found anything that has been challenging. I have recently returned from Alpe D'Huez in the French Alps and there was 3ft of snow and ice on the roads.

If you push them the tyres will break traction but they won't under normal driving conditions. There's plenty of feedback from the road surface and you get a good idea where their limits are before you reach them.

They are outstanding in heavy rain and water too.

Five stars out of five from me!!

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.