Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3

The Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3
87%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
93%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
83%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
90%

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 Reviews

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

BMW 316d

I fitted these this winter and i love them, although being RFT comfort is still good, not much rougher than non RFT i imagine that standard is very comfortable, dry grip is as expected good as winter tire gets, but the best part is wet and slush grip, i am really surprised by the level of confidence i get from them, even on rwd car, snow traction is excellent, compared to Nokian WR D3 i had before and i was quite satified with them, these are in another galaxy when it comes to putting your confidence in tire to keep you safe.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,509 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec

I am impressed! These tyres have got me through two winters and look like they are capable of another 2-3. Usually go on around October when temperatures are below 7 degree C. Off by May the following year. Very assuring in wet conditions. Especially when snow melts and becomes sludge. Handle mud quite well too. Ice grip is good. I find when the tyres have been driven a while then they grip even more. Same brand on the rear axle and these inspire confidence. You cannot get too excited with them as the traction light says hello. It’s nice to see the look on faces when they think a rear wheel drive car will struggle or stay on the drive. Run flat form doesn’t feel too jarring or noisy. Very good tyres and that’s coming from a tyre snob. Once scrubbed in these were pleasant and haven’t let me down.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF S

A very good winter tyre, gives you more confidence in the wet and when there is a spell of cold weather. Very good in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-35-20-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW X1 X Drive

Love driving with this tire. Predictable drift performance in snow and great snow grips in straight lines. This tire gives me so much confidence in the snow that I actually look forward to having snow on the road first time in my life! Was able to keep around 70 to 80% of my dry speed in the snow with this tire and pull off some crazy tight drift U turns and drift thanks to it’s predictability. Dry and wet performance when there’s no snow are really good as well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 147

Great winter UHP tire. Surprisingly quiet and comfortable, yet very good grip on dry and wet. Wear is acceptable for this class of tires, it is average. For the huge amounts of grip, the price that is to be paid is a bit of rolling resistance comparing to summer tires, but it is absolutely normal. Increase of fuel consumption can be also attributed to lower ambient temperatures so it doesn’t have to be tires fault entirely. And God it handles well! Not a cheap product, but boy, you are approaching a Ferrari/Bentley/Lambo OEM fitment territory, so don’t expect it will cost peanuts.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.6 vti

Bought these for my late 2015 208 GTI, and they are absolutely amazing, they are good in the dry and not too bad in the wet, in the snow they are utterly amazing in fact the 208 in the last 2 bouts of heavy snow the south of England had this Feb (2019) and last year in March (2018) the car was just unstoppable...it drove and stopped like it was just on a wet road... it had more grip than my 4x4 Grand Cherokee with proper Cooper AT3 chunky tyres! I would absolutely recommend them and will be buying a set for our F11 BMW 528i for winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro

After reaching 4mm of thread left from my Nokians WRD4, I searched for a tire with better thread wear, even if the nokians are absolute awesome winter tyres. I eventually chose the Pirellis Winter Sottozero 3. After one winter with them, I can say that they feel like a very good summer tyre on dry roads with temperatures beneath 15 grades celsius, on wet they perform excellent, they are very silent and the steering is very precise, even though they give a pretty decent confort ride. However, on snow and ice, they are not as good as the Nokians were, but you can have a normal drive with a little more care. However, they are far better than many other brands. And, the most important aspect, after one winter and 11000kms made, they lost only 1mm of thread! (The nokians lost 3 in the first winter). I would definitely buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)

This is an excellent winter tire but... They are pretty much fabulous on every surface except... they don't last on B category roads and break easily. It's hard not to be dissapointed given the price you have to pay. I check my tire pressure every 2 weeks so it's not a matter of not taking care. I had no problems with my summer tires so far (Michelins) but I lost two winter Pirellis within 2 months so I'm questioning their endurance. I won't buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW M235i

Two winters on my M235i: 320 BHP & RWD, so very sensitive to grip and handling in wet and snow. Multiple trips down to the Alps for winter skiing. Previous car was a 330d with Pirelli Sottozero Winter Serie-II for comparison. I've also had Vredestein, Dunlop and Michelin Alpins on previous cars.

Really an outstanding winter tyre for performance car if you're certain to find yourself on snow. If you weren't certain of an Alpine ski trip or likely snow then consider the Serie-II, which handles slightly better in the dry. But the S3 is better than the Serie-II in heavy rain and standing water (the penalty is the 'chunkiness' makes it a bit noisier). The S3s did snowy hill starts and slow, windy uphill roads without recourse to chains so really pleased with them. Very good resistance to aquaplaning back in the UK winter rain and didn't let me down even during lapses of concentration in the cold and wet.

Definitely would buy these again when the time comes.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Average miles

Jaguar XFR

Because of the issues I had with my previous winter. tyres I did some research on wet weather running as that is the condition that is most prevalent in winter, and settled on these tyres, and they do not disappoint.

This is the first winter where I have had to battle heavy rain and heavy snow with these tyres, last year was a mild winter. This year there has been a lot of snow and I just completed a trip where I was able to safely travel at 50 - 60 MPH on 4" of snow up the motorway, for over 100 miles in snow and a further 100 in slush which is significantly better than the tyres they replaced.

We also just had torrential rain with plenty of standing water on the road and again the tyres coped without any hint of loosing traction.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.