Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3

The Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3
85%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
80%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
89%

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 Reviews

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.6 vti

Bought these for my late 2015 208 GTI, and they are absolutely amazing, they are good in the dry and not too bad in the wet, in the snow they are utterly amazing in fact the 208 in the last 2 bouts of heavy snow the south of England had this Feb (2019) and last year in March (2018) the car was just unstoppable...it drove and stopped like it was just on a wet road... it had more grip than my 4x4 Grand Cherokee with proper Cooper AT3 chunky tyres! I would absolutely recommend them and will be buying a set for our F11 BMW 528i for winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro

After reaching 4mm of thread left from my Nokians WRD4, I searched for a tire with better thread wear, even if the nokians are absolute awesome winter tyres. I eventually chose the Pirellis Winter Sottozero 3. After one winter with them, I can say that they feel like a very good summer tyre on dry roads with temperatures beneath 15 grades celsius, on wet they perform excellent, they are very silent and the steering is very precise, even though they give a pretty decent confort ride. However, on snow and ice, they are not as good as the Nokians were, but you can have a normal drive with a little more care. However, they are far better than many other brands. And, the most important aspect, after one winter and 11000kms made, they lost only 1mm of thread! (The nokians lost 3 in the first winter). I would definitely buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)

This is an excellent winter tire but... They are pretty much fabulous on every surface except... they don't last on B category roads and break easily. It's hard not to be dissapointed given the price you have to pay. I check my tire pressure every 2 weeks so it's not a matter of not taking care. I had no problems with my summer tires so far (Michelins) but I lost two winter Pirellis within 2 months so I'm questioning their endurance. I won't buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW M235i

Two winters on my M235i: 320 BHP & RWD, so very sensitive to grip and handling in wet and snow. Multiple trips down to the Alps for winter skiing. Previous car was a 330d with Pirelli Sottozero Winter Serie-II for comparison. I've also had Vredestein, Dunlop and Michelin Alpins on previous cars.

Really an outstanding winter tyre for performance car if you're certain to find yourself on snow. If you weren't certain of an Alpine ski trip or likely snow then consider the Serie-II, which handles slightly better in the dry. But the S3 is better than the Serie-II in heavy rain and standing water (the penalty is the 'chunkiness' makes it a bit noisier). The S3s did snowy hill starts and slow, windy uphill roads without recourse to chains so really pleased with them. Very good resistance to aquaplaning back in the UK winter rain and didn't let me down even during lapses of concentration in the cold and wet.

Definitely would buy these again when the time comes.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Average miles

Jaguar XFR

Because of the issues I had with my previous winter. tyres I did some research on wet weather running as that is the condition that is most prevalent in winter, and settled on these tyres, and they do not disappoint.

This is the first winter where I have had to battle heavy rain and heavy snow with these tyres, last year was a mild winter. This year there has been a lot of snow and I just completed a trip where I was able to safely travel at 50 - 60 MPH on 4" of snow up the motorway, for over 100 miles in snow and a further 100 in slush which is significantly better than the tyres they replaced.

We also just had torrential rain with plenty of standing water on the road and again the tyres coped without any hint of loosing traction.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Ford S Max

519/5000
It's the second train I use on my Ford S-Max 2.0 TD. Very heavy car with great engine torque.
With the first set I made 54,000 km and I changed them because the winter part of the tread was defined, about 4 mm, and we were in January.
With the second I have already done 30,000 km and are still in excellent shape.
Excellent tire in all aspects. Only the noise is a little more accentuated than the summer tires.
Next week I change cars and I have already ordered the same tires in 245/45 18.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line

Got these for a good price for this winter season. Previously had Sottozero 2 on my car so I can compare to them too.
First of all, this is a great tyre, they grip very well in every situation. They handle rain, snow, freezing temperatures very well. Better compared to Sottozero 2 in every of those aspects. Audis are not famous for feedback through steering wheel, but with this tyre I think it is as good as it gets. On motorways, the ride is very comfortable, the tyres respond quickly and in every moment you know what they are doing. Tried them through some ponds at high speeds and they proved great. Just had first snow today, and you can hear them working the slush but never lose traction. The rim protection is huge, biggest I have seen on any winter tyre till now, and it doesn't look to baloony.
The only downside is the noise. It is not the tyre roll itself, but a high pitching sound that appears especially round 100km/h and it rises as you speed up. It sounds like a laundry machine in the far distance :) It doesn't bother me too much, but if silent tyre is one of your priorities - you just might skip these Pirellis. If you don't mind - go ahead, this is a great tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XKR

Having used other makes of winter tyres on a variety of cars and finding only Sottozeros came in the size needed for my XKR was interested to see if the premium you pay for them is justified.

Very pleased to say it sure is as the grip you get in the wet is remarkable, stopping distances are very close to dry and even on ice you never feel like you aren't fully in control of the vehicle.

Have also used them on an XF Jaguar and as with the XK the grip and handling are both brilliant, no matter what the weather throws at you.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-20-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 2.0 GT FSI

Bought for my Golf 5 FWD, 320ps in North Greece mixed used in highways and suburban areas in the country and in central europe mostly.
Really, satisfied from the performance especially in the wet and snow. Better than my previous Nokian.
Comfortable at cruising, but not for spirrited driving when >15oC.
The wear, is normal in contrast with the reviews, i think its a pretty decent tyre, better from all except TS860.

The tyre really shines and performs outstanding in the morning wet roads at

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Peugeot 407 SW 2.2 HDi 170

Nothing to say - Excelent tyre. Combiend with ESP/ASR will NEVER loose grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.